We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service, beautiful views”
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Loved this hotel! The restaurant in the hotel has amazing food. The views from our room were spectacular...the Andes were in our backyard! Only things to be aware of are that the trains run until 10pm and the shower in our room would change unexpectedly to extremes of hot and cold. Regardless it's still very much worth it! And this town is so charming, I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunky28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    378
    82
    44
    13
See reviews for
366
771
80
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
198 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Fluffy duvet, hot water, great light for reading, yummy breakfast and very warm welcome made our stay just perfect! Wish we could have stayed longer and would recommend the Apu Lodge as your base for exploring all of the Sacred Valley. Did I mention the view from our room? Well, just imagine - Inca ruins, snow capped peaks, and a lovely garden.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorsAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2010

No praise is strong enough for this establishment. With cloud covered forested hills all around, there is a spiritual quality about this place that is hard to define. Just across the railway station on which the hotel is located, flows a beautiful stream that goes all the way towards Machu Pichu. The service is exemplary and rooms impeccably furnished. I have not been to many restaurants in all my travels which serve better food. My wife and I had the most perfect 3 days of holidays there, and so did our friends who were traveling with us. We are planning to go back and stay for a longer period. The price is a little steep but it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandi0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, ON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

My partner and I stayed here as base for a few days to explore the area and get the train to Machu Picchu. The hotel is directly upon the platform for trains to and from MP/Cuzco and a short walk to the center of the town of Ollanta. The Inca ruins at Ollanta are enought to warrant a stop in the town. The service at the hotel was excellent from check in to check out. We also frequented their restaurant for dinners; it has very good food and provides a great break from menu del dia lunches (which are great but I don't want to see Lomo Saltado for some time!). The one draw back of a stay here (depending on room location) would be its proximity to the train station which is active until about 11pm and wakes up again about 4:30am. Light sleepers may be disturbed by train whistles. Despite that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevnlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Wonderful place to stay in the Sacred Valley. Clean, spacious, charming rooms with comfy beds. Enjoyed a great dinner at the restaurant. The grounds are also well kept and are a nice place to relax. Staff was friendly and helpful and it was great that they allowed us to stash our bags during our overnight stay at Aguas Calientes. Overall a nice stay on our way to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MateoKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We left our luggage here overnight, headed up to Machu Picchu and stayed the following night. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and our room was beautiful. The restaurant is fantastic as well - we ate there there three times if you count the breakfast they bagged up for us to have on the go.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ghofing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

El Albergue is a true treasure in Ollantaytambo. From the super clean and stylish room to the service and to the fantastic food served in their own restaurant, it was truly one of the highlights in our trip in Peru! After a long day of hiking, there is nothing better than relaxing in the sauna with fresh eucalyptus leaves and then enjoy a delicious meal at the restaurant.
Ollantaytambo is such a lovely village not to be missed and staying at El Albergue, makes it that much more perfect!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THEOUTDOOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing