We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The perfect country inn in the Urubamba Valley"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 February 2010

I have been staying at the Albergue off and on since 1982, and it just keeps getting better. I have worked as an adventure travel guide in the Cusco, Peru region since that time, and I can honestly say that the Albergue is unique compared to all the other many hotels and hostals that have sprung up in the Urubamba Valley over the years. What makes it special is its "rustic perfection" as one local newspaper stated. The Albergue has a very comfortable, homey atmosphere, with lovely gardens and quiet outdoors, and is built out of local materials to give it the natural, country-Peru feeling. That is the rustic part. The "perfection" part is that every single detail is attended to: everything is very clean and completely works (as opposed to a "rustic" that implies lack of hygiene, run-down aspects and things that don't work). The Albergue is neatly organized, in good repair, clean, water supplied in rooms, hot water that works, etc. In addition, the bilingual staff is friendly and helpful with information about what to do, where to go, etc. It is a place with a lot of history, having been passed from mother to son. If the walls could speak, the stories and adventures would be fantastic, again singling this place out from the newer, more generic places in the valley. Oh, and the new dining room! Wow, with first-class food and varied choice on the menu. And, like my sister says, "the best brownie sundaes in the whole world!" To die for.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyCuscoPeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,626)
There are newer reviews for El Albergue Ollantaytambo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,310 - 1,316 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2010

Right at the train station, but in walking distance of all local sites. Good staff, fine room. The wood fired sauna was a quaint extra, and the inner courtyard garden quite amazing

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourgardenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

After reading reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to use Ollantaytambo as our base in the Sacred Valley. We had a wonderful time, the service was fantastic, our room was comfortable and clean, and the location was terrific! Unfortunately there was an agriculture strike while we were there. The staff helped us rearrange our travel plans to make sure we could get to Cusco before the strike. We stayed a couple of days longer in Cusco than planned so we could catch our flight to Quito on time. I can't say enough great things about the El Albergue manager who stayed late calling and rearranging our hotels in Aguas Calientes and Cusco, and rushed our laundry order since we had to leave earlier than planned. She continued to work on rearranging our trip even after she went home for the evening. Now that is excellent service! We also met one of the owners, he road the van with us to Cusco so he could get there before the strike too, since he had to catch a flight to Lima (very nice guy!). We had a great time in Ollantaytambo, we wil definitely return and stay at El Albergue!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rtwgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

My wife and I stayed at the El Albergue for four nights recently, a good location to serve as a base to explore the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. The staff was friendly and most helpful, providing great recommendations for hiking excursions and advice on area sights. Our simple room overlooked the lush courtyard and came complete with views of the Fortress on the mountain. The room had a small but adequate bath and all was clean and well-kept. We chose to eat almost every meal in the hotel’s dining room where excellent food was served by friendly staff on tables set with white linen tablecloths. The activity at the train station outside only added to the charm (the sound from the trains was surprisingly minimal). We would, without a doubt, stay here again if we have the opportunity and would not hesitate to recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longhorn79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

I have now stayed in El Albergue on a few occasions and have always thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The rooms are simple and stylish (I love the sheets!) and the gardens are perfect for lounging around reading and enjoying the spectacular views. The staff have always been friendly and very helpful. A beautiful place to stay for a few days to relax and explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picarrones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We stayed here two nights, and loved it! Our room was clean and comfortable and from our window we could look over the beautiful courtyard and see ruins in the distance. The trains never bothered us, in fact I loved seeing the train sitting feet from the door when eating in the restaurant and it was great to be so close when we had a 5:10am train to Machu Picchu. Speaking of the restaurant, it's amazing!

The staff were great! We were able to get laundry done, and they set us up with a driver to see some of the Sacred Valley sights. They also had bottled water available for free (to reduce landfill waste, they give glass bottles in the rooms and have an office-type tank in the lobby for you to fill your own bottles). We needed a heater for the room but it was free and worked well. The bathroom had plenty of hot water which was great.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 33_nic_abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

This auberge was really great. It was tastefully appointed in simple austere decor (Peruvian shaker) . The staff were friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was delicious and, overall I felt very welcomed here. The surrounding grounds were peaceful and a great place to relax in the evening.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burnzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
183 reviews
18.9 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £75 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing