We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Nearby Hotels
Pakaritampu Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dona Catta Inn(Ollantaytambo)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Intitambo Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Iskay(Ollantaytambo)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostel Andenes(Ollantaytambo)(Great Value!)
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Samanapaq(Ollantaytambo)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ccapac Inka Ollanta(Ollantaytambo)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SAUCE Hostal(Ollantaytambo)
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Molino(Ollantaytambo)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,793)
Filter reviews
1,793 results
Traveller rating
1,220
420
91
47
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,220
420
91
47
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic farmtrain platformpachamanca lunchtrain noisesacred valleyeucalyptus saunaalpaca steakgreat restaurantbrowniebalcony roomconvenient locationtaking the trainin towntrip to machu picchubeautiful gardenpancakesearly train
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,083 - 1,088 of 1,793 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This hotel is so unique in that it is right on the platform of the train station, yet once through the lobby, you are cast into a flowering garden of Eden. The rooms are upscale rustic, if that makes sense. Restaurant and Cafe Mayu are excellent. Christian was our server always, I don't think he ever left. He made every meal special. Josephina worked the coffee shop and was a delight!

The meals were very healthy and most, if not all the food came from their farm behind the property. Very fresh, very organic. We did the Panchumanca, where they cook the food in the ground (luau style, sort of) and then serve meal on white linen... incredible!

Location, I thought was great. Halfway between Machu Picchu and Pisac and Cusco only 90 minutes away. The ruins there are also top shelf and worth the visit as was the new town built right over the old Inca village. This hotel is an experience not to miss.

Room Tip: Room 15 has an insane view of the snow capped Andes toward Machu Picchu.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanpeltsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Thanks in large part to El Albergue Lodge in Ollantaybambo, Peru, we rate our vacation a 10 out of a possible 10!
The accommodations were very comfortable and the surroundings beautiful with lush gardens throughout. When we opened the windows of our room we had scenic views of mountains in the distance. The beds could not have been any more comfortable. This lodge has a restaurant that uses organic produce coming from their very own farm. The meals were outstanding! We are the type of travelers that like to explore different restaurants each night but the meals were so incredibly delicious and well priced that going anywhere else was not an option. We have to mention at this writing the warm and welcoming affectionate staff. Jennifer waited on us 4 out of the 6 evenings with efficient and caring service. Sergio was sweet and funny and always made sure that our needs were being met. Vickey was also very accommodating and always approachable and receptive. Our accolades to the owner of El Albergue who has trained his staff to genuinely care for the guests with high degree of conscientiousness. They run a tight ship! We are already planning our next trip and we will be staying at El Albergue in 2014.
Mick, Carmen and Ruthann Kelleher

Room Tip: Room #14 is very desirable as is #10.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckelleher9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Albergue and we really loved it. The room was very spacious and clean, well equipped and tastefully furnished, the evening meals at the restaurant and the service were excellent. We were impressed by the place and its location. You can sit on the balcony of your room and observe the hummingbirds flying by, absorb all the nice colours and scents of the flowers of the absolutely gorgeous garden with the view of the mountains in the background, unique.
The only things which could be mentioned to be improved: we were somewhat deceived by the breakfast, to say the truth. It was ordinary, it didn't seem that they placed a great value on it, which is a pity.The other thing was our shower: we couldn't manage to take a proper shower, either because the water was too hot and you risked to burn yourself or it was too cold. But as unpleasant these vagaries might have been, it's something you can easily fix, hopefully.
The Albergue is worth a stay, we were happy to have stayed in Ollantaytambo on our way to Machu Picchu instead of Aguas Calientes, in my view a truly unpleasant place. The fact that you can get on the train to Mapi in no time is a great advantage and worth considering. And the village Ollantaytambo itself and its ruins are superb, don't miss them!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntoniaFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Loved my stay here! Travelled in March of 2012 and still think about hanging out in the hammocks and looking at the amazing view! Clean, spacious room and gorgeous garden. Short and fun walk from the ruins as well (some of my favorite for the whole trip, make sure to spend some time exploring them).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CourtMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This was a special treat for me and my husband. We stayed here one night and loved it. The most amazing cafe and restaurant. Alot of it is organic and grown right there on their farm. Which we love! Rooms are spectacular, clean, and romantic. Views of the mountains and flowers right out your window. Hard to imagine that the train station is just on the other side. This never once bothered us. Everyone was super kind and helpful. Bonus was the sauna, which was great after hiking. One of the best dinners we had in Peru at the restaurant. They had wonderful music playing while we ate. Best Pisco sour in all of Peru hands down!! And an amazing breakfast too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny83712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews