We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Five Star Inn”
Reviewed 22 January 2011

This was my second stay at El Albergue. When planning our trip to Machu Picchu, I told my friends that a stay at El Albergue was a must. The first stay was lovely but they have expanded since 2000. They have a lovely dining room with excellent food. The rooms are spotless and very well appointed. It is right at the train station (that part of the train was not operating at the time of our visited but the bus station is a very short walk). It is close to the town and an easy walk to explore. Enjoy your stay. Elaine and friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatadventures47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    379
    82
    44
    13
See reviews for
366
772
80
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I have travelled to Asia x3, Europe x3, South America x3, but this took the cake. I have never been so impressed by a place to stay, and the context in which it operated. We picked it on the basis of a guidebook recommendation, but "amazed and delighted' does not begin to describe my reaction. Please note that Ollantaytambo is a smallish town in the heart of the Inca empire - one does not expect a lot going in. We stayed two nights en route to the standard destination, Machu Picchu, but my memories of this town and hotel will stay with me longer. Our balcony overlooked a garden with humingbirds and parakeet flocks flying by. In the distance, hanging glaciers on what look like 5000-m peaks. A quick chat with the front desk clerk led us to two wonderful day hikes. The restaurant served a better meal than anywhere else in town that we visited. Were my wife and I return to Peru, we would go to this old train station hotel and spend at least 4 nights. Machu Picchu would be a maybe.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guestww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two seperate nights; before going on the Inca Trail; and then 5 days later when we were done with the hike just before heading out to Cusco. Upon on arrival on the first night; they gave us a lovely room, in the back with 3 very comfortable beds. The room was spacious and the beds were super comfortable. We liked it very much and decided that we hit the jackpot! On our way back from the trail, we had a different experience. We got in really late, because of the problem with the railroad and an unexpected mudslide which set us back for several hours arriving at around 11:30 pm. The room we got was upstairs, with 3 small beds and even a smaller bathroom. We were on top of the kitchen and the one window in our room did not have a glass window! We asked the person in charge to change our room, but he said this is the best he could offer! We took the room since we were so very tired and wanted to sleep. I have to say that we slept very well, did not hear any noise from outside (despite the glass less window) and the only noise we heard was when the train arrived. The bathroom served its purpose. The clerk in the morning was super nice, apologized for the inconvenience and said to us that our first room was basically a free upgrade! So, overall, we had a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2011

El Albergue exceeded our expectations greatly!

This place has wonderful staff, gorgeous grounds, our spacious room had a stunning view of a snow-capped mountain, and the restaurant served some of the best meals we had the entire trip (and we're foodies).

If you're staying in Ollantaytambo, this is your place!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtb_stl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Our travel agent booked this hotel for us and that was one of the very pleasant surprises we have during our Peru visit. We fell in love with our room instantly. We also appreciate their effort to reduce the numbers of plastic bottles. It's 1 sol per liter with our own nalgene bottles. We wished every hotel we had been to has this. The hotel has a "home away from home" feel and we seriously didn't want to check out. :-)

The only reason we didn't feel like give it a five star is that one of the chefs is very rude to us. He acts rude during breakfast and when we ordered our box sandwiches, he plainly ignored us for 5 minutes. And the breakfast was not very tasty or filling.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
492 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I booked El Albergue Ollantaytambo based solely on the Trip Advisor reviews and definitely regret not looking around first. The staff are very friendly and helpful - absolutely no complaints about them. The area is lovely and it's easy to see how proud the owner is of his land as you follow the little path through his garden. However, I think they are starting to slack in basic ammenities now that they are in pole position. Our room had no heating and was freezing cold. The rooms are poorly sound proofed and we did not sleep well at all. Breakfast was the biggest letdown. We were up at 5 and had a long day ahead of us, so we wanted to get a good breakfast in us. The coffee was old and cold - not what I expected for the price and reviews. The icing on the cake, so to speak, was when I took a piece of cake or chocolate bread, and noticed it was covered in green mold. The entire cake was. We left hungry, cold and tired. Although the staff are extremely friendly, I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to my friends. They are clearly skimping on the basics now and standards have slipped.
PS - I saw some people had bottled water in their rooms. We did not.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intlwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2010

It's probably the priciest, but you get what you pay for. Judging from what I could tell, this is by far the best place to stay in this part of the Sacred Valley. The hotel has real character. The rooms are tastefully designed and comfortable; the service is friendly and helpful; and there is a great restaurant. If you want somewhere a bit different, and you don't want to sacrifice comfort, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillThisDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#10 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Albergue Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Albergue Ollantaytambo

Property: El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Address: Ollantaytambo Train Station, Ollantaytambo 080108, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#1 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#2 Green Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Albergue Ollantaytambo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ollantaytambo train station, El Albergue is only one train stop away from Machu Picchu and not far from many interesting attractions. El Albergue dates back to 1925 and maintains the charm and elegance of the early 20th century while offering modern day requirements such as free high speed internet and in-room telephones. Owned by artist Wendy Weeks, this hotel has beautiful gardens, delicious food and special attention to decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Albergue Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Hotel Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing