We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
Nearby Hotels
Pakaritampu Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
Free cancellation until 26/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Intitambo Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dona Catta Inn(Ollantaytambo)
Free cancellation until 26/05
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Iskay(Ollantaytambo)
Free cancellation until 26/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Samanapaq(Ollantaytambo)
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SAUCE Hostal(Ollantaytambo)
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostel Andenes(Ollantaytambo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sol(Ollantaytambo)
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Ccapac Inka Ollanta(Ollantaytambo)
Free cancellation until 28/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,826)
Filter reviews
1,826 results
Traveller rating
1,248
423
92
48
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,248
423
92
48
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic farmtrain platformpachamanca lunchtrain noisesacred valleyeucalyptus saunaalpaca steakgreat restaurantbrowniebalcony roomconvenient locationtaking the trainin towntrip to machu picchubeautiful gardenpancakesearly train
Filter
Updating list...
1,397 - 1,402 of 1,826 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2011

El Albergue was the best. Simple elegance, great food and hospitality, wonderful and always helpful staff. They located a bird guide for a trip over Abra Malaga mountain for us. Great beds, lovely gardens, delightful sauna, delicious food. We stayed five nights and enjoyed the feeling of some permanence as people trained to and from Machu Picchu. Slowed down at the higher altitudes, we found it most enjoyable to tour or hike in the morning and relax in the afternoon. This is when hotel choice really mattered because, we spent quite a lot of time at this fine hotel, and our room with balcony and mountain views was a great place to relax.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geopatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

The best part about this hotel is its proximity to the train station. It basically is the train station. The hotel is more like a campus, with different buildings that house the different rooms, all surrounded by nice gardens and pathways. Very pretty and relaxing. We had no issue with the sounds of the trains waking us, etc. If your train leaves at 8 am, you can roll ou tof bed and be in front of your train in 5 minutes.

The food in the restaurant was great, breakfast was perfect. Good coffee, fresh made pancakes, eggs, omlettes, whatever you like - all included. The staff was very friendly and spoke english. We actually worked with the hotel to pick us up in Cusco, drive us to the Pisac market for a couple hours, and then drive us to the hotel. I believe it cost us around $75 US, but it was a 6 hour cab ride (including the hours spent in the Pisac market and lunch) and we were able to leave our bags in the cab durning our stops for lunch and the market. I would not try this with a random taxi that you found in Cusco.

They also have a suana that you can book at no charge. After walking the ruins all afternoon, enjoying chicha with the locals in the Ollanta old town, and walking back to the hotel, it was great to be able to relax in the tiny, warm, private suana.

The only downside to the hotel, if it is a downside at all, is the distance to the Ollanta ruins and the town square. It is about a 10 minute walk, or a 3 soles taxi ride. Not a big deal.

I would stay here again, and really enjoyed my stay in Ollantaytambo.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmahojl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

This was my second stay at El Albergue. When planning our trip to Machu Picchu, I told my friends that a stay at El Albergue was a must. The first stay was lovely but they have expanded since 2000. They have a lovely dining room with excellent food. The rooms are spotless and very well appointed. It is right at the train station (that part of the train was not operating at the time of our visited but the bus station is a very short walk). It is close to the town and an easy walk to explore. Enjoy your stay. Elaine and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatadventures47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I have travelled to Asia x3, Europe x3, South America x3, but this took the cake. I have never been so impressed by a place to stay, and the context in which it operated. We picked it on the basis of a guidebook recommendation, but "amazed and delighted' does not begin to describe my reaction. Please note that Ollantaytambo is a smallish town in the heart of the Inca empire - one does not expect a lot going in. We stayed two nights en route to the standard destination, Machu Picchu, but my memories of this town and hotel will stay with me longer. Our balcony overlooked a garden with humingbirds and parakeet flocks flying by. In the distance, hanging glaciers on what look like 5000-m peaks. A quick chat with the front desk clerk led us to two wonderful day hikes. The restaurant served a better meal than anywhere else in town that we visited. Were my wife and I return to Peru, we would go to this old train station hotel and spend at least 4 nights. Machu Picchu would be a maybe.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guestww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two seperate nights; before going on the Inca Trail; and then 5 days later when we were done with the hike just before heading out to Cusco. Upon on arrival on the first night; they gave us a lovely room, in the back with 3 very comfortable beds. The room was spacious and the beds were super comfortable. We liked it very much and decided that we hit the jackpot! On our way back from the trail, we had a different experience. We got in really late, because of the problem with the railroad and an unexpected mudslide which set us back for several hours arriving at around 11:30 pm. The room we got was upstairs, with 3 small beds and even a smaller bathroom. We were on top of the kitchen and the one window in our room did not have a glass window! We asked the person in charge to change our room, but he said this is the best he could offer! We took the room since we were so very tired and wanted to sleep. I have to say that we slept very well, did not hear any noise from outside (despite the glass less window) and the only noise we heard was when the train arrived. The bathroom served its purpose. The clerk in the morning was super nice, apologized for the inconvenience and said to us that our first room was basically a free upgrade! So, overall, we had a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews