We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Peru”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa de Mama Valle
Ranked #9 of 32 Ollantaytambo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We initially booked at KB Tambo, but weren't given the room we reserved and were very unhappy with the alternative. We saw a number of other hotels in Ollanta town and this was by far the best for the price. The bathrooms are brand new, the rooms are a nice size and the hotel is sparkling clean. We did have a slight hiccup when we arrived; having negotiated a price for the room, we came back with our bags to find the price had increased. A common ploy, but it was resolved and no matter. This hotel has a good breakfast (avocado, bread, eggs, ham, local cheese, coffee), and free hot drinks during the day. There is an issue with heat; the hotel is built in an old Spanish style better suited to hotter climes, but the beds are warm and if you leave the water in the shower running for a couple of minutes it soon warms up. Warm showers are apparently a rarity in this region. There is small outdoor space which is nice to take a break from Ollanta. Reliable wi-fi too. The people who ran the hotel (Maria and her staff) were lovely. I would stay here again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Ask them to show you around the rooms. We asked and got a better room as a result. We also saw a MAS...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmallExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casa de Mama Valle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

Reading previous reviews, I was a little concerned about this hotel. But it turned out to be an almost perfect experience. Almost perfect because somehow we had a coordination problem with getting picked up at the train station. Perhaps there are two different places to get picked up?

Anyway ... the bed was great. Hot water was not a problem both in the evening and in the very early morning. Maybe I had a better experience than others because of the location of my room? (2nd floor centrally located). They were very helpful making phone calls for me and providing an early breakfast (although that didn't work out perfectly). It is a reasonable place to stay ... I'd do it again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has good hot water.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AK_Steve_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Very well situated in Ollantaytambo, in a quiet street, a few minutes walk from the archeological site and near many restaurants and the «Plaza de Armas». Hot water is long to have for the shower and we had small ants in our room. The included breakfast was very good and plenty to eat. A problem is that the front door is closed (locked) when there is no staff around so we have to wait to get in or out. Staff is friendly and we could leave to luggage for 5 days during a hike in their storage room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonandreanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Clean, great towels, good matttress, excellent views and inexpensive. Staff somewhat unorganized and on both days of our stay - limited to no hot water, even after running the shower for 15 minutes as per staff´s suggestion. Good place to staff if you are planning on getting up around 5am when travellers are leaving for the train station - every door that opens and closes can be heard! Would not be a place I´d stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is perfect for a stay in Ollantaytambo - clean, friendly, airy, and inexpensive. The little roof-top terrace is perfect for sneaking away with your breakfast or a book. The staff will do anything you ask of them cheerfully and efficiently - ranging from your laundry to bringing a little table to the roof to getting up in the middle of the night to let you in with a smile! They are eager to please and take their responsibilities seriously. Central location is surprisingly peaceful but no more than a couple of blocks from anything. We cancelled our night in comparatively unpleasant little Aguas Calientes in favor of a return to this little hotel in Ollanta. The night the electricity went out the "staff" came looking for us, lead us back to our room, and made sure we had candles and got our wake-up in the morning. Very charming little place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very cute but rooms are cold. Blankets are thick enough to keep you warm while you sleep. The staff were extremely helpful and nice. No problem finding them. We stayed here two nights but as two separate stays in different rooms. Unfortunately, the first night we stayed the water never would turn hot. The staff worked on it diligently and corrected the problem but we lost about 20 minutes and were late for our tour. the second night we stayed in different rooms. My husband went to take his shower, but as soon as he put shampoo in his hair, it turned cold again. They did correct the problem diligently, but the hot water problem has been an inconvenience.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed two nights at Casa de Mama Valle. The staff was helpful, the breakfast was delicious, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Ollantaytambo is small and peaceful and the views on the trip to Moray are spectacular. Thank you!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Andenes
Hostel Andenes
#10 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
SAUCE Hostal
SAUCE Hostal
#7 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa de Mama Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Mama Valle

Address: Av. Del Estudiante 269, Ollantaytambo 051-084, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £21 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa de Mama Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and well located Hotel in the heart of the Sacred Valley of Incas, less than two hours far by train to Machupicchu, 27 quiet, clean and with nice views rooms all with private bathroom and hot water for the 24 hours.Breakfast with milk eggs, breads, fruits is included in the rate.We offer personal attention to each our guest that is our caractheristic in all the "Casa de Mama" in Cusco.Nice gardens, big terrace, 2 lobby and a dinning room complete the nice atmosphere to improve your experience in this tonw named as "the only inca living town": OLLANTAYTAMBO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa de Mama Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa De Mama Valle Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing