We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Pakaritampu Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Hotel Las Orquideas(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ccapac Inka Ollanta(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sol Natura Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
Samana Inn Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Munay Tika(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dona Catta Inn(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostel Andenes(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,795)
Filter reviews
1,795 results
Traveller rating
1,221
421
91
47
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,221
421
91
47
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic farmtrain platformpachamanca lunchtrain noisesacred valleyeucalyptus saunaalpaca steakgreat restaurantbrowniebalcony roomconvenient locationtaking the trainin towntrip to machu picchubeautiful gardenpancakesearly train
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,016 - 1,021 of 1,795 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Albergue provided us with the most enjoyable overall experience of our three weeks in Peru. The room was so comfortable and pretty. We felt safe and welcome. The sauna was relaxing and refreshing. The staff helped us considerably, storing luggage, answering questions and providing information. The grounds and gardens are beautiful. We enjoyed the breakfasts and the coffee. I highly recommend staying at the Albergue.

Room Tip: WE loved the balcony rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A very friendly hotel in a great location with a fine restaurant, this hotel tries hard to please. With one exception. It lacks heat. Technically, it has little oil filled radiators in the rooms, but we found that ours only put out enough heat for the bathroom, barely. Granted the depth of winter in July only produced temperatures down to about 30 degrees fahrenheit when we were there, but it was cold enough to make coming out from under the comfortable down duvets downright undesirable. Bring your best fur-lined jammies if you plan to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glennn999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed one night and was amazed by the beautiful vibe and ambience of the place. The hotel was the first in ollantaytambo and was later developed again in the 60s. The rooms are wooden and spacious but he gardens and the view to the mountains are breathtaking. The private sauna to the side if the hotel was an enjoyable experience as it was Fire lit with stones on top of the stove with eucalyptus leaves on top. The breakfast was included and was first rate pancakes
eggs etc. the staff are very friendly. The hotel is conveniently on the train station.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I rarely review on this site although I consult it every time I travel. Felt the need to provide some input since planning a trip to peru can be pretty overwhelming. We visited ollantaytambo, Machu Picchu, manu cloud forest, and cusco in that order. El albergue was the perfect place to enjoy ollantaytambo because of the location, the food, and the charm of the hotel. It was awesome to be able to so easily access the train station which is a major hub in between cusco and MP, not to mention how fun it was to just sit at the hotel restaurant and watch all of the people coming and going. The hotel gardens are beautiful and the rooms are clean and comfy. Even though the rest of the vacation was awesome was def sad to leave ollantaytambo and el albergue!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

El Albergue, should be listed as a heritage building, built in the 1920’s as a train station hotel, still maintains the original architecture complimented by the owner’s paintings hung on the walls. The gardens are lovely, with humming birds indigenous to the valley.

The hotel is committed to sustainability practices with the agriculture of the valley by supporting the restaurant with an organic farm and Pachamama traditional wood stove oven lunch available with advance reservations. The food is picked on the premises and the restaurant offers delicious foods. The hotel discourages guests from buying plastic bottles and offer filtered water for the guests. Recycling is part of the protocol of El Albergue.

The rooms are nicely appointed, clean and warm. A sauna is included in the price of the room, though I found this out later. The best part of this experience was the customer service and the service received by Sergio! Sergio assisted in every way possible to make our trip to the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu hassle free from transportation, tour tickets, information and a welcoming smile. Our only regret is we neglected to get this review done sooner to share with others our wonderful experience with Sergio and El Albergue Hotel. We will recommend this hotel to all friends and fellow travelers. Not to be missed!

Room Tip: Book in advance not to miss this exceptional experience.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews