We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place everrrr!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa de Mama Valle
Ranked #9 of 33 Ollantaytambo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hotel is so noisey, front desk never has anyone at it. Not enough towels for guests in the room. Owners have their LOUD children running all over like wild aninals. No tv in rooms along with a lack of any kind of heat and the rooms are freezing cold. Starting at 4:50am you can hear the tables in the lobby being dragged around on the floors as they set up for breakfast. At night there is absolutely no lights down the scarey alleyway you must take to get here. Hot water is not really something they offer either, which is perhaps why there is no towels either. You couldn't pay me to stay here again, it was by far the worst place ever I have stayed at :-(

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjmjurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercedesCusco, Gerente at Hotel Casa de Mama Valle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

I know that nothing I say will make you change your mind, we respect your opinion but let me explain a few points.
We serve breakfast early in the morning, at the request of the guests who wish to leave early to Machu Picchu, so we ask apologies if that caused a bit of noise on the first floor.
We also recognize that exceptionally some towels renew rainy days with some delay because we dry linen in the sun and not electric dryers.
The warmth of our service is most appreciated by most of our guests, very sorry that other factors have influenced their journey in their perception of our establishment, perhaps a delay in train schedule, a rainy day or just a bad day .
Please accept our deepest apologies.
atte,
Mercedes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hard to find but not bad for price. When you re at the main plaza take the west road that leads down to the bridge but take an immediate left on what looks like a back road. At the end of that is casa de mama, our google map was wrong and threw us for a loop. The hotel is quite new so the rooms look and feel clean. However we did leave out some crackers and in an hour had a HUGE trail of ants you could see crawling out of the bathroom piping to get to them! Wifi was non existent, had to go to an Internet cafe to do anything. Shower was great and breakfast was really well done... Juice, coffee, tea, eggs, toast with jam, cereal. Also had a good sleep, very quiet and the staff were great, helping us to print our train tickets off to aguas calientas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Ollantaytambo is a great little place for a one night stopover and a wander around the ruins. It has a few small restaurants serving surprisingly good authentic Peruvian dishes and is very scenic to boot. The Casa De Mama Valle proved a good find. The place has a no frills feel but then came with a budget price tag and provided a decent, clean room and a good night’s sleep. Breakfast was basic but filling (if you want more, ask) and they organised a taxi back to Cusco for a very competitive price. All good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnny_5_bellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I also stayed at this hotel for one night as part of a G adventures package prior to starting the Lares Trek. The room while quite spacious was very cold and there was no sign of hot water. There was no view.

The hotel is well located, just of the main road and a very easy 5 minute walk down the road to the archeological site.

Breakfast was adequate

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfq_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel prior to the inca trail with g adventures. Staff were very helpful. The accommodation is basic, but it is a two star hotel so you get what you pay for. We had a luke warm shower, but the location was good. Room does get cold but plenty of blankets were provided.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kk24428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

There is not much good to say about this hotel. The wifi only worked in a small area around the reception desk, we were given a room with a hole in the window, which was therefore freezing, the shower was ice cold which was particularly annoying because we were setting off to the Inca Trail the next day and the breakfast was totally inedible. The bread was so stale that it was totally inedible and the milk had curdled. The location was also not great and getting to the hotel involved walking down a dirt path for quite a while.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel is old, but pretty neat. A hot shower was available, which was great.The only problem is it gets cold in the night. So if you travel in July, which is start of the winter time in Peru, you will feel cold unless you don't mind sleeping in 15 degrees Celsius during the night. The staff provides think blankets, it helps a bit, but if you care feeling warm during the night, i recommend a different hotel. We actually caught a cold due to the room being not heated - which in a way affected part of our trip.That's my only thing to complain about.
On a different note, the hotel management- a young couple - was very very nice. They were friendly and tried accommodating our requests. For example we were leaving for an early morning train to Machu Picchu and the couple got up and prepared breakfast for us before the "official" breakfast serving time. That was much appreciated.
The rooms are a bit old, but ok for one night stay. The location was excellent, just about 1 km away from the train station. Perfect if you're catching a morning train - no need to take a taxi. Overall i would stay again if the hotel would provide us with a heater in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostel Andenes
Hostel Andenes
#9 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Munay Tika
Munay Tika
#16 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#11 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa de Mama Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Mama Valle

Address: Av. Del Estudiante 269, Ollantaytambo 051-084, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £21 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa de Mama Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and well located Hotel in the heart of the Sacred Valley of Incas, less than two hours far by train to Machupicchu, 27 quiet, clean and with nice views rooms all with private bathroom and hot water for the 24 hours.Breakfast with milk eggs, breads, fruits is included in the rate.We offer personal attention to each our guest that is our caractheristic in all the "Casa de Mama" in Cusco.Nice gardens, big terrace, 2 lobby and a dinning room complete the nice atmosphere to improve your experience in this tonw named as "the only inca living town": OLLANTAYTAMBO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa de Mama Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa De Mama Valle Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing