We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay. Great breakfast.”
Review of Full Moon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Full Moon Lodge
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Staying at this lodge was great in that they made you a delicious breakfast every morning! The courtyard was very nice place to relax (although, there were so many things to do in Sacred valley that we didnt have much time to hang out!). Our room was okay. I didnt like the ceiling very much and it got pretty cold at night. The shower rarely got warm, so often times, my boyfriend and I would be having frisky quick showers. We booked a double room and we had to stack multiple comforters from the other bed to make it comfortable enough to sleep! The mattress was completely shot! We met some nice people while we were staying there, so that made it worth staying at!

Room Tip: I heard the dormitory is good. Dont book the double room. Pictures are deceiving because of the angl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toolie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

a lovely place. from the outside it looked awful but once you get through the doorway the view is breath taking. the rooms were very clean, fluffy towels, we had the quad room and a single room, both spacious and comfortable. no tv or wifi but it was what our family needed to prepare for the journey to Machu Picchu. the staff is friendly, helpful and the breakfast was included and delicious. i can't say about the price because it was included in our package. it is about a 10 minute walk to the train station. loved the dream catchers and the mystic sensation you feel while on the grounds. our kids did not want to leave the place, we didn't either!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank turtle_5tep5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

This place was exactly what I was looking for. I was able to participate in a San Pedro ceremony and explore many ruins in the area that many tourists don't see. The lodge is comfortable, quiet and has a beautiful yard with hammocks. Elder, who runs the lodge, took me on amazing tours in the area and brought me to Quechua villages. It is a hard place to leave!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Chaskanowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

first of all it is 3 minutes walking form city center, but i just used google maps and found it easily. It is a big garden inside and a few hammocks, so all the mornings, after free tasty breakfast i was hanging in them. And after midday Elder Nunez took me with my boyfriend to different treks around Ollantaytambo, like Patakancha valley, Ñaupa Iglesia or Wilka tilka. The treks, which is not so popular between tourist and that made it amazing. The best

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anasta_c_ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I read the reviews and was particularly excited to stay here. The grounds are nice. I love animals so dogs, chickens and ducks running around were a plus. I'm sure the rooms at one point not too long ago were very nice.

We made a reservation a few weeks before we arrived. The owners seemed very surprised when we arrived. We were given a room. At first view, I was ecstatic. It was huge with large windows. Decorated nicely. On second glance the room was filthy. Huge layers of dust, hair in the sheets. I had to remove a HUGE chunk of hair from the shower drain. There was rusted bobby pin with hair on the bathroom shelf. The mattress was old and dirty. I'm used to staying in dirty places, but this is not at all what they advertise.

If you are expecting wifi, you won't get it here. Although they do advertise it.

The owners aren't helpful, but pleasant enough. All in all, if someone cleaned the rooms before guests arrived this place could be a real gem.

Room Tip: Request to have the room cleaned before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DearJamesAlltheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Full Moon is a great hidden gem in Ollantaytambo. Mrs Vilma and husband Elder are the hosts of the lodge. So quiet that my wife said she could hear her thoughts. This lodge is a few blocks off the main plaza. This is not your multi-story small-room place, but a large 1-story house with large bedrooms with hot water all the time. The place itself in a large lot with hamacs and lounge chairs; garden and lawn surrounds the main building; views in the early morning are breathtaking, you might wander about leaving corporate world and settle down here!. Free roaming chicken and a duck are on site watching the property. To complete the entourage, a black and very friendly dog are on site, often visited by another neighbor dog. Breakfast is not your common single table buffet style but a selection of scramble or sunny side eggs with local bread toasted and freshly made juice to order, on top of coffee or tea of course. The eggs come from the free roaming chicken.
While this was one of the highlights for my wife, some might object a chicken peeking from your bedroom door. One of the nights -it was full moon-, Mrs Vilma and Elder put together a nice bonfire. It is not cold at all, we were in t-shirts and shorts all the time, but the bonfire was also awesome.
We highly recommend the lodge. No CC taken, make sure you have cash. Reservations are made by simple e-mail, though probably also possible from this and other sites.
Mrs Vilma even offered to pick us up from the train station or main plaza, but Ollantaytambo is so small that unless you arrive evening/late night, no need to worry. We do speak Spanish and basic Quechua and that probably make things easier for us.
A short 10 min walk will get you to the famous ruins, but don't skip the less spectacular ruins at the opposite side of the valley (where the famous rock shaped as a face is, and this hike is free.
All in all, great value.

Room Tip: All rooms have exterior windows. If you arrive when is dark, you might want to arrange a pickup. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Reading the previous review from 2011, we had a good feeling about this place when we booked it. Our first impression was positive, the gardens were nice with little chicken running around and friendly dogs around us. The room seemed clean when we entered and very spacious. There was even hot water to take a shower! Unfortunately these things cannot balance the negative aspects we found out. The mattress was horribly lumpy, the room was not cleaned during our 2 night stay and that included not emptying the toilet paper basket or putting new a new roll in, nor cleaning the dead insects in the room. Furthermore, the owner was never around and we had to find her ourselves at her home for anything we needed.
The hostal is about 20 minutes walk from the train station which is in the opposite end of town. We really wanted to give this place a better review, but felt that value for money there is much room for improvement.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gluckrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,722 reviews
0 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
419 reviews
0 mi away
Hostel Andenes
Hostel Andenes
#10 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
276 reviews
0 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
199 reviews
0 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Lodge

Address: Quinta Cruz, Ollantaytambo 51, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £22 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Moon Lodge is situated in the Living Incan City of Ollantaytambo, pleasantly separated from the hubbub to ensure that your stay is peaceful and relaxing while you enjoy all that this historical town has to offer. We distinguish ourselves with our professional services and un- paralleled customer care. We will make your stay in the Sacred Valley of the Incas an unforgettable one. Come visit us in Ollanta! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Full Moon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Lodge Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing