We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back In time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Lying In bed , being able to see mountains and at the same time hearing the horn Of trains is giving a feeling Of being back In time. Living om the train station you only have to meet 10 min before deparure and not 30 Like All others going to Aquas Caliantes to see the Machu Picchu. Also Good restaurant .

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jens Kristian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,625)
There are newer reviews for El Albergue Ollantaytambo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed here for a couple of nights, one before and one after our trip to Machu Picchu. You really can't ask for a cuter Incan town (Ollantaytambo is so worth it!), or a more convenient hotel. Just roll out of bed, have a nice breakfast (eggs or pancakes), grab a boxed lunch and slide onto the train. It was also great that they have a restaurant inside the hotel, since our train back from MP was rescheduled, and we'd never have made it into town for a bite to eat as late as we were (I think they probably wanted to close, but very kindly stayed open for us -- many thanks). On top of the convenience, the food was also great -- get the alpaca! I would recommend this place wholeheartedly. My only issue with our stay was that we arrived very tired from travel on a Saturday night and wanted nothing more than to sleep, but there was a rowdy (sounded like fun) party with singing and yelling and guitar playing right below our room, so sleep wasn't happening. I was not remotely disturbed by the train noises though, even though our room faced the tracks.

And since I'm writing a review, I do feel compelled to let the hotel know that the driver they booked for us (returning to Cusco), passed us off to another driver who drove like a maniac (honking madly through urban areas rather than slowing below 60) and littered all the way back to Cusco (after he stopped to buy a snack on the street, with us in tow, he threw that and a bottle right out the window -- also at 60). After our very nice ride TO the hotel in a large van with a very polite gentleman, I was surprised that such an eco-friendly hotel would send us back with a crazy litterbug in a tiny compact. I could have hired that guy myself for half the price.

Don't let that dissuade you from staying here though -- just hire your own driver, there are TONS milling about.

Oh and we never could get their wifi to work, and we did experience brief blackouts, but neither of these really had an impact on our enjoyment of the hotel, just be forewarned Ollantaytambo is not the most technologically advanced town -- part of its charm.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmadamem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElAlbergue, Manager at El Albergue Ollantaytambo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2010

Hello,

We are glad you loved El Albergue and certainly hope you may stay with us again in the future. I would like to apologize for our rowdy guests, and that unfortunately we were unable to quiet them down. As to your transportation back to Cusco, we are very concerned as the hotel provides the hotel-owned van along with our driver, Remigio who is very considerate as well as a careful driver. Our van has all permits, insurance and maintains high safety standards. We provide this service especially because of the poor standards held by local transportation services. We can assure you that the driver you were given was hired outside of the knowledge of the hotel and would appreciate it if you could email us (info@elalbergue.com) with further details regarding what and when this happened, so that we can make sure this does not happen again. As you mentioned the driver you had was not the hotel driver and we are very concerned that something like this might of occurred.

About the wi-fi, there were a few blackouts during your stay here, and though we do have our own generator to make sure basic services are maintained, this does mean that the wi-fi was interrupted by the power outage something that is out or our hands. Fortunately, this is not a common occurrence, however charming you may find it. Thanks again for your review.

Kind regards,

Joaquín Randall
manager
El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

A very nice and charming place to stay. Easy five minute walk to the center of town / ruins. Very nice private courtyard. Great restaurant with lots of fresh and local produce.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimc7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

My partner and I had a wonderful 2 nights tay at El Albergue!
The hotel is charming and elegant, very clean, and at the same time rustic and modern. We had a beautiful bed with white, fluffy and comfortable covers and luxurious pillows. Our room was on the top floor, allowing us a beautiful view of the Andes on one side, and the well cared for gardens and fruit trees on the other. We had many windows with rustic looking and beautifully working shutters uniquely designed, which allowed us to enjoy the spectacular view, while at the same time, keeping the windows/door closed.
Our bathroom was modern, with heated tiled floors, plenty of soft towels, hair dryer, shampoo/conditioner and an excellent lighting and mirror. The room itself was spacious, and had an extra bed and a table with chair and sofa. The decor was minimalistic and so elegant. We felt very pampered!
Outside our room, on the running balcony, there were chairs and table, from which we enjoyed relaxing and taking in the view. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful and were kind to set up a taxi service on our last day, which took us to Cuzco, stopping at Maras and Moray along the way.
The breakfast and dinners were superb and are served in a rustic looking, but at the same time sunny and modern dining area with an open concept kitchen. There is a little cafe on the train platform that belongs to the hotel. We also ordered some box lunches for the day we took the train to Machu Picchu, which is only a 2 hour ride. It was so nice to come back and relax at El Albergue after a long and exciting day!
We were also walking distance to the main square, Plaza de Armas of Ollantaytambo, but you can take a moto taxi for the equivalent of a dollar (if I remember correctly) right to the square. We walked up an Inca trail to the Fortress ruins, definetely worth seeing.
I would highly recommend this hotel. You will feel pampered and come back with incredible memories just like we did! By the way, we really didn't hear the trains coming and going, but it was fun to watch people getting on from the restaurant, if you wanted to. It was so convenient for us when we took the train. Typically you are asked to come to the station 30 min early, but we just walked out our door! What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeetaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This is a great place to stay, perfect location! The view from our room was absolutely awesome, snow covered Andes, what more could you ask for? The food was delicious, perfectly prepared. Juliana and the chef's did a superb job. Sergio and Richard were extremely accomodating. They arranged a superb driver named Remigio for our day trips. This gentleman was a LIFE SAVER, we lost our littel red camera case and chip while taking photos in the Andes foothills, he drove and drove to help us find it. Talk about patience and perseverance, this gentleman gets the 5 star driver award. Everything about his stay was great. Thank you Sergio and team.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanjustjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel for several nights in October. the rooms were very nice, with lots of hot water. There were beautiful flowering garrdens with hummingbirds and the roar of the Urubamba River. The staff , especially Sergio, was unusally helpful and went out of their way to be accomodating.
We had dinner in the restaurant - the food was one of the best meals we had in Peru (the alpaca steak is not to be missed) and the service and ambience were sophisticated and equivalent to any restaurant in Europe of the US> And the prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank htamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

I had arranged for Lluc and Sergio to pick me up at Cusco airport and take me to Ollantaytambo after 18 hours of travel. Because of a strike, the roads were blocked to and from Ollantaytambo. They had someone meet me at the airport and help me find a hotel in Cusco for the night. Needless to say, I was very happy for their help. The hotel is much more upscale than I would have thought. Some rooms are extremely luxurious. And it is very convenient if you are taking an early morning train to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ollantaytambo
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
183 reviews
18.9 mi away
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
Tierra Viva Machu Picchu
#2 of 24 in Aguas Calientes
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £76 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing