We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay and relax for our visit to Machu Picchu. We spent 3 nights here and loved every minute of it! The grounds are exquisite gardens that wrap around this building originally built in 1925 with an addition later added. All of the staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly. Our room was immaculate with a rustic feel of a mountain retreat. Best of all, we always had plenty of hot water and great towels. Our view from the second floor (#15) looked out toward snow covered mountains....it was magical.

Every morning the included breakfast couldn't have been more generous....omlettes, eggs cooked to order, French toast, pancakes, homemade bread, fruits, cereals, juices, coffees and more!

They also have an organic farm next door so freshness is insured and it was! This place was great.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Condocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

I spent two nights at El Albergue as part of my trip to Machu Picchu. The inn is located right on the train station platform and about 15 minutes by foot from Ollantaytambo village.
Initially, I had trouble finding the entrance as it is not marked very well, but entering any door will bring you to the inn regardless. Tip: it is the first door to your right after entering the train station through the metal gates.
My room was located at the back of the property and had a view of the lovely orchid garden. Everything was fresh and green during my stay in April. From early morning until late evening you could hear the wistle of the trains, but that did not bother me.
The staff was very helpful with pointing out eateries and setting up a taxi with driver for my trip back to Cusco Airport ($50).
Breakfast, lunch and dinner is served in a small room adjacent the inn and can accommodate only so many people. Thus, dinner reservation are required. The only "bad" thing about my stay was the breakfast. A selection of fruits and cereal with eggs cooked to order is too minimalist for my taste and certainly not enough for a days' hike to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dieuwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Located steps from the train platform, this is a comfortable and well located hotel to base out of in the Sacred Valley before visiting MP. Rooms are very comfortable, restaurant is excellent and staff friendly. Stayed here three nights and found enough to do in the immediate environs to keep busy for two days before heading to MP. Left our main luggage here and then picked it up a day later on returning to Cusco. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A really lovely hotel and right on the platform. Just right for the early start to Macchu Picchu.
The hotel has its own organic small holding and we were shown round by a really helpful member of staff. The food in the restaurant was very reasonable, different and really tasty. Well worth eating there if you're not staying at the hotel. Reserve a table.

The rooms were very comfortable (a great view of the mountains going up to MP from our one)

It can be a bit noisy with the trains trundling in and out but what do you expect at a station with tourists moving about. The last train seemed to be about 11:00 but they are off early in the morning (5:30).

Room Tip: Upstairs towards the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polybin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely albergue-countryside interior yet elegant and 100% genuine feeling. Good service, lovely rooms (mine was facing a quiet field).
Charming restaurant with an entertaining argentinian waiter. Amazing quisine- organic veggies and great pisco sours-of course!

Do your selfes a favour and stay there. Have a glass of whine and watch the old trains outside the restaurant.

I'm definitely going back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Gabriella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The best hotel in Ollantaytambo. The restaurant inside the hotel is amazing. The breakfast was delicious and included. The location is perfect. It's right on the train platform. Very convenient if you're taking the train to Aguas Calientes to go to Macchu Picchu. Excellent service. My only complaint is that it can get noisy. Ask for a room on the second floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariselnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent two nights, and were so happy to be there! The decor was artsy and charming. The beds were comfortable and immaculate. The restaurant was one of the best we had on our trip, and prices were reasonable. Sergio and Natalie were especially helpful, answering many emails, storing our luggage, helping sort out a problem with a double booking, and just being cheerful and making you feel so welcome and at home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
199 reviews
10.8 mi away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £67 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing