We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“felt like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Our family of 4 spent 3 nights total in this hotel. It had been recommended to us by a close friend. Initially, I was a little unsure of the recommendation the email contact person (who we never met) can occasionally sound curt, which was unusual for the places we were looking to stay in Peru. Ultimately, when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised.

Albergue is elegantly simple. The front desk staff; Sergio and Vicky are awesome. When we asked for anything out of the ordinary Sergio would reply pleasantly with “anything is possible here.” We really felt like anything was possible and with a smile. We felt welcome, taken care of and even part of a community. Sergio always has a smile and took care of every detail. Vicky took time after work to guide us to a neighboring town and assist us in dropping off a gift we had been sent with. THANK YOU BOTH.

They had a room that could accommodate all 4 of us. Good crisp linens, heated bathroom floor and magnificent view of the glacier in the distance.

The food at the restaurant is reasonable priced and SO good. We ate almost all of our meals right there. Breakfast is included with the room, which included: fruit, toast, juice, coffee, tea and a choice of eggs, French toast or pancakes. The hotel has an organic farm that much of their restaurant food comes from.

We loved the, fill your water bottle for 1 sole vs the continuous purchase of plastic water bottles. GREAT IDEA.

The grounds are beautiful, flowers everywhere, when first arriving or looking on the internet you see that Albergue is right at the train station. I was assured that it was quiet, brought ear plugs anyway, but honestly we could hear the train horns far in the distance only. The last train is at 9pm anyway. Our sleep was never interrupted.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4travelersUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

951 - 957 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

This was a true highlight in our trip to Peru and Machu Picchu. The food was unbelievable, fresh (they have their own veggie garden on property), truly the best restaurant in town. Every one of the staff was so incredibly friendly and helpful. Particularly Natalia but everyone was so great. The rooms were so clean and nice but not obnoxious and over the top. Really just the best place we stayed in all of Peru for our trip. I would go back and stay there for entire trip if I could. Again, I cant say enough about the staff and how helpful they were. The fact that the place was so charming and nice was just a bonus.

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent, I would recommend trying to get a view of glacier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at El Albergue Ollantaytambo for one night on our way from Cusco to Machu Picchu. It is charmingly located right at the train station in Ollantaytambo making it very easy to get to Aguas Calientes but not being noisy or disruptive in the least. The inn is charming with a lovely courtyard, and the rooms are quaint but clean, spacious, and with suitable bathroom facilities. There is a restaurant in the hotel, and all of the food is grown locally at the hotel's garden a short walk away {which you may tour upon request!}, and the food is absolutely delicious. The hotel is located a short walk away from Ollantaytambo's plaza and the gorgeous ruins. This was an excellent value for the price paid, and we would highly recomend staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This hotel is so unique in that it is right on the platform of the train station, yet once through the lobby, you are cast into a flowering garden of Eden. The rooms are upscale rustic, if that makes sense. Restaurant and Cafe Mayu are excellent. Christian was our server always, I don't think he ever left. He made every meal special. Josephina worked the coffee shop and was a delight!

The meals were very healthy and most, if not all the food came from their farm behind the property. Very fresh, very organic. We did the Panchumanca, where they cook the food in the ground (luau style, sort of) and then serve meal on white linen... incredible!

Location, I thought was great. Halfway between Machu Picchu and Pisac and Cusco only 90 minutes away. The ruins there are also top shelf and worth the visit as was the new town built right over the old Inca village. This hotel is an experience not to miss.

Room Tip: Room 15 has an insane view of the snow capped Andes toward Machu Picchu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanpeltsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Thanks in large part to El Albergue Lodge in Ollantaybambo, Peru, we rate our vacation a 10 out of a possible 10!
The accommodations were very comfortable and the surroundings beautiful with lush gardens throughout. When we opened the windows of our room we had scenic views of mountains in the distance. The beds could not have been any more comfortable. This lodge has a restaurant that uses organic produce coming from their very own farm. The meals were outstanding! We are the type of travelers that like to explore different restaurants each night but the meals were so incredibly delicious and well priced that going anywhere else was not an option. We have to mention at this writing the warm and welcoming affectionate staff. Jennifer waited on us 4 out of the 6 evenings with efficient and caring service. Sergio was sweet and funny and always made sure that our needs were being met. Vickey was also very accommodating and always approachable and receptive. Our accolades to the owner of El Albergue who has trained his staff to genuinely care for the guests with high degree of conscientiousness. They run a tight ship! We are already planning our next trip and we will be staying at El Albergue in 2014.
Mick, Carmen and Ruthann Kelleher

Room Tip: Room #14 is very desirable as is #10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckelleher9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Albergue and we really loved it. The room was very spacious and clean, well equipped and tastefully furnished, the evening meals at the restaurant and the service were excellent. We were impressed by the place and its location. You can sit on the balcony of your room and observe the hummingbirds flying by, absorb all the nice colours and scents of the flowers of the absolutely gorgeous garden with the view of the mountains in the background, unique.
The only things which could be mentioned to be improved: we were somewhat deceived by the breakfast, to say the truth. It was ordinary, it didn't seem that they placed a great value on it, which is a pity.The other thing was our shower: we couldn't manage to take a proper shower, either because the water was too hot and you risked to burn yourself or it was too cold. But as unpleasant these vagaries might have been, it's something you can easily fix, hopefully.
The Albergue is worth a stay, we were happy to have stayed in Ollantaytambo on our way to Machu Picchu instead of Aguas Calientes, in my view a truly unpleasant place. The fact that you can get on the train to Mapi in no time is a great advantage and worth considering. And the village Ollantaytambo itself and its ruins are superb, don't miss them!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntoniaFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Loved my stay here! Travelled in March of 2012 and still think about hanging out in the hammocks and looking at the amazing view! Clean, spacious room and gorgeous garden. Short and fun walk from the ruins as well (some of my favorite for the whole trip, make sure to spend some time exploring them).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CourtMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
191 reviews
18.9 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £71 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing