We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sacred Valley Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Our family, my wife and I and our two sons, ages 18 and 21, stayed at El Albergue for three nights at the end of July, 2011. We loved it, Ollantaytambo and the Sacred Valley area. Through El Albergue, we had arranged to be picked up at the Cusco airport by a driver (Eloy) and a bilingual guide (Paull). Paull helped us secure Machu Picchu tickets in Cusco and then we headed to Ollantaytambo by way of Pisac where we visited their market, ate at Cuchara de Palo Restaurante (good food; reasonably priced), and enjoyed the festival in the town square that happened to be taking place. Like the locals, we danced and drank Cusquena beer.

After the long day that started in Lima, we checked into Rooms 15 & 16 at the El Albergue. The rooms were new, spacious, comfortable and clean with quality beds and warm down comforters. Showers had good pressure and lots of hot water. We couldn’t ask for anything more. We woke up the next morning to a stunning view from our front window and porch of the snow capped Veronica Mountain fronting a beautiful blue sky. After breakfast, we met Paull and Eloy for a day long tour of the Scared Valley that included stops at Chinchero, the salt mines near Maras and the Moray archeological farming site. With a good buffet lunch at the El Maizel Restaurant in Urubamba, we had a fantastic and educational day. Paull was a super guide. He was born in Ollantaytambo and has lived there his entire life. He is very knowledgeable and is passionate about this area and Incan life. If you are thinking about having a guide, Paull is your man.

A quick comment on the Scared Valley (the land between Pisac and Ollataytambo): don’t miss it. Many folks fly into Cusco, take the train to MP, spend a day or two there and then take the train back to Cusco. The Sacred Valley was the rural heart of the Inca Empire, it has wonderful Incan ruins, quaint towns, stunning views of the Andes and should be a separate “segment” of your trip to Peru.

Back to the El Albergue, the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Natalia, at the front desk. We dined at the El Albergue Restaurant and it was super. They had a nice variety and the service was great. The included breakfasts were served there as well. They make mighty fine Pisco sours and each day offer a happy hour special of 2 for 1 piscos. The onsite flower gardens are beautiful and the short walk to and from our rooms were always very enjoyable. We usually stopped and smelled the flowers! When we checked out to take the train to MP, El Albergue kept our extra bags for us with numbered tags. It was very organized. Upon our return from MP, we picked up the bags, the driver they had arranged for us was waiting and we headed for Cusco, with one stop at the Pisac Ruins, also highly recommended.

The El Albergue was a perfect place for us. It is adjacent to the train station, but do not worry about that. Once you are inside, it is very quiet and peaceful. It was our oasis.

Room Tip: Rooms 15 and 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimEfromColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

Lovely! Even though literally on the train tracks, we had a beautiful room outlooking a garden and never heard any noise, train or otherwise. The room was spacious, simply decorated with fresh flowers and modern Peruvian paintings. It also has a very nice Zen feel . . . all for $75 a night! The restaurant attached serves delicious food with great service. HIghly recommend (and this is Frommer's #1 choice too).

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor/garden level toward the back - totally secluded, no noise and very brigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShannonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for two nights in September 2011. We chose this hotel primarily because of its convenient location - right on a train station. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised how quiet the rooms were (our room was facing mountains in the courtyard) and how beautiful courtyard grounds were. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. We had our luggage stored the day we took a train to Machu Picchu and we promptly got in back with everything intact. Hotel provides a notebook at guests' request at no additional charge, so, those who need to go online, are able to do so. We have fond memories of our stay at El Albergue. Thank you to everybody who made our stay pleasant.

Room Tip: courtyard room - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuliya-world-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

for reals. best spot to stay in sacred valley.

PROS
- right next to train station (no train noise) taking train to Machu Pichu, literally right outside front door.
- beautiful (gardens with benches/hammocks, flowing water)
- secure, gated in train station depot, built in security with train station attendants/security
- great staff (helpful, english spoken, courteous)
- great restaurant and cafe

CONS
-couldn't think of ANY.

what a great place to stay, unbelieveable.
hearts cafe in town a great spot for lunch, their fix price menu was a VERY good deal. also a "feel good" spot to eat.

Room Tip: from what i hear all the rooms are awesome. ours was a first floor garden room. had good water pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I spent 4 days there. It was little excessive, but I need a break. It was such great place to stay for a good price. I didn't think that food was that great except for Alpaca steak. I would go back there when I revisit Macchu Picchu.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hodol88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

hotel we stayed in of many during 2 weeks in Peru. Great value; spectacular view from room 16; the best restaurant with delicious, creative dishes, open kitchen and local harpist (make a reservation!); free rustic shower; lovely and practical amenities; convenient location; helpful staff; no train noise. The American (?) owner has good taste and flair. A credit to the Sacred Valley.

Room Tip: Choose room 16 for the view. You'll gasp. Kids were in room 14; also very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giuiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This hotel was fabulous - beautiful surroundings, friendly staff, great resteraunt, free wifi, lovely gardens, right next to the train staion and excellent value for money. This is definately the best hotel we stayed at during our trip to Peru. I would highly recommend staying there on way back from Macchu Pichu like we did, was great hoping off the train and straight into the hotel for a wonderful meal at their resteraunt.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weigy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
392 reviews
5.2 mi away
Del Pilar Ollantaytambo Hotel
Del Pilar Ollantaytambo Hotel
#15 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £70 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing