We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Most comfortable part of our trip in Peru.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most comfortable part of our trip in Peru.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Service was top notch. Very comforable beds. Very clean. Natalia at the front desk was extremely helpful and recommended a great tour guide. I recommend rms 11,12,13,14 and 15, as they are farthest from the train track.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Crestaverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    354
    77
    40
    13
See reviews for
339
731
79
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Set in the most beautiful gardens, this one of a kind hotel has the "best" food in their restaurant that I experienced in all my travels in Peru. Not to mention their Pisco Sours which are made perfectly! The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff was very accomodating. Oh, and by the way. you can fall out of bed and catch Peru Rail right in front. How convenient is that??
Diane

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peacock007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loomis ca
Level Contributor
422 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights and had a sweet, largish, room right above the train station. This provided a little noise, but it was so novel and entertaining we didn't mind at all.

There were other rooms, probably quieter and more modern in the back, but we truly loved the location. Obviously it couldnt be more convenient for catching the train or returning from Aguas Caliente. It is however a short 10 minute walk from town or an inexpensive tuk tuk ride.

Our only disappointment, although slight was in the restaurant. Perhaps we built it up too much in our minds, but we much preferred a restaurant by the name of Puku Rumi in town close to the ruins. This restaurant was excellent food and value, and a very intimate ambience. Nothing wrong with the food at El Albergue, but we werent wowed.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
189 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

This elegant hotel is situated on the platform, after the control gate, of Ollantaytambo station. Can’t be closer. 10 minutes from plaza de armas. We stay here one night on our way to Machu Picchu. Book from their website at 94 USD all inclusive and 28 of deposit must be paid through PayPal, immediately. So it is not a bargain.

We like :
1 – So nicely decorated and well maintained looking room, in a lush garden and surrounded by impressive mountain scenery.Unrivaled Belle epoque charm, polite and efficient staff.
2 – Very comfortable bed. Wifi included, with cook to order and served at table breakfast, large safe box, plenty of sockets to charge your devices.
3 – Good restaurant.

We did not like :
Nothing so far, beside no in room kettle.

Tips :
1 – Avoid all buys from vendors around the station, it is between 2 and 5 times usual price.
2 – Travellers now have 3 choices to Aguas Calientes from Ollantaytambo. The excellent PeruRail, the IncaRail and now the MachuPicchuRail. But at a closer look, they all offer the same price to foreigners and none of them are allowed on local trains.

So come here for the unique atmosphere, and its location is also a plus to those looking for last minute hop on board. But a bit expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BEEPfromPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

El Albergue proved to be an excellent place for us during four nights of our recent trip to Peru. Taking advantage of their airport pick up service, we went directly from Cusco to Ollantaytambo and stayed there our first three nights in Peru to acclimitize to the altitude and explore Ollanta and the Sacred Valley. Then we returned for one night after visiting Machu Picchu. We had spacious Room 11, which has a balcony overlooking the snow capped Andes and a small but lush garden with hummingbirds and blue and yellow tanagers. Another reviewer complained of the train noise in Room 11, but it wasn't a problem for us. The staff are very accommodating, especially the excellent Diego and the very helpful Natalia Vasquez. Having a good restaurant right there and a cafe with good coffee were also pluses for us as was the convenience to the Machu Picchu train.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBadger3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed three nights at El Albergue and were blown away by the service and beautiful setting. We had superior balcony rooms located in the back of the property which were clearly nicer than the other units. Although it did get cold in the room at night they provided a portable radiator. The garden setting with the mountains in the background is spectacular.

Breakfast was fine (eggs or pancakes, fruit, toast, juice, & coffee/tea) if not filling.

To illustrate the exceptional service: we were taking an early train (6:45) to Machu Picchu and had an early breakfast (5:45). We ate and went back to the room to get ready for the long day ahead. At about 6:15 a staffer was knocking on our door worried that we were going to miss the 6:20 Peru Rail train. Evidently he surmised that since we were earting so early we were on that next train. Fortunately we were on the later Inca Rail train - but we truly appreciated that they were "watching out" for us.

Front desk was very helpful and arranged (1) a guide at Machu Picchu and (2) a van to take us to Maras (salt pools) and Moray (terraces). Cafe Mayu had the best food we had during our two weeks in Peru. The Alpaca was perfect.

El Albergue is that rare combination of good service, beautiful property and scenery, with a good value proposition (much cheaper than Cusco).

TIP:
The Sacred Valley is beautiful and warrants more than a long day trip out of Cusco. Also it is 600 meters below Cusco and is easier to adapt to the altitude here. I would suggest starting and basing your trip out of here.
You can also get box lunches for $10 USD to take to Machu Picchu (The box is a good size, so you can luggage check it at the front gate of Machu Picchu for 3-5 soles).
The Inca Rail train seemed to be much nicer than the Peru Rail train.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seeingtheworld29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
141 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

The hotel is conveniently right on the train tracks, and about a 10min walk to the town's center. It's quiet and has a hacienda feeling. Our room's exposed beams, exposed stone bathroom, bedside candle, and tile floors made it feel warm and cozy, despite being cold and rainy. The restaurant atmosphere was very romantic, and we had beautiful music played by a blind Andean Harpist. The food was great, on par with nice restaurants we have in the US. Since we were sick, I wanted to sleep in longer and check out a little later than the 10:30am check-out, but they denied my request. There's no room service either, which we would have loved to have being sick and all, but they made me walk out in the rain to the restaurant to order our breakfast and take back to the room, which I think they could have easily done right over the phone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank occasionaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pakaritampu
Pakaritampu
#3 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing