We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Esquina Cafe-Bakery

La Esquina Cafe-Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
301 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great food and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had the mixed meat skewers, chicken fajitas and veggie burger - all very tasty and large portions. A bottle of Frontera Sauvignon Blanc was 35 Soles. Good value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    91
    32
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Friendly, welcoming service and great food. Menu offers simple fare, but each with that little extra to make it special--like a BLT with guacamole. The freshly baked breads and desserts enhance every choice, and don't miss the soups.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
197 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Good Healthy options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This place could have gotten 4 stars from me but they screwed up our to go order. We ordered chicken burrito or fajita (I cant remember) and they ended up giving us beef. It tasted good but no beef for us. This was the evening rush and the place was packed so that might be the reason why they mixed it up

When we arrived around noon, we needed a place with healthy options and this one was right by the square where we got dropped off. There was only a few people there at that time. We ordered some grilled chicken sandwich for lunch and it wasn't the best. Maybe we just ordered the wrong thing coz there are so many other options there. However the empanadas here are big and tasty for 6 soles. One of the best empanadas I tried in Peru. The good thing about this place is that there is great variety to choose from and you know they make it fresh coz it takes awhile to get your order. The owner is very helpful too. There's internet in the cafe as well. This would be my go to place if I ever come back to Olly

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexisRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great food -- pan dulce snacks and sandwiches/hot dishes. Great place to meet other travelers and share info. Went there every day, once in the morning and again in the evening. Friendly staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank brosoLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
176 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good food and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went to La Esquina for lunch.

We ate outside on the plaza which is fairly quiet as plazas go, a really pleasant place to sit and watch. There are only two tables outside and the inside looked a bit dark.

We had the set menu for 18 soles, which included soup, lemonade, chicken and rice as an entree, and a brownie for dessert. It was all good, although no brownie will likely ever match the one we had at the Choco Museo in Ollantaytambo.

The price was pretty good for a full meal in a tourist restaurant in this town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TripAffine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Esquina Cafe-Bakery also viewed

Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 
Ollantaytambo, Sacred Valley
 

Been to La Esquina Cafe-Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing