We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,977)
Filter reviews
1,977 results
Traveller rating
1,364
448
98
49
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,364
448
98
49
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews organic farm train platform pachamanca lunch train noise sacred valley wendy weeks eucalyptus sauna great restaurant alpaca steak brownie balcony room taking the train beautiful garden convenient location in town early train trip to machu picchu
Filter
Updating list...
1,081 - 1,086 of 1,977 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I am currently living in Cusco, Peru but this past weekend my friend and I visited Ollantaytambo. We didn't know what to expect exactly, but we were beyond pleasantly surprised! We arrived only having plans for where we would stay Friday (a different hotel in town). Upon arriving we immediately dropped our bags and set out to explore. We would have never found El Albergue if it wasn't for our encounter with the hotel's restaurant manager (Christian)- walking through town with a precious baby kitten we immediately flocked to him. We sparked conversation once we realized two things: he was from Ollantaytambo AND he spoke perfect English. He was very polite and provided us with countless pointers for what to do. He subtly mentioned the name of the hotel/restaurant, and then we parted ways. We saw him later that evening as we were walking to the restaurant for dinner. He spotted us, walked us to the restaurant to make sure we were seated, and helped us book a room at the hotel for the following night. The food was incredible the night and we couldn't wait to come back the next day.

El Albergue is located next to the train station and the sounds of the trains coming and going is quite picturesque. The property is filled with countless gorgeous flowers and trees (and there is a stream-like creek running throughout the grounds) creating a very peaceful and serene vibe. The rooms are the best I've stayed in yet. Amazing decor, very comfortable beds with duvet comforters, great water pressure, closets with hangers, and a safe. Also, the entire property has free Wifi.

The staff made the experience even better. They were kind, outgoing, and beyond accommodating. Christian (the restaurant manager that I mentioned earlier) took us on a tour of the restaurant's farm so we got to see where all of the fresh vegetables and meats come from. It was amazing!

We are already planning our next visit!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had the best stay at El Albergue last weekend. Great rooms, great service, and AMAZING food. We loved every second of it. And all for a great price. The restaurant manager (Christian) made our weekend in Ollantaytambo unforgettable! He took us on a private tour of the hotel restaurant's farm and gave us great recommendations for our stay in Peru. I will definitely be coming back to El Albergue. Cannot give it enough praise!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

At first I thought "can a hotel that is RIGHT ON the railroad tracks be quiet and comfortable?" The answer is a resounding “Yes!”. The rooms all face away from the tracks (and the trains aren't noisy ones), are large & airy with comfortable beds, nice linens, good bathrooms. There are beautiful grounds surrounding the property with areas to hang out, eat, relax… They have a very, very substantial organic garden that they will show you on request, which provides most, if not all of the produce in the restaurant, which is also excellent. The complimentary breakfast is a very full one – many options including eggs, bacon, hash browns, fruit, cereal, fresh juice etc etc etc. The location is insanely convenient if you are taking the train to/from Machu Picchu/Cusco. The staff are warm & friendly. It is a very good value. Also, the town is charming, if you can stay 2 nights and have a free day to explore, including the remarkable Ollantaytambo ruins, do it.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank artnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

El Albergue was a beautiful hotel and the location couldn't be beat. Our room was spacious and clean with a small balcony overlooking a beautiful garden. It was the perfect retreat after hiking the ruins. The location on the train tracks is amazing for early morning training to Aquas Calientes and Machu Picchu, and there is a path through the back garden that is a short cut into town. The staff were really helpful in arranging transportation and answering questions and the restaurant was some of the best food we had on the trip.

Room tip: The hotel overlooks the train station and tracks, so rooms in the back overlooking the garden are great!
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoraMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel offers a great and convent location. If you a traveling to Machu Picchu early in the morning to spend the day at one of the greatest places in earth, this is perfect hotel! It is located right at the train station... no possibility of being late for the train. Breakfast is wonderful! Service is excellent and it is located within walking distance from Ollantaytambo ruins (10 mins walk). If you like art be sure to check out Juan's art studio right next to the Chocolate museum (about 4 or 5 stores to the right) at the Ollantaytambo Plaza. Enjoy The Sacred Valley!

Room tip: Rooms away from the front door are quieter!
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheyla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews