We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch Out for Hidden Fees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lubbock, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Watch Out for Hidden Fees”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The location for this hotel is great and the room is very nice (aside from the lack of hot water in the solar heated rooms), but what bugs me were the fees. There is a 10% service fee which isn't fully disclosed when booking the room, which is the first thing. Then, when checking out, I was informed that they could only charge credit cards in the Peruvian currency even though I was given a rate in USD. No big deal, but then they tried to use THEIR exchange rate in converting USD to PEN when charging my credit card, not the bank exchange rate. Nowhere was any of this disclosed. I had to argue with several people until they finally backed off and used the daily bank exchange rate. I think the hotel overall was nice, but I don't appreciate being financially ripped off.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank timothy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian_Arteaga, Gerente at El Albergue Ollantaytambo, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Timothy,


We are glad you liked your room and the location of the hotel. Regarding your complaint about hidden fees, I'm very surprised as the only additional fee that we have is a 10% gratuity or tip, which is clearly stated in our hotel reservation policy which you agreed to at the moment you made your reservation.


As to the exchange rate, VISA does not allow us to charge in dollars hence we must make a charge in soles, bank and street exchange rates fluctuate regularly in Peru, we work with a fixed monthly exchange rate which is published at our Front Desk.


We are sorry you are not satisfied with this aspect of our hotel, however, we wish your review would reflect all the elements of your experience with us.


Kind Regards,


Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,059
    383
    83
    44
    13
See reviews for
373
778
81
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I could have spit on top of the train out the window of my room. This is actually a GOOD thing! El Albergue had all the atmosphere and was exactly what I was hoping for! I had a wonderful view of the train station activity as the trains passed right below my room. The room was large and very clean but being located in an old train station was what drew me to want to stay here.
I liked not having to get up extra early to get to the train station, because I was already there! The food was also really good at El Albergue. I would definitely stay here again! It's everything I was hoping it would be!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmensol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horseheads, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My fiance and I had the pleasure of staying with the El Albergue on our honeymoon to Peru. The staff was friendly, helpful and seemed to anticipate our every need. We were lucky enough to meet the owner's son Joakim, who gave us day-hike suggestions and also a wonderful glass of pomegranate infused champagne on the house. As for the room, keep in mind this is an older building full of squeaky floorboards and historic charm, despite the rustic nature this was one of our favorite hotels along our journey. The room was clean, spacious and the king bed was a welcome site after trekking up Macchu Picchu Mountain. I almost forgot to mention, the restaurant is incredible. If you stay here look no further for food! Reserve a table for dinner and sit back and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just spent the night at El Albergue on the way to Machu Pichu. Rooms are very nice and the food is excellent. We were fortunate enough to be there when the owner was there and as a result managed to tour the garden where the hotel raises much of its food. A really enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at El Allbergue in Ollantaybambo Peru. In our way to Macchu Pichu the hotel is conveniently located at the train station. Either you go for the inka trail hikes or direct to Macchu Pichu the trains will take you there. The hotel offers the most amazing views so when you wake up n the morning step out of the balcony and look around surrounded by great views of the mountains and cover with the glaziers. And very close to the Ollantaytambo forte. Which is another great attraction nearby. The hotel offers very good food at their own restaurant, just be sure you make your reservations when you check in to stay at El Albergue.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay at El Albergue, request the rooms in the back and on the second floor. They of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis-Alberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Family get away--5 adults and 2 rooms. The entire space was wonderful, which included a very nice restaurant and garden. Being the old train station not only added a ton of character, it also makes train travel super easy, especially when making the 5:07am train to Aqua Caliente for the Machu Picchu excursion.

Most staff spoke English which was a nice added bonus (never expected) and were all extremely helpful! And the drink specials were nice :-)

Room Tip: In order to find the hotel, you must follow the road all the way to the bottom of the street where y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaret river, western australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and it was absolutely wonderful. The hotel IS situated right on the train line to Machu Picchu but that is the fun of it. We spent hours watching the trains come and go ( as we acclimatised to the altitude). The restaurant is quaint and the food is ten out of ten. The staff were very friendly and looked after us.
We had room 1 in the old part of the building not far from the train line but it didn't disturb us. The walls are thick and noise is kept to a minimum. Our room had huge wooden beams , wooden floorboards, old period style shutters and a small but very usable bathroom. The views from the balcony at the back of the building are amazing. The gardens are lovely with more rooms out the back.
The hotel has it's own organic vegetable garden/farm and you are envied to visit it. We didn't have time but would like to have done so.
Would highly recommend staying here for the experience and to enjoy the gorgeous little village of Ollantaytambo.
We caught the train from here to Aguas Calientes and it was so convenient to just step outside the hotel onto the platform.

Room Tip: Maybe a room out the back in the garden would be best away from the train line, but room 1 was OK fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mildenfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
168 reviews
18.9 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing