We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed here for couple of nights and enjoyed staying right on top of the Ollantaytambo rail station. If you are a train enthusiasts like I am and enjoy the sounds of train and the flowing Urubamba river, then this is the place. It is about 10-15 minutes walking distance from the town center. The room had a rustic feel and bathroom was decent enough with hot water available throughout. The restaurant inside the hotel was pretty good as well. And coming to the best part about this place is you can just wake up early morning and just walk few steps to your train ride to Aguas Calientes.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arnbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,167 - 1,173 of 1,665 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Sitting in their restaurant, watching a train Orient-Express-like roll in and out was an amazing sight. We almost forgot the excellent food they were serving.

The hotel is ON the train station, not nearby. The rooms look onto a beautiful garden, are modern, spacious, spot clean and have fantastic beds. In the room we didn't hear a single train whistle. In the morning we visited the great Ollantaytambo ruins (don't miss) and were ready to jump, from the café to the train. Highly recommende.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aventurero2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The hotel is located inside the train station. Rooms 3-and 4 actually instance overlook the train platforms and are quite noisy. Be sure to take a room inside the compound. The rooms are huge, however the water system needs renovation. Some rooms can be reached by stairs only, no elevator. The comound has a nice garden, room 14 has a balcony with great maountain view. The reception was kind, however the restaurant is not the best in town as they tell you at the reception. Food at the Puka Rumi tasted better.

Room Tip: Try room 14 which has a view. Avoid room 4 which overlooks the train platforms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trikoJerusalemIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The caveat of this review is we did not actually get to stay here. Our travel agent was supposed to make us reservations at this hotel. When we showed up at the hotel, the woman at the front desk informed us that we did not in fact have a reservation and unfortunately the hotel was full. Apparently our travel agent completely forgot to make us hotel reservations for our night in Ollantaytambo. The woman at the front desk then proceeded to reccommend a number of similar quality hotels and even called around to find us another place to stay. We stayed to have lunch at the restaurant and she made the calls while we were eating and would come update us on the status of a room. I was truly impressed with how accomidating she was to people not even staying at her hotel. I'm sorry we didn't stay there because the hotel did look lovely with a beautiful garden out back. The lunch was delicious so I highly reccommend the restuarant. And since the woman was so helpful I felt compelled to write a review based on the service of this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Stanl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Before our trip, I had read the comment about this being an oasis. With the front door of this hotel being approx 5 feet from the Machu Picchu railway, oasis did not seem appropriate, but it certainly makes the stay interesting. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper, as trains run early and late, with some movement during the night too.

Great restaurant, with lovely food and cosy atmosphere. Local Andean harpist was a welcome bonus.

If you come by car, then get instructions before you arrive about where to leave it. They have an arrangement for free parking with a place about 50 yards from the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room as far from the station as possible if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Service was excellent! Trains didn't bother us because they don't run at night. Convenience for catching the early morning train to Macchu Picchu can't be beat. Food was amazing, the alpaca was delicious. The only negative was that because the water is solar heated for some reason we couldn't get hot water ever no matter how long the water ran for but the service, food, location, pretty ambiance and comfy beds with good sheets made up for it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We spent three nights here as a base to explore the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. The location was great as it is at the train station which goes direct to the Macchu Picchu area. Also only a couple of blocks away from the main plaza and the Ollantaytambo ruins. The hotel staff including restaurant staff were great, very friendly and eager to be helpful. The hotel is very charming with rustic style furnishings and decor. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The beds were great and there was lots of hot water at any given time of day. Personal touches were added to the room with fresh cut bouquets from the hotel gardens. The gardens and courtyards at the hotel were beautiful and had lots of seating or hammocks for unwinding. We were in room 15 which is one of the rooms on the back courtyard. Any sound from the train station was fairly remote with only the occassional train whistle or announcements. The bathroom floor was heated and the room had a portable radiant heater that could be used on cooler evenings. Wifi was free and worked well in our room. Breakfast was included in the room rate and includes fresh fruit, juice, coffee and choice of freshly prepared eggs or pancakes. The restaurant was open for evening dining and the food was excellent. We also ordered boxed lunches for our trip to Machu Picchu. The boxed lunch was enough for two meals. I definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: choose one of the rooms in the back courtyard to avoid the sounds from the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banditoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
391 reviews
10.8 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £50 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing