We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 April 2011

This hotel is a great place to stay in Ollantaytambo. It is located right on the train platform, which is a bit of a walk from the main town, however, if you are only staying a night or two that is not a problem.

The rooms and bathrooms are sparkling clean, with beautiful linens and comfortable beds. There is small safe in the room. The courtyard is lovely and a great place to enjoy an afternoon drink while watching the clouds roll over the mountain.

Breakfast was included and they offered a nice selection of fruit, yogurt, granola, eggs, breads, pancakes, juices, and coffee/tea.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank envirochk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,252 - 1,258 of 1,679 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2011

We (my husband and I) stayed at the hotel one night in our journey to machu picchu. This hotel is extremely comfortable and the rooms are spacious, very clean and the views of the mountains are great. You will have original artwork from the owner what makes each room unique and memorable. The prices are really good. The hotel is in the train station, so you will hear the trains at night. But very convenient to take the train to machu picchu in the morning :)
The restaurant is probably the best food that I had in a very long time, the food is fresh and very flavored what makes you really enjoy every bite.
I would definitively go back and recommend this great hotel not only to friends but everyone.
Hello Jose and Staff from Paula de Portuguese!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chatice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

This hotel was very picturesque and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant served delicious food. Location was good ( there was some construction on the road when we left which was a bit inconvenient...will be completed by April 2011)
In all our stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdoherty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

I picked this hotel because of all the favourable reviews but wasn't prepared for how great it really was. I was ready to be cold at night, however the quilts were so warm that wasn't a problem. I was ready to rough it seeing we were so isolated, but no roughing it when you consider the amazing gardens, the immaculate room, the interesting articles placed throughout, and the gourmet restaurant offerings. Not familiar with a spice or herb mentioned in a dish listed on the menu, just ask. The chef will bring you the jar and let you see it and sample it if you would wish to do so. The presentation of the meals was so artistic, you ALMOST hated to start eating. We encountered nothing but pleasant helpful staff who could and did communicate easily with us in English.
Yes it is a bit distant from Ollantaytambo itself, but for 1.5 soles each, you can ride there on one of the 3wheel bike "taxis" and that's just another fun experience for your journal.
Yes the train exhaust can be strong, but one just needs to close the windows on the incoming side while the train is idling. Our room had windows on 3 sides so once the train was gone, the room aired out very quickly. I was surprised that there was so little noise from the trains also.
Breakfast the next morning was a treat as it was the first time in a long time that we could have eggs done to order served hot to our table. The coffee was hot and delicious. With more toast when we requested it and a bit of fruit and yogurt, a perfect way to start the day!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2traveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We stayed here on a very quick trip- we were on a cruise and had very little time to visit Machu Pichu. We took a taxi from the Cuzco Airport (lovely drive ) and our intent was to go back to Cuzco but after seeing the hotel we changed our mind and stayed two nights. It also has a slightly lower altitude (2600 M ) than Cuzco (3300 M ) and we were travelling with children and had not taken pills for the altitude. It worked out fine. The food was great for supper- we had chicken and trout and the stuffed vegetables. The brownies were great. Breakfast had the best coffee I have ever tasted in my life. Wondeful chef- see picture. The room was spectacular with beams and white bedding, lovely stone sink- A1. I was so happy to be there. Sergio helped us with the boarding passes for our flights on Friday. Would do it again in a second!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdiamond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I have recently completed an around the world trip and El Albergue Hotel & Restaurant wins two prizes for the trip . . . best hotel and best restaurant. When I wrote this review El Albergue was rated the #1 hotel in Ollantaytambo on Trip Advisor which it so richly deserves.

Very occasionally in my travels have I come upon a place to stay that is truly memorable. El Albergue Hotel & Restaurant is such a place. Ever since I first visited their web site, I was looking forward to my short stay there. The location is very unique . . . it’s in the train station which is the only access to Machu Picchu (unless you walk all the way to MP). In fact most walkers take the train part way until it intersects the Inca Trail which leads to Machu Picchu.

My particular room, Number 7 (a Superior Double). was upstairs in the garden area with two beds at a very reasonable $63 US per night. I stayed here on January 19, my only regret being that I didn’t have more time to spend at this lovely hotel.

So, the front door of the hotel is 6 feet from the train tracks. I enjoy trains, so you can imagine that this alone was a big plus. The hotel is owned by an artist woman, Wendy Weeks, who I met by chance as I was walking to the hotel. Her design flair is evident throughout the hotel, many of the paintings being hers. I don’t know quite how to describe the style of the place other than to say that the art work is modern and the physical structures are traditional and cozy and arty.

It all works incredibly well!

The hotel has a wonderful restaurant right off of the entry area. It has a great open plan with little separating you from the kitchen. There along the back wall are dozens of spice jars all about 1 pint size with a colorful array of spices. When I got there after normal lunch hour they were making fresh pasta which was strung on hangers near the front (closest to the dining area). The dining area is largely done in white and black which tends to draw the eyes to artwork and kitchen. Just a wonderful space! See my photos which do a much better job of showing this lovely hotel than I can describe in words.

The food that I had at El Albergue is the best that I’ve had anywhere on this trip.

I got adventuresome here and had the alpaca steak for dinner. The meat and sauce were great. The meat itself is lean, but both tender and succulent. I’d go so far to say that it was one of the best pieces of meat that I’ve ever eaten.

How to get here? Easy! Just ask anyone in town where the train station is. From the center part of town descend Ferrocarril (Railroad) Avenue about ½ mile toward the river and the railroad tracks. When you get to the bottom of the street there are some gates just before the railroad tracks. Go through the gates and take a right turn and walk down the sidewalk that parallels and is immediately adjacent to the train tracks. The hotel is well signed and the front door is black metal and glass. Sometimes the door is locked during train arrival times. If so, just knock and someone will open the door for you.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayward_American
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

The location is perhaps perfect except the few trains who honk in front during the night. The service, comfort and amenities are more likely in the range of a good 5 star hotel.
Also the restaurant serves delicious and well prepared meals.
I very much recommend the Alberque Lodge to everyone. Great place!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
392 reviews
5.2 mi away
Del Pilar Ollantaytambo Hotel
Del Pilar Ollantaytambo Hotel
#16 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £70 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing