We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place full of character and with a great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kinnelon, NJ
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A place full of character and with a great staff”
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed here 2 nights last week (had wanted to stay 3, but it was booked). If you plan on spending some time in Ollantaytambo - - certainly recommended; it's a great village and warrants more than a 1-day tour - - this is the place to use as your home base.
It's not big and not for anyone looking for 'plush' surroundings. Think of history, character, warm woods: a simple small country inn with a phenomenal staff that help make your stay (thank you Sergio, Lluc and all others)! The rooms are simple and comfortable, tastefully decorated and full of character; the 2nd floor balcony overlooks a lovely small garden. The cozy dining room serves a hearty breakfast and wonderful and imaginative dinners. We were sad to have to leave and spend our 3rd night in Ollantaytambi in another hotel. If you can - stay here! This is truly a unique property, both in terms of the staff as well as the feeling of the place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltroel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    371
    82
    43
    13
See reviews for
358
760
79
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2010

This hotel was probably the most charming hotel I have ever stayed at. The rooms were good. The food was good and the service excellent, also if you are in Ollantaytambo this place is a must!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsyIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2010

My husband and I can not say enough wonderful thimgs about our stay at El Albergue!
From the service that we received when we arrived, from Sergio, the hotel desk clerk, who made sure that our luggage was picked up from our previous hotel after our 4 day trek. The hotel was beautiful and clean! The food was excellant! The service was the best
in every aspect! We would go back in a heartbeat! A must place to stay if you can!!!
We will be back!
.John & Jennifer Tremblay
Clifton Park, NY

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kosmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

The hotel is located directly on the train platform. During our stay there were no trains because the line was still closed after the landslide. But even with trains going, it will probably be as quiet. Its perfect as stopover on your way to Macchu Piccu.
The rooms are simple but nice, the whole atmosphere , especiallly the courtzard,is really beautiful. Breakfast is good, especially the cafe, and the restaurant is excellent and cheap (but kitchen closes at 8.30, so be home early).
Free wireless is available, but no TV.

The

The new rooms should be finished soon, they were still under construction in may.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We stayed one night at El Albergue before starting the 1 day Ica Trail. We enoyed the hotel, the grounds are beautiful. The rooms are well decorated and the bed was comfortable with nice linens. It would have been a more convenient location had the train been running fully when we were there. Due to the Jan. flood you still have to bus to another city to get the train vs. getting it in Ollantaytambo. The restaurant was excellent try the pasta all homemade and excellent. I would recommend this as a place to stay in the sacred valley. Also try the Heart Cafe for excellent food and Coffee.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2141Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

At this time, june 2010, the Ollantaytambo train station in not in service but this would be the best location for a short stay in the city. The hotel in on the train platform meaning one could walk from the train and straight into the hotel. No need for taxi or asking directions, it right there. Now being that the train is not in service meant I hired a taxi from Cuzco to here. I paid 10 soles for a taxi I shared with 3 people from spain. Total travel time 1hour 15 minutes. The taxi dropped us off a gate in the city were the taxis can go no farther. I just asked which way to the train station and I found the hotel in 10minutes just a bit too early for lunch inside the hotel cafe. The kitchen reopened at 100pm and I was there around 115pm to find a large group of hikers, one couple and a retired gentleman from liverpool already inside. I ordered the Trucha a la Plancha( grilled trout). I believe the large group ordered a 2 course lunch. Well with only two people working the kitchen, things took a long time to prepare. The leader of the group started complaining loudly to the cooks and the front desk. This went on and on until the group got up and left the cafe. I had my meal in about hour and 15 minutes. Yes a bit long but, the cooks had much to deal with. After I finish my meal, I ordered the Ice cream and Chocolate brownie. It was so good, great combination. When I received my bill the employee apologized for the wait and didnt charge me for my dessert. I thought that was cool.
The room is nice and clean with hot water and a heater in the room. I didnt need it though, the heater. Im on the hotel wifi as I write this review and I have a very strong signal. however my room is right about the lobby so maybe thats the reason. No TV in the room but everything else I have no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregfdxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2010

The service we experienced at this hotel was perfect. Everyone was so nice and we really felt welcome! The room was really beautiful. The bathroom was really nice and everything was very clean and cozy. The food was delicious! We only got to stay at this hotel for one night, but we went back the 2nd night we were in Ollantaytambo for dinner because it was so good. One of the best parts was the sauna. It was so nice and there was fresh eucalyptus inside. We highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Ollantaytambo!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caseyroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing