We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent two nights, and were so happy to be there! The decor was artsy and charming. The beds were comfortable and immaculate. The restaurant was one of the best we had on our trip, and prices were reasonable. Sergio and Natalie were especially helpful, answering many emails, storing our luggage, helping sort out a problem with a double booking, and just being cheerful and making you feel so welcome and at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,030
    371
    82
    43
    13
See reviews for
358
762
79
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent one night in this quaint hotel on our way back from Machu Picchu. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the room could not be beat for tranquility and comfort. The only reproach I have is that the excellent restaurant fell a bit short during breakfast. Other than that it was perfect.

Room Tip: We had room number 14 at the end of the garden. Very quite and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sierratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved it. Our room had a veranda where we were able to sit and catch the last of the day's sun (and see a humming bird). All the hotel staff were helpful and polite, in particular Sergio and Natalie. Sergio was extremely helpful sorting out transport and tickets for us. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was absolutely delicious made with really fresh ingredients. We ate in the restaurant one night too and that was excellent. The cheesecake is to die for.

Room Tip: Ask for room 15 or 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshires, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

If you want a cookie cutter tourist hotel where every room is identical and there are no surprises, this is not your kind of place. El Alberge is a wonderfully unique spot with only 16 rooms around a lush garden with cats and hummingbirds hiding from guests (until the evening when a cat will find you for your warm lap if you are sitting outside.) Our two nights were wonderful. It was my favorite of the half dozen hotels we stayed in around Peru.

It is rustic but very well maintained. Our room was a little chilly at night but there was a portable heater as well as a cozy bed. The restaurant is small with a limited menu but excellent all the same. (Tacu tacu for breakfast. Yum) The coffee shop right on the tracks is a great place for a snack. The staff is gracious and helpful. The main part of town is a 5 minute walk or a super quick and cheap mototaxi ride away. There is a small market just outside the train station gates with plenty of decent food and touristy stuff, as well.

And when it comes time to catch your train, you are literally right there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AverageTraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Friendly people. lovely organic Peruvian food. Great for getting on train to Manchu Picchu! Sounds of tooting trains every hour in daytime but not intrusive. Really magical place. And short walk to Inca ruins

Room Tip: Ask for garden room. Must book for evening meal as only small restaurant
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
364 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here for one night - could have easily stayed longer. Great prices and food. If you plan to catch early train - this is the place to stay. Just walk out your door and board the train. Food is excellent - breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rooms are quiet and clean. Could use a little more water pressure - but it is still acceptable. Our room did not have a tv - which was fine with us. Good internet. If you want to walk to town - it is about 10 minutes - but flat and along the river. Gives you a authentic peru experience.

Room Tip: Get a balcony facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoscratchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Boothbay, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We loved this little hotel! The entire staff was generous and welcoming. Our 2nd floor room overlooked lush gardens and Inca ruins in the distance. The restaurant and cafe meals were very good. The only negative is that the diesel fumes from the trains often waft into the restaurant and cafe. Unless you have extreme sensitivity to these fumes, I wouldn't let that stop you from staying here. Because of a national labor strike during the time we were there, we had to extend our stay two additional nights--how fortunate for us!

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor room with balcony/deck overlooking Andes. Breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aquamarine07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#10 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing