We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Hotel was exactly what I was hoping for. Very clean and nicely decorated. Staff was extremely friendly and always willing to help. Located next to the train station which was perfect for trips to Machu Picchu. Short walk to ollantaytambo.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeebob2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,663 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Beautiful setting, cozy rooms, fantastic intimate restaurant with live and authentic music, the best place to get the train to Machu Picchu. But the hot water was very spotty, as was the water pressure, and the early morning train will wake you up whether you're catching it or not. It is also a bit of a walk to the town square which, at night, can seem very long and dark. Otherwise, a great experience with soft beds, excellent wines and good coffee.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NWstraightshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

El Albergue is perhaps the best hotel/B&B I've ever had the pleasure to stay, and certainly the best train station ever.

Our room was inspiring with beautifully rustic furnishings that didn't overwhelm & multiple four-paneled hardwood windows (works of art in their own right) -- it was the kind of room you never want to leave. Their on-site restaurant served a delicious breakfast & dinner, varied for any taste while still being unique. But best of all was the service: Sergio at the front desk is one of the kindest & funniest people working in the business, a fact known to everyone who stays here. He personally walked us through El Albergue's gardens, picking fresh herbs for my lady & I to sample while our farm lunch was being prepared under boiling-hot stones. I'll never forget the food or the experience.

We loved it here so much that when our train returning from Machu Picchu broke down near Ollantaytambo, we leapt right out to stay another night in this gem of a place.

Don't miss it -- it's the best place in the wooooorld!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Okay so I know this is like one of the best places to stay at in Olly but we tried a night at hostel sauce and I felt more at home there then here. We had less than warm welcome when we got to the hotel and the rooms were nice but lots of bugs, especially flies. We did eat the restaurant which was phenomenal but we continued to see the lack of friendliness from the people that worked there. Seemed like the guy (not sure if he was the owner) at the restaurant was too busy to say hello even though we were only one of the 3 patrons in the entire place that night. He seemed to be taking care of a larger group that was spending more a lot better. The breakfast was great and the morning staff actually seemed a lot nicer. Beautiful garden to sit and relax and play board games which we did. Overall the property was great but wish the owners realized the value of customer service.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the train tracks unless you have an early am train
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandhya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We read the recommendations on Trip Advisor when we made our decision to stay at the El Albergue. Every aspect was better than we expected. Sergio took care of everything from airport transfers to all day tour of the Sacred Valley. The town and ruins in Ollantaytambo is worth exploring. Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larrymendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Its location is very convenient to catch the train to go to Machu Picchu, the hotel is right there inside the station.
I love the accommodations and restaurant. I found variety of dishes in their menu. The owner grows vegetables next to the hotel, so quite of the ingredients are organic, and they make their own pasta as well. Definitely love their food. I tried the veggie lasagna (highly recommended) and the antipasto.
Personal is quite friendly. I took a bottle of wine from California and they let me brought it into the restaurant at no extra charge.
I recommend to visit Ollanta's downtown, is a unique place, with good food and beautiful architecture.

Room Tip: My room had a stunning view of the mountains. Breakfast buffet was included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femmerato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife, grandson & I stayed at El Albergue for two nights July 2013 and found the accommodations very nice and clean. The people working at the hotel were very pleasant and the location of the hotel was perfect for touring the area,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
389 reviews
10.8 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £54 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing