We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Samanapaq(Ollantaytambo)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Dona Catta Inn(Ollantaytambo)
Book now, pay at stay
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$47/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hostal Chayana Wasi(Ollantaytambo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Janaxpacha Hostel(Ollantaytambo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$25
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo(Ollantaytambo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
Tunupa Lodge(Ollantaytambo)
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de Wow!!!(Ollantaytambo)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Pakaritampu Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SAUCE Hostal(Ollantaytambo)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hostel Andenes(Ollantaytambo)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (1,879)
Filter reviews
1,879 results
Traveller rating
1,292
431
92
49
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,292
431
92
49
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic farmtrain platformpachamanca lunchtrain noisesacred valleyeucalyptus saunawendy weeksgreat restaurantalpaca steakbalcony roomconvenient locationtaking the trainin townbeautiful gardenearly traintrip to machu picchuan oasis
Filter
Updating list...
1,007 - 1,012 of 1,879 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We decided to spend a night in Ollantaytambo on our trip back from Machu Picchue to Cusco. This hotel was right next to the train station. When you get off the train the entrance is literally right next to the tracks to your right. The hotel was clean and well maintained. That night we ended up taking a shower in another room because the shower in our room was not working properly. But otherwise the room was spacious and comfortable. Also your stay at this hotel comes with a complimentary breakfast which was very good.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor but I would recommend requesting a second floor with a good view out to the mountain.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sschrissyyoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian_Arteaga, Manager at El Albergue Ollantaytambo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Chris;

Thank you very much for your comment about the Albergue Ollantaytambo, I hope you can visit again our property, from 2012 until now, we have many changes.

Best Regards!

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Very cozy and atmospheric hotel. The rooms are clean, good beds. There is an electric heater in the room. Keep in mind that the building is old and if you stay on the ground floor, you might hear squeaky floors above you. There is no TV in the room (who needs TV in such a beautiful place?) There is bottled water in the room free of charge. The best part of the hotel is the location. It is conveniently located inside the train station, so when you travel to Machu Picchu early in the morning, all you have to do is just get out of the hotel door and jump in the train. The breakfast was quite good and the staff spoke fluent English. I was a bit concerned with the noise from the trains, because early in the evening you could hear trains passing by once in awhile. Fortunately, the trains stop for the night, so it is quiet when you need your sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were here for Christmas eve prior to going to Machhu Picchu following morning. There are some lovely garden rooms which are very comfortable, clean, spacious and have all the facilities you could want . The hotel is/was the railway station and parts of the restaurant overlook it. The staff are very friendly and helpful and make the whole experience very enjoyable. We had a lovely meal with the Peruvian speciality of guinea pig -worth trying once! (Along with numerous Asian and central European 'special delicacies' I have sampled) with some excellent wine. Atmosphere was great and it is enjoyable watching trains arrive and set off -reminds one of the era great European train travel such as the Golden Arrow -sadly no more.The hotel is just down the road from the ruins which are worth a visit -time your visit to avoid large coach parties.
As we were leaving early to catch train to Machhu Picchu location was ideal - we rolled out of bed,collected our breakfast (hotel kindly provides this for early train) and straight on to train. Trains from here get to Machhu Pichhu first so you can there before the crowds.
Overall an excellent,comfortable stay in a lovely location. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Garden room -with balcony if staying for a few days.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I stayed there on December 24th. We dropped our packs off the day before on the 23rd on the way to Machu Picchu by train, then be reunited with them on the 24th. My wife made all the bookings, and she reasoned that this hotel would simplify everything by having our hotel close to the train station. Well, mission accomplished, this was right in or beside the train station. We are talking two or three steps and you are on board the train. When we came back on the 24th from Machu Picchu we checked into this little surprise of a hotel. From the moment we walked through the door we were greeted by the friendly helpful staff, bags taken care of and quickly checked in. We then followed our bags through this beautiful courtyard filled with a stunning garden. We made our way through the courtyard to our ground floor corner of paradise. The room was really clean with this amazing king size that bed that actually felt great! The large framed glass shutter style windows lit the large room. The bathroom was great, and again clean. Loved this place. After cleaning up, we went to the hotels restaurant for our Christmas eve dinner. We really enjoyed the dinner and wine service. This place also grows most or all there vegetables, and prides themselves for being organic. Loved that fact. We had breakfast the next morning and over coffee and eggs, we compared notes on our short stay there. We both noticed that we did not hear any trains while we were there. Totally tranquil. Our only regret, was that we only had booked the one night in our tight Peru travel schedule. Its a great romantic spot.

Room Tip: I accidentally clicked on "fitness center" for the ratings, The TripAdvisor program would not allow me to change it??
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We almost hate to write about El Albergue because we hope there will always be room for us there! This is the perfect inn--simple but every detail attended to and luxurious in little ways we appreciate. The views from the balcony and out the shuttered windows of mountains looming up from the Sacred Valley are unforgettable. And below that view is a sweep of garden laden with trees in fruit or flower. Cows and sheep meander in the higher meadow. This is not just an inn, it is also a working farm. There is a "secret" path at the back of the gardens that leads to an impressive ruin--all the more important on this trip because we were prevented from traveling on to Machu Picchu, which had just suffered a huge rockslide. The inn manager, Christian, led us to the path and filled us in on local history. Evenings were just as blissful as the cool summer days--we dined every night in the cozy restaurant, with the lovely and attentive Jennifer as our server. We are already planning to return same time next year. (Early January.)

Room Tip: An upstairs (only two floors) room with balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews