We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel prior to catching a train to Machu Picchu. The rooms are located in a beautiful garden. They were clean and the beds very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was delicious! It is very conveniently located when you need to catch an early morning train too - it is in the train station! Plus, it's easy to walk or catch a tuk tuk to the center of town for your planned activities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    365
    80
    43
    13
See reviews for
349
748
80
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We enjoyed staying at this hotel as the staff were so nice and helpful. The room was large and clean with a small space heater when the nights were cold. I love the fact that all we had to do was step out of the hotel to meet the train for Machu Picchu. A big plus was the food. There wasn't a thing presented that wasn't delicious. Most of vegetables, etc come from their farm. Just watch out for the shower as the hot and cold water can be quite tricky. The hotel can also arrange for a massage in your room.

Room Tip: The sauna wasn't working and there was no tv. Internet worked well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaGrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is the BEST place to stay in Ollantaytambo!!!! Not only is the location perfect (it's in the train station), the rooms very clean and comfortable, but the FOOD is the best! No worries here about eating fresh veggies or if they washed they washed the veggies in clean water. These guys even make fresh made pasta daily, have their own organic farm/garden, and the food is all at a reasonable price. Even after a long day at Machu Picchu and taking the train back at night, we refrained from eating anything after 3pm until we could sit back in their dining room and eat dinner here because we knew it would be anything better than a granola bar or snack we would have had. We had lunch there one day so we knew what dinner would be like . . . awesome! The first meal I had was a garden salad which was piled really high and it all tasted so good. The quinoa veggie soup and veggie pastas were also excellent. Our tummies were so happy.

The morning breakfast which is included with your stay is also excellent because there's a spread of stuff you can eat (fruits, beverages), you get to choose an entree from about 6 options and they cook it to order so it's fresh.

The room we stayed in was big, well lit, clean, and the beds were clean. The bathroom was a little old but we didn't mind. If you are staying here or have a couple hours to kill in this town, please make your tummies happy and at least have a meal here if not also stay here. The room rates were very reasonable, under $100 a night. And there's a filtered water station where you put some coins into the box to fill your bottles up. I LOVED this place. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
170 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

As quality hotels in Aguas Calientes seemed to be extremely pricey we have chosen Ollantaytambo to be our base to "conquer" MAPI. Spent the night here before and after our trip.
This hotel is conveniently located literally on the train station which added a lot to our experience. We boarded in a minute after finishing our tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monaHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have nothing but good things to say about this place. First off, the communication with them was excellent and they answered any and all questions we had prior to our stay. They allowed us to store our luggage with them for a few days while we went to Machu Picchu. No problem. The food at this restaurant was the best of the whole trip. Tons of vegetarian options! We had breakfast, lunch and dinner here. All of them were excellent. The hotel utilizes two inca terraces, next door, to farm all their own organic vegetables and quinoa. They proudly gave me a tour of this farm which I recommend!
The rooms were very charming. The beds were comfy which was a plus after all the hiking we had been doing. The stone floor in the bathroom was heated and the hot water was generated by solar.
An excellent value that I would recommend for anyone staying in Ollantaytambo. We asked for a room in the back as noted in prior reviews, as the property is located in and next to the train station. I did not hear any trains and slept the whole night trough. We were pretty tired at this point in our journey though. Also, the hotel is about 800m downhill from the Plaza. A slight hike up after we had been trekking all week but no biggie.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phishow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Valley,Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The comfort you have from the very first connection to El Albergue starts when you contact them to place a reservation. Natalia helped me with the specifics on getting train tickets and took care of the admittance tickets. She was always available for questions (Skype works perfect) and responded to e-mails immediately. They arranged a pick-up at the airport and answered all questions. I had no concerns about having everything in order.
Mario (manager of the kitchen) was so helpful with suggestions and took us on the fabulous garden tour. He was always stopping by our table and giving us great information and insight to the area.
Christian (the hotel manager) was hands on and told us about things like the shortcut to town (quiet walkway avoiding cars and going past other farms) making the distance quick and interesting.
The restaurant is the best in the area and we ate all our meals there in our 5 night stay. Breakfast which is included in the daily price was fresh juices ,fruit, granola ,etc. and a large selection of freshly cooked eggs, bacon, French toast and many local specialties.
The pastas are homemade and delicious-my favorites are the spinach with 4 cheese sauce and the red pepper pasta with onions, peppers etc. You always get a special little treat as an appetizer that is delicious.
We had room #16 and it was set in a gorgeous setting with the balcony overlooking the mountains and gardens.
We hired a driver (Diademontes) through Natalia for a day and went to Salinas,Moray,Maras,Pisac Market and Ruins for the day. It was fabuous! Don't miss the panaderia across from the market with the oven baked empanadas and fresh made pineapple juice. What a treat.
For one sole (about 35 cents) you can take a little motor car ride to town.
Ollantaytambo Ruins are a must and get you ready for Machu Picchu.
Cocoa tea does help to get acclimated. We did not take any meds to help with the altitude and had no major problems. Just get a little winded at first. We stayed in Ollantaytambo for 5 nights and traveled from there and then 5 nights in Cusco (magical place) and on to Lima for a day.
We just returned and would highly recommend this trip to anyone! WE are in our 60's and had a fabulous time and always felt safe and comfortable. Hope you can go.

Room Tip: Back rooms -2nd floor. We had #16 which was wonderful and I think #15 was next to ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I must say, I am a very critical reviewer but this quaint and lovely guesthouse really made the cut!
It's one of the most fantastic places I've ever stayed. The staff are very wonderful, attentive and really friendly. They got on well with my baby, going to the extent of making baby food and even feeding him while we ate our meal - now that's service! The room has character and even though it is a railway station hotel, the noise wasn't too bad. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the pictures of photographs on the walls of the place in the 1970s was informative and interesting!
What's good is that, the reservations desk was very accommodating, the left luggage system was great and it was a pleasant stay. The fact that they didn't have a swimming pool, spa or any gym didn't matter - we loved it. Food was organic, fresh produce straight from the garden and delicious! The Andean harp player provided fantastic music and all the guests were naturally friendly and happy.
I would stay at El Alberque again because of its lovely character and great service! The staff should be commended!

Room Tip: All rooms have character but you can't escape the noise of the railway track from any room reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilmadole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing