We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay.”
Review of Hotel Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sol
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed in Hotel Sol for 1 night, before taking the train to Machu Picchu. Our room had a balcony that overlooked a stream and had a great view of the Incan ruins. Breakfast was disappointing as the selection was very limited. Otherwise, we were very happy with the hotel.

The hotel is located close to restaurants, the ruins and the main square. Staff was very helpful We were given a later checkout (to 11:30 am) as our train to MP did not leave until the early afternoon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeHughie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

I would describe this hotel as "charming." It's situated in a beautiful location: within sight of the Incan ruins in Ollantaytambo, and right next to the river (request a room with a view of the ruins and you'll be able to see both the ruins and the river from your window). It's also just a two minute walk to the handicraft market, the main plaza, an ATM, and is directly across the street from my favorite restaurant.

The rooms themselves are simple but have character: the paint may need touching up in places, but they're very clean and the decorations are tasteful.

The person working at the front desk was more than helpful, and answered many, many questions for me (bus and train schedules, calling my next hotel in another city, ATM, etc). Also, they provide a water jug you can fill your reusable water bottles from for less than the cost of buying bottled water. A simple but yummy breakfast is included as well (several types of bread, jam, fruit, fruit juice/coffee/tea, and eggs).

Space heater can be provided upon request. 10-15 minute walk from the train station.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the ruins.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Nice hotel located close to everything in Ollantaytambo. It has a stream flowing next to it and a nice view of the ruins from the balcony. Property could be managed better. I had requested for a pick up from the train station but nobody showed up. There were people from other hotels to pick their guests. We had to get a cab ourselves to the hotel. Breakfast wasn't anything to write about. Room that we stayed in was spacious and overlooked a nice coutyard on the inside. Would consider it for my next visit to Ollantaytambo.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namaste-Duniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We traveled to Peru last May, and stayed in Hotel Sol for 2 nights during our visit to the Sacred Valley area. For us, it was just the ideal base in Ollantaytambo – it’s right in the heart of this little town, very close to the main square. The town was celebrating the Fiesta Senor de Chokequilka when we were there, and that was a lot of fun. Our rooms at Hotel Sol were large, clean and very comfortable, with great views of the Inca ruins from the balcony. We had wifi access or hot water in our room, no issues there, unlike the experience reported by some other reviewers. Breakfast was delicious and substantial. There are several restaurants near the hotel where we went for lunch and dinner.

The staff at Hotel Sol is very friendly and helpful. From my first email communication with them a few months before we arrived, I got the impression that it was a well-run operation. Wilbert was prompt and helpful in his replies to email queries and requests. During our stay there, he gave us very good advice and was observant enough to ask me if I wanted to borrow a hair dryer (when he saw the state of my hair!) He arranged for a car to pick us up from Pisac before our stay. After our stay in Ollantaytambo/Machu Picchu area, we got dropped off in Cusco and this was arranged by the hotel as well. During our visit to Machu Picchu, they stored our large bags, and took care of some of the clothes that needed to be laundered.

W could not ask more of a hotel in this delightful town in the heart of the Sacred Valley.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripfun61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stood at the Sol for two nights on my way from Lima to Machu Picchu. It is a fairly good hotel to take a day or so to acclimatize and rest up for the next big part of your tour of Peru.

The hotel has a really fantastic location, close to some good restaurants, the train station and some shops. The rooms are very warm. Being in the Andes in May it can get quite cold at night. The front desk asked if I needed a heater for my room but I declined because the room actually was warm enough without any external heating. The beds had a more than sufficient amount of blankets and sheets to keep you warm throughout the Andean nights.

The rooms can be a little dark however and candles are provided for that extra bit of light. The staff was average. No complaints with them but they were not overly friendly.

Would recommend as a good place to stay before tackling Machu Picchu or Cuzco.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed in Hotel Sol before and after our Machu Picchu experience. Our room for 4 overlooked a stream and had great views of the inca ruins. The staff was friendly and helpful-- we really enjoyed our stay. The location is ideal, right in the center of everything and a short walk to the train station. Hearts cafe is a great restaurant right across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ruins
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at Hotel Sol for 3 nights and were very pleased with our accommodations. Their location was perfect. In the middle of restaurants, shops, the train station and the ruins. Incredibly ideal. The staff were always very nice and accomodating (hair dryer, extra toilet paper). They arranged for a car to take us around the local ruins (Moray, Mara, Salineras).

We had a second floor room with a balcony and chairs that faced the ruins - A-MA-ZING. The rushing river below was great to sleep to. We were there at the end of April so there was lots of water. We would tour the valley in the morning and rest on our balcony in the afternoon with the sunset over the ruins and then head out to find dinner later at night.

Loved our stay there. The wifi worked best near the lobby and we only needed to check in with the family back home once a day. I loved not having a TV as we had an opportunity to really relax.

Hot water was iffy at best but we were always clean and happy. Breakfast was alright, and you can always cross the street to Hearts Cafe for something heavier.

Would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: If you like your outdoor space the balcony room with chairs was the best!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CnJ-July9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol

Address: Calle Ventiderio, Ollantaytambo 12345, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#4 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £41 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened and newly built, Hotel Sol is an elegant boutique hotel in the center of Ollantaytambo, facing the ruins and directly alongside the Patacancha river. Ample sunny common areas, large rooms with modern baths, restaurant and wine bar, and impeccable customer service are the highlights of this perfectly located hotel. Free travel planning and advice for Machu Picchu included, we hope to see you soon ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing