We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of most loveliest places we ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of most loveliest places we ever stayed at”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

El Albergue is a true treasure in Ollantaytambo. From the super clean and stylish room to the service and to the fantastic food served in their own restaurant, it was truly one of the highlights in our trip in Peru! After a long day of hiking, there is nothing better than relaxing in the sauna with fresh eucalyptus leaves and then enjoy a delicious meal at the restaurant.
Ollantaytambo is such a lovely village not to be missed and staying at El Albergue, makes it that much more perfect!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THEOUTDOOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,025
    367
    82
    43
    13
See reviews for
355
757
79
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
310 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We were a little leary of staying literally in a train station - thought the noise might be an anoyance. I have to say that once we were in our room the occassional train whistle was all we ever heard. Our room was very comfortable, spacious, great beds and nice bath. The staff was very helpful, heating up the sauna when we asked to use it, storing our excess luggage overnight while we went to Machu Picchu. They even found us a taxi at a good rate to travel back to Cusco. Being right in the train station was a definite bonus when we had to catch the 6am train. Breakfast (included) was great with eggs or pancakes prepared to order as well as selection of fruits, breads, juices etc.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerChicagoarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I happened upon an article on Ollantaytambo and El Albergue as the perfect place to stay and acclimatize to the altitude upon flying in from Lima to Cusco -- and it didn't disappoint. The excellent pick-up service from Cusco puts you instantly at ease without having the hassle of finding a reliable cab, and the friendliness of all the staff, made our stay here an unforgettable start to our vacation. The room decor is minimal but charming, and the attached cozy (gourmet) restaurant was the perfect place to eat and drink while editing photos and going through plans for the next day. As for location for trains it can't be beat. Lastly not to forget the town which is also very charming and a picture taking dream.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller10Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

El Alberque in Ollantaytambo was great. Can't beat the location for catching the train to Machu Picchu. Trains didn't bother us, but we were on the back side. It is a hostel, but very clean, with wonderful comforters (as heating not fantastic), but wouldn't go elsewhere. Had newer room and views were fantastic of snow on the mountains. So nice to get up and catch the train by walking out the door. Sergio was so helpful : ) Food excellent and very quiet and quaint for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank excitedtogoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
574 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

This is my first Tripadvisor review, and I am glad to be able to recommend El Albergue Ollantytambo.

The location next to the Ollantytambo Train Platform (halfway between Cusco and Machu Pichu as well as the good accomodations and restaurant make this a jewel in the entire region.

Sergio, the Front Desk manager provides great pre-travel information by Email and the shuttle transport for pickup from Cusco airport is convenient and well-priced ($45). Ollantytambo location makes for easy reach to MP (arriving before the Cusco Crowds) and convenience to any activities you have planned for Cusco and the other parts of Inca Trail/Valley experience.

Restaurant is excellent and well priced with a relaxing environment. Wifi in the restaurant and rooms is complimentary with your stay.

I would strongly recommend this property to both Solo and multiple party travellers. You will find the quality and comfort of the hotel is more than matched by how well-priced (value!) it is.

It would be my first choice for budget-medium priced accomodations in the entire Inca Trail.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LHOVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellville, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We can't say enough about how wonderful this hotel was for our first time to Peru. Everything was excellent from hotel staff, charm, rooms, location, and restaurant. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and helpful. They arranged for a driver to pick us up from the airport in Cusco, let us have our rooms early both days we stayed there, and even kept our luggage for us while we overnighted in Aguas Calientes. And let me tell you the restaurant is by far the best in town. People from all over came to eat there. They even prepared our free breakfast for us at 5:30 a.m. so we could eat before our train ride to Machu Picchu and they were happy to do it. This hotel is lovely and I will definitely recommend it to anyone I know going to Peru. Also, take advantage of the town of Ollantaytambo. It is really quaint and there's lots to see there and nearby!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBE050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

A charming/rustic hotel in Ollantaytambo. It is a short walk to the main square and/or the ruins, but very convenient to the train if you're returning from Machu Picchu late or leaving early. We also really enjoyed the dinner we had at the restaurant. Just don't leave the lights on in the room at night or you'll attract tons of gnats (at least in room 8)!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSM2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing