We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Nearby Hotels
Pakaritampu Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dona Catta Inn(Ollantaytambo)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Intitambo Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Iskay(Ollantaytambo)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostel Andenes(Ollantaytambo)(Great Value!)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Samanapaq(Ollantaytambo)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ccapac Inka Ollanta(Ollantaytambo)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SAUCE Hostal(Ollantaytambo)
US$99
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Molino(Ollantaytambo)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,793)
Filter reviews
1,793 results
Traveller rating
1,220
420
91
47
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,220
420
91
47
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic farmtrain platformpachamanca lunchtrain noisesacred valleyeucalyptus saunaalpaca steakgreat restaurantbrowniebalcony roomconvenient locationtaking the trainin towntrip to machu picchubeautiful gardenpancakesearly train
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,200 - 1,205 of 1,793 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Our group of 10 spent 3 days at El Albergue after our 3D/4N trek on the Inca Trail and found this to be an outstanding hotel in an exceptional small town (Ollantaytambo). Wish we had more time to spend there! The location right by the train station worked out well (although you may want to avoid rooms on that side). The interior gardens were beautiful, the rooms were unique and charming, the restaurant was very good (great breakfast was included and we had two dinners there as well), and the staff was very helpful and spoke good english. I would highly recommend this hotel and a stay of several nights in Ollantaytambo as part of a visit to the Sacred Valley area. It was a very nice alternative to the business of Cusco and there was much to do in Ollantaytambo and the area.

Room Tip: The rooms on the train station side were well insulated, but the rooms away from the station were probably a safer bet (Note: The trains don't run past 11:00 PM)
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Our stay at the Albergue Ollantaytambo was only for one night; but we wouldn't have picked a better place to stay before our journey to Machu Picchu the next day.

I recommend this to anyone. We stayed there the night before going to Machu Picchu, I picked this place because of the location. You literally walk out their back/front door and you're on the train platform.

After a long day of touring; it was nice to come to a hotel that was like an Oasis, it was super private, the rooms were nice, we had 4 rooms booked in total and they were all very nice clean and spacious; as well as the placed looked great, everything from the rooms to the grounds (very well landscaped); the whole group was really impressed with this place, and it was a nice break before heading out to Machu Picchu (MP) for the day.

We took the first train out, and it was worth it; by staying in Ollantaytambo, you cut your commute time to MP significantly, and are able to beat most of the crowds.

The breakfast was good and free; the restaurant for dinner was decent, and the price for one night was really good too. I think it was under 100 dollars, and we had two people in each room. It was a nice break from Cuzco, and we all loved this place.

The only complaint I would have is that when we checked out; the people that wanted to pay with a credit card weren't able to do so. Luckily they had enough soles to pay cash for their stay; but that's not really what they wanted to do. The guy said the card wouldn't go through but they tried 3 different cards from three different people, I am not sure if he didn't know how to use the machine, or if the machine was really down. Who knows; but that's the only complaint that we have from this place.

We all had wished we stayed a couple of more days at El Albergue; but there are always time constraints.

I would recommend this place, its a nice oasis; very well kept and awesome rooms, but most importantly the ability to wake up "late" and just stroll onto the train platform is key!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gacuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Great location, wonderful ambience, comfortable rooms. You can't beat this lovely property and tremendous staff. Can't imagine being better looked after anywhere else.
Easy to avoid Aguas Caliente by taking the first train out, and the last train back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJMWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The hotel is located right next to the train station to Machu Picchu. The room condition is pretty clean and modern. There is free wifi in the room. The staffs in the hotel are friendly and the restaurant in the hotel is also not bad.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank CHHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The proximity to the railway station didn’t seem to interfere with the ambiance of the hotel. The early morning departures didn’t hinder our sleep. We spent two-nights. The breakfasts included cappuccinos, eggs, breads and fresh fruit. The evening cuisine in the restaurant was first-rate.

Room Tip: With the reservation, we had asked for a king bed, but couldn't be guaranteed the request. Upon arrive, the king room was available.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews