We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights and wished we could have stayed many more. The staff was friendly and helpful; the room and gardens were beautiful; and the food was superb! They are ecologically minded with an organic farm which supplies the restaurant. A school is run by this group and they provide education for the children of the area. We highly recommend El Albergue as a wonderful respite in a great location!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOEC542014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,057
    381
    83
    44
    13
See reviews for
371
778
81
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SG
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Though we didn't stay overnight (on hindsight we wished we did), we enjoyed our dinner at this popular charismatic restaurant.

As the place wasn't big, it would be best to book a table as they always seem to run full.

Orders and bills can take a while, and you can use this time to chill and take in the atmosphere, candlelight and people-watch.

Nice place to relax and chat over delicious chicha morada.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orbidtank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Booked here by my tour company. Interesting location at least partly in a converted train station (the rooms were in separate buildings out back). It's a small town, so maybe 5 minute walk to the epicenter of town, 10 to the ruins. I liked the vibe -- a bit funky and environmentally conscious. Enjoyed the people staying here, too. I had a great dinner watching the evening trains go through. The bed was nice, slept well. The trains can be heard, but I don't think there was much traffic after 10, maybe one at 5 am. There wasma bit of an ant infestation in my shower in the morning, but no worries. I would stay there with the family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leroi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We only stayed here for one night, I wish it had been more.
It's a sea of tranquility yet on the platform of the train station!
Our room was in a beautiful courtyard with fantastic plants, including beautiful Cannas - these attracted a hummingbird which my husband and i sat watching and filming for ages - from outside our room!
The view from the gardens was superb - some of the ruins, snow capped mountains and palm trees.
The rooms themselves were lovely - very comfortable bed - no TV which was nice but Wifi was available if you had to be in the electronic age. The bathroom was clean and had everything you needed.
We had cocktails in the bar - which is actually on the station platform - wonderfully quaint and great to watch the last weary travellers finding their way back. There was also a blind harpist playing - he was excellent - such a nice change from pan-pipes (make sure you give him a tip).
We had dinner with friends that evening and the food and the ambience was excellent - why try finding something in town when there was great food in the hotel?
The one thing that could be improved was the breakfast - we were catching one of the first trains out in order to do the one-day Inca trail. The problem was, they only opened for breakfast 15 mins before we had to leave. This led to a very rushed breakfast and I didn't get to eat as much as I would have liked before a strenous day. If they opened 15 mins earlier, it would have made all the difference.
Also a tip - in the foyer they sell wool-felt hat (bit like Indiana Jones) they were only £10. My husband umm'd and ahh'd then didn't buy one - he now regrets it. they were so cheap but well made - bargain.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LockyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Loved staying at the Albergue! Nice big room, good bed, nice ambiance. Colonial style and atmosphere. Most kind staff. Asked when booking a quiet room, which we got, in the garden, and the ever passing trains from early morning were no nuisance. Our shower gave hot water, but was not the best shower I had...that might be the only negative point.
The restaurant is just great! Must be the best in Ollanta. Good food, ambiance and staff. Breakfast in the morning also perfect! you get to choose from a menu, and they offered my favourite french toast :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the garden. Is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liesenrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The El Alburgue is perfect if you like convenience. It's located right on the train platform that leaves for Machu Picchu. It's a rustic hotel that has a friendly and helpful staff. Our room was in the back and had a gorgeous view of the surrounding mountains. Our front window overlooked the train tracks.The food was tasty, and the service was good. The only potential turnoff could be the trains. If you want to get to bed early, and you're a light sleeper, they could present a problem. Otherwise, it's a great place to stay. I'm glad we stayed here

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoePMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord ma
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We reached El Albergue at the end of a long day in time for dinner at the restaurant. Wonderful dinner! We slept in rooms 1 and 2. Mattresses firm, rooms spacious, a little bit of a rustic feel, most welcome.

View of distant glacier from the balcony in the morning was breath taking. Breakfast was great - I had the Tacu-Tacu. We enjoyed a quick tour of the organic garden before departing.

We found the staff to be helpful, accommodating, and friendly, and they work v e r y hard.

Lots to see in Ollantaytambo, both in the town (the Incan part of the town) and above (the granaries, the temple). We met a terrific local guide, Juan Carlos Huillca Rios (not connected with El Albergue), as we started our climb to the granaries and spent the day with him - we very much enjoyed his style and passion.

Terrific to go back to El Albergue at day's end.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NickMiller_Clarity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
168 reviews
18.9 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing