We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic locally grown food at restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The restaurant here is great. Locally made veggies and prompt service, also accepts credit cards. Tip: sit outside in the back with a view of the mountains and next to their garden. I had the alpaca steak and the the fermented bean salad - both delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank readingonlyhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,630)
There are newer reviews for El Albergue Ollantaytambo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

This place is a little bit of paradise, beautiful gardens, great rooms and lovely staff. Due to some confusion at the train, I nearly lost my day at Machu Picchu. With the professional and attentive care of Natalia in reception, the problem was quickly addressed and she helped me get another train ticket. All the staff are wonderful. The restaurant is also amazing. Don't miss this charming gem.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EncantoSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

My friend and stayed 2 nights at this beautiful hotel. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcomed. We stayed in room 7. The room was clean and spacious. We ate at the restaurant both nights; the food was delicious and served creatively, definitely some of the best I've had. The first night, we planned to have dinner but were not aware we had to make a reservation either way the general manager made sure we had a table. Super nice guy. Hotel is conveniently located by the train station which made it easy to get up, dress, have breakfast and walk to the train. On the day we went to Machu Picchu, they prepared two box lunches, we requested that same morning. They got them ready even in the short notice and before our train departed. We loved everything about El Albergue, the staff, the decor, the food but most of all their attentiveness. Highly recommend El Albergue and hope to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luci G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I won't spend a lot of time repeating all the reviews below, they are all correct. It's very convenient, friendly, clean and to top it off, they have an AMAZING restaurant, where we had a superb dinner and listened to a gentleman play Peruvian music on a harp. Really...really cool place. And inexpensive to boot. The only downside is that you start comparing all the future hotels to this place, and they all come up short.

Room Tip: We had a room in the front by the tracks but the noise in the morning wasn't that bad, plus a ve...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just returned from a 3 day stay at El Albergue. Sergio was super helpful in getting us set up ahead of time with transportation and answered all questions (superb English) when we were there. Booking tickets while in the states to Machu Picchu was confusing. We asked Sergio for help when we got there and he noticed that although we had paid for our tickets, we still had no tickets printed out! He did that for us. Thank goodness!!! The hotel is fabulous. Huge room with super comfy bed, clean, simple yet beautiful, HOT water in shower, excellent food, adorable café, quiet and lovely gardens. It is like a secret hideaway behind the train station. The rooms look exactly as you see the pics on their website. I saw the most vibrant colored and huge hummingbird in their gardens. Internet was good in the room and café. We went to happy hour each day (2 for 1 Pisco Sours). Yummy! Such a great location for a hotel...at the train station so you can roll out of bed to get your train to MP in the early am. Don't worry about noise. It is not an issue. Excellent and comfortable. Don't rush your stay here. You can sit back and enjoy this place.

Room Tip: My room was on the bottom floor. Garden view. I loved it. Opened one shutter in the morning to se...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BonnieKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I am currently living in Cusco, Peru but this past weekend my friend and I visited Ollantaytambo. We didn't know what to expect exactly, but we were beyond pleasantly surprised! We arrived only having plans for where we would stay Friday (a different hotel in town). Upon arriving we immediately dropped our bags and set out to explore. We would have never found El Albergue if it wasn't for our encounter with the hotel's restaurant manager (Christian)- walking through town with a precious baby kitten we immediately flocked to him. We sparked conversation once we realized two things: he was from Ollantaytambo AND he spoke perfect English. He was very polite and provided us with countless pointers for what to do. He subtly mentioned the name of the hotel/restaurant, and then we parted ways. We saw him later that evening as we were walking to the restaurant for dinner. He spotted us, walked us to the restaurant to make sure we were seated, and helped us book a room at the hotel for the following night. The food was incredible the night and we couldn't wait to come back the next day.

El Albergue is located next to the train station and the sounds of the trains coming and going is quite picturesque. The property is filled with countless gorgeous flowers and trees (and there is a stream-like creek running throughout the grounds) creating a very peaceful and serene vibe. The rooms are the best I've stayed in yet. Amazing decor, very comfortable beds with duvet comforters, great water pressure, closets with hangers, and a safe. Also, the entire property has free Wifi.

The staff made the experience even better. They were kind, outgoing, and beyond accommodating. Christian (the restaurant manager that I mentioned earlier) took us on a tour of the restaurant's farm so we got to see where all of the fresh vegetables and meats come from. It was amazing!

We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had the best stay at El Albergue last weekend. Great rooms, great service, and AMAZING food. We loved every second of it. And all for a great price. The restaurant manager (Christian) made our weekend in Ollantaytambo unforgettable! He took us on a private tour of the hotel restaurant's farm and gave us great recommendations for our stay in Peru. I will definitely be coming back to El Albergue. Cannot give it enough praise!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
185 reviews
18.9 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £70 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing