We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location”
Review of Hotel Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sol
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I am consistent in reviewing every hotel using the same criteria. I need the hotel to be clean, quiet, and comfortable, and frankly, to me, these are minimum requirements. The Hotel Sol is a lovely Peruvian hotel that exceeded these requirements. Located in the middle of this Andean town, you can walk to the town square, the railroad station( where you can board a train for Machu Picchu Pueblo) and within a short distance to some amazing Incan ruins (yes, they are all over this part of Peru). Our room had a terrace that overlooked the river which provided a really relaxing white noise at night and put on an amazing show of stars in the dark Peruvian night. The only downside was that the WIFI really wasn't strong enough to use in our room, so we made calls, etc. from the upper lobby area. In all, though, this hotel provided great value, and the staff was helpful in obtaining taxis and answering any questions we had about the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the river to enjoy the terrace view and the star show at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ednra2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were moved to this hotel for one night after being bumped from Hotel Iskay. It was quaint, and more of what you expect from a hostel level accomodation. Water was warm, and bathroom was adequate. Room was sparsely decorated. The nicest feature was breakfast which was served in a room with a beautiful view overlooking the river and the ruins. Experience is probably well matched with the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fltraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently had 3 nights in a room with a balcony overlooking the river and with a fabulous view of the main site. We could sit in the afternoon sun on the balcony and watch the sun go down behind the wonderful Ollantaytambo ruins,(or be up early to photo the glow of the sunrise). All staff are very friendly and helpful and English speaking (for those who like us are embarrassingly non-Spanish speaking). Transport and tours organised for us were all done with great efficiency. Bed was warm and comfortable. Heaters are provided which warm the room quickly (and it retains the warmth). Shower was hot enough and breakfast adequate (love those Peruvian bread rolls and gooseberry jam, but also cereal, eggs, meat, cheese). This is not a luxury hotel if that is what you are looking for, but it is 5 stars in its class. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ollie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It is a rustic Hotel but charming nonetheless. It sits beside the river - the noise of the river didn't kept us awake, I thought it might have. Walking into the hotel from the absolute roadfront is a little intimidating, but don't worry about that. We only overnighted prior to catching the train up to aqua calientes and it was certainly convenient. You could walk but we took a Tuk Tuk for about 2Sol. We left too early for breakfast, but the hotel provided a nice packed breakfast for us to take on the train. Definitely eat well the morning of your trip to Machu Picchu as you are not allowed to eat once inside the grounds of Machu Picchu and you don;t want to lose time going out to eat (although you can if you wish). The hotel also stored our bag for the day which we collected before heading back to Cusco. The bed was really comfy, the shower was adequate, a basic room, no TV, but comfy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BE2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I was between a 3 and a 4 on this hotel. We were disappointed with the breakfast, it was cold and not much to choose from. Our room also did not have a heater which made for a cold night (however the alpaca blanket was very warm). What made this hotel better than average was the view from our balcony of the Ollaytanyambo ruins and the sound of the rushing stream. We stayed two nights and the hotel is in a perfect spot. Right next to the ruins, a short ride on a tuk tuk from the train station, or a quick block from the main square. While the hotel itself was pretty average, everything else around it makes it better.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NickMA0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel. Personal is nice and compétent. Comfort. Nice view on the inca site. Calm. Wifi works erraticly but it may be a general feature of ollantaytambo. Breakfast could be slighty better. Globally a very pleasant stay. Good value for money I recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THIENAN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It was a good overnight with helpful reception staff, and a filling breakfast.
Location is walking distance to all this small town has to offer: train station, ruins, and main plaza--best restaurant, La Esquina

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol

Address: Calle Ventiderio, Ollantaytambo 12345, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#4 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £46 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened and newly built, Hotel Sol is an elegant boutique hotel in the center of Ollantaytambo, facing the ruins and directly alongside the Patacancha river. Ample sunny common areas, large rooms with modern baths, restaurant and wine bar, and impeccable customer service are the highlights of this perfectly located hotel. Free travel planning and advice for Machu Picchu included, we hope to see you soon ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing