We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine, friendly, relaxing great wood-fired sauna & good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
vestal, new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine, friendly, relaxing great wood-fired sauna & good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

Right at the train station, but in walking distance of all local sites. Good staff, fine room. The wood fired sauna was a quaint extra, and the inner courtyard garden quite amazing

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ourgardenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    358
    79
    41
    13
See reviews for
341
740
79
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

After reading reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to use Ollantaytambo as our base in the Sacred Valley. We had a wonderful time, the service was fantastic, our room was comfortable and clean, and the location was terrific! Unfortunately there was an agriculture strike while we were there. The staff helped us rearrange our travel plans to make sure we could get to Cusco before the strike. We stayed a couple of days longer in Cusco than planned so we could catch our flight to Quito on time. I can't say enough great things about the El Albergue manager who stayed late calling and rearranging our hotels in Aguas Calientes and Cusco, and rushed our laundry order since we had to leave earlier than planned. She continued to work on rearranging our trip even after she went home for the evening. Now that is excellent service! We also met one of the owners, he road the van with us to Cusco so he could get there before the strike too, since he had to catch a flight to Lima (very nice guy!). We had a great time in Ollantaytambo, we wil definitely return and stay at El Albergue!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtwgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

My wife and I stayed at the El Albergue for four nights recently, a good location to serve as a base to explore the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. The staff was friendly and most helpful, providing great recommendations for hiking excursions and advice on area sights. Our simple room overlooked the lush courtyard and came complete with views of the Fortress on the mountain. The room had a small but adequate bath and all was clean and well-kept. We chose to eat almost every meal in the hotel’s dining room where excellent food was served by friendly staff on tables set with white linen tablecloths. The activity at the train station outside only added to the charm (the sound from the trains was surprisingly minimal). We would, without a doubt, stay here again if we have the opportunity and would not hesitate to recommend it to all.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longhorn79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cusco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

I have now stayed in El Albergue on a few occasions and have always thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The rooms are simple and stylish (I love the sheets!) and the gardens are perfect for lounging around reading and enjoying the spectacular views. The staff have always been friendly and very helpful. A beautiful place to stay for a few days to relax and explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank picarrones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

We stayed here two nights, and loved it! Our room was clean and comfortable and from our window we could look over the beautiful courtyard and see ruins in the distance. The trains never bothered us, in fact I loved seeing the train sitting feet from the door when eating in the restaurant and it was great to be so close when we had a 5:10am train to Machu Picchu. Speaking of the restaurant, it's amazing!

The staff were great! We were able to get laundry done, and they set us up with a driver to see some of the Sacred Valley sights. They also had bottled water available for free (to reduce landfill waste, they give glass bottles in the rooms and have an office-type tank in the lobby for you to fill your own bottles). We needed a heater for the room but it was free and worked well. The bathroom had plenty of hot water which was great.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33_nic_abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

This auberge was really great. It was tastefully appointed in simple austere decor (Peruvian shaker) . The staff were friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was delicious and, overall I felt very welcomed here. The surrounding grounds were peaceful and a great place to relax in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape cod, ma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

Lovely little hotel right on the train platform. Very quiet (don't hear the trains practically at all), surrounded by wonderful views of the mountains and the ruins. Spacious gardens great for relaxing and watching the hummingbirds. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very good. Free wifi, laundry service available, secure luggage storage. Convient to the train (obviously) but a bit of a walk into town. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pakaritampu
Pakaritampu
#3 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing