We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
170 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

As quality hotels in Aguas Calientes seemed to be extremely pricey we have chosen Ollantaytambo to be our base to "conquer" MAPI. Spent the night here before and after our trip.
This hotel is conveniently located literally on the train station which added a lot to our experience. We boarded in a minute after finishing our tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monaHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    365
    80
    43
    13
See reviews for
349
748
80
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have nothing but good things to say about this place. First off, the communication with them was excellent and they answered any and all questions we had prior to our stay. They allowed us to store our luggage with them for a few days while we went to Machu Picchu. No problem. The food at this restaurant was the best of the whole trip. Tons of vegetarian options! We had breakfast, lunch and dinner here. All of them were excellent. The hotel utilizes two inca terraces, next door, to farm all their own organic vegetables and quinoa. They proudly gave me a tour of this farm which I recommend!
The rooms were very charming. The beds were comfy which was a plus after all the hiking we had been doing. The stone floor in the bathroom was heated and the hot water was generated by solar.
An excellent value that I would recommend for anyone staying in Ollantaytambo. We asked for a room in the back as noted in prior reviews, as the property is located in and next to the train station. I did not hear any trains and slept the whole night trough. We were pretty tired at this point in our journey though. Also, the hotel is about 800m downhill from the Plaza. A slight hike up after we had been trekking all week but no biggie.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phishow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Valley,Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The comfort you have from the very first connection to El Albergue starts when you contact them to place a reservation. Natalia helped me with the specifics on getting train tickets and took care of the admittance tickets. She was always available for questions (Skype works perfect) and responded to e-mails immediately. They arranged a pick-up at the airport and answered all questions. I had no concerns about having everything in order.
Mario (manager of the kitchen) was so helpful with suggestions and took us on the fabulous garden tour. He was always stopping by our table and giving us great information and insight to the area.
Christian (the hotel manager) was hands on and told us about things like the shortcut to town (quiet walkway avoiding cars and going past other farms) making the distance quick and interesting.
The restaurant is the best in the area and we ate all our meals there in our 5 night stay. Breakfast which is included in the daily price was fresh juices ,fruit, granola ,etc. and a large selection of freshly cooked eggs, bacon, French toast and many local specialties.
The pastas are homemade and delicious-my favorites are the spinach with 4 cheese sauce and the red pepper pasta with onions, peppers etc. You always get a special little treat as an appetizer that is delicious.
We had room #16 and it was set in a gorgeous setting with the balcony overlooking the mountains and gardens.
We hired a driver (Diademontes) through Natalia for a day and went to Salinas,Moray,Maras,Pisac Market and Ruins for the day. It was fabuous! Don't miss the panaderia across from the market with the oven baked empanadas and fresh made pineapple juice. What a treat.
For one sole (about 35 cents) you can take a little motor car ride to town.
Ollantaytambo Ruins are a must and get you ready for Machu Picchu.
Cocoa tea does help to get acclimated. We did not take any meds to help with the altitude and had no major problems. Just get a little winded at first. We stayed in Ollantaytambo for 5 nights and traveled from there and then 5 nights in Cusco (magical place) and on to Lima for a day.
We just returned and would highly recommend this trip to anyone! WE are in our 60's and had a fabulous time and always felt safe and comfortable. Hope you can go.

Room Tip: Back rooms -2nd floor. We had #16 which was wonderful and I think #15 was next to ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I must say, I am a very critical reviewer but this quaint and lovely guesthouse really made the cut!
It's one of the most fantastic places I've ever stayed. The staff are very wonderful, attentive and really friendly. They got on well with my baby, going to the extent of making baby food and even feeding him while we ate our meal - now that's service! The room has character and even though it is a railway station hotel, the noise wasn't too bad. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the pictures of photographs on the walls of the place in the 1970s was informative and interesting!
What's good is that, the reservations desk was very accommodating, the left luggage system was great and it was a pleasant stay. The fact that they didn't have a swimming pool, spa or any gym didn't matter - we loved it. Food was organic, fresh produce straight from the garden and delicious! The Andean harp player provided fantastic music and all the guests were naturally friendly and happy.
I would stay at El Alberque again because of its lovely character and great service! The staff should be commended!

Room Tip: All rooms have character but you can't escape the noise of the railway track from any room reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilmadole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

After the urban intensity of Cusco, we found the contrast of a quiet and verdant green old inn totally charming and relaxing. All the simple rooms are situated around a very lush garden that has hummingbirds buzzing about the flowers and water running around narrow channels edging the plantings. The entrance to the inn is through the train station but the trains are not disturbing and don't run late at night. It also made for an easy transition from hotel room to train early in the morning to catch our train to Aguas Calientes. The staff are very helpful and arranged a driver to explore Pisac market and ruins for the day. The food must be the best in town and after trying lunch in the Plaza we decided to eat all our meals at the inn. They grow their own veggies to supply the kitchen. I had excellent quinoa salads and trout cerviche. The golden berry jam at breakfast is homemade and fabulous. Don't eat anywhere else!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a night. The location is quite novel, given it is right on the platform of a train station.

The rooms are well equipped ( Do not expect TV and other modern facilities). The bed was very comfortable.

The restaurant attached to the hotel serves very good food. We liked the Quinoa soup very much. However, it is pricey too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYatri2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Wonderful hotel, restaurant, and service. Room #13 was lovely! I highly recommend the 1/2 day tour from Cusco to Olly and the 1/2 day tour from Olly back to Cusco - great way to see Pisac, Maras, Moray, and Salinas. We loved our driver Eloy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JSeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing