We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel”
Review of Pakaritampu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pakaritampu Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

After a half day of touring the ruins of Ollantaytambo it was great to come to this hotel.
It was basically a stone throw away from the site.
More importantly it was like 3 minutes walk to the train station(train to Machu Picchu).

The room was big with two single beds. The beds were comfortable and I slept well.
There was a safe like lockable cupboard.
Flat screen TV.
The room was a bit cold in October but there was extra blankets and I was warm.
The hotel has massive grounds with like three large terraces.
I spent some time on the top terrace just enjoying the scenery.

The bathroom/toilet was clean and there was complimentary toiletries.
The shower was fairly powerful with hot water.
The only negative is that the shower has no lights???

The hotel has a large restaurant and the breakfast was the best from all the other hotels that I stayed in Peru. Loads of choices from continental to bacon, eggs etc.

I didn't have dinner at the hotel, but its like a 5 minute walk into town with a choice of lots of restaurants to choose form. Or can walk towards the train station a few cafes that serve food.
There is wifi but just in the lobby.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matrix1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    218
    43
    4
    2
See reviews for
98
296
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
278 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This place is SO BEAUTIFUL that I just have to give it 5 stars even thought internet worked really bad if at all (the only complain I have). The garden is full of flowers and has 3 levels with amazing views at the mountains. A small spring is coming through and various chairs and tables are set in the garden. They also have lamas. Rooms are well lighted, spacious and nice.

The hotel is situated along the main street to the train station (but behind a tall wall so you are not bothered by the noise from the street). Walking distance: train station 3 minutes, Ollantataytambo ruins or the Plaza are no more than 15 minutes. The price is probably the highest in Ollantaytambo, but the place is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene OR
Level Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This place looks like paradise, with nicely groomed flower beds and lawns. The staff were helpful and the breakfast good. Minor negatives: the room was on the chilly side, and the bed decidedly hard. And October must be low season here as when we wanted a drink in the bar, there was no one there and we had to find someone from the restaurant to get us a drink (they did not want to serve only drinks in the restaurant, it had to be done in the bar). However it was a good place to stay before and after two days at Machu Picchu (we spent the intervening night in Agua Callientes) rather than going clear from/to Cusco. It's a short walk to the train station from this hotel although watch out for the traffic on the narrow street. Try to be watching the street around 7:30 or 8am to see what we called "the running of the sherpas" when the porters who go with trekkers on the Inca trail come scurrying up the street with loads on their backs (the minivans they'll be loading their burdens onto are parked just outside the gate of this hotel).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed two nights at Hotel Pakaritampu so we could visit sacred valley of the Incas and Machu Picchu. This is a nice hotel set in nice surroundings with the complex divided up into separate townhouse like accommodation. Meals were good bedrooms satisfactory and just up the road from the railway station to Machu Picchu.

Room Tip: After a day at Machu Picchu make sure you stay another night at this hotel and travel back to Cusco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murarrielen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed 1 night here during our sacred valley day tour. If you are
doing sacred valley day tour from cusco and plan to visit Machu Picchu I would advise you to stay at SV and go MP from here as its on the way rather
than going back to Cusco again. Most people on our tour didnt know this and we were so glad that our Travel agent Infinity Tours advised us of this.

This is a very beautiful hotel and our room was a very good size with view of the Andes. They have happy hour and the Pisco sour we had was brilliant. They serve dinner a the restaurant which was helpful as we were pretty tired from our tour and didnt wanna walk around looking for restaurants. Very good location as its only a minute walk from the train station which goes to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripty_carpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Nice rooms, good service and beautiful gardens were the highlights. Meals at the resteraunt were pretty good and its located in a convenient spot.

They also stored our luggage while we did the trek and packed lunches for the trail.

The system to access the Wi-Fi was a bit over the top and sometimes the billing of drinks and food was a little clunky.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoandPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The gardens are lovely - beautiful flowers and sitting areas to enjoy the day. Rooms are basic, but clean and beds are comfortable. Breakfast buffet is as you would expect with a selection of cereals, fruits, breads, cheeses and some hot items (eggs, potatoes, meat). Happy hour from 5:30-7:30 pm. Dinner was mixed. Ten minute stroll to the ruins and market and 15 minutes to the town square. Staff is efficient and friendly.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SF94597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakaritampu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakaritampu Hotel

Property: Pakaritampu Hotel
Address: Ave. Ferrocarril 852, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#3 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pakaritampu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name "Pakaritampu" derives from the Quechua words "pakari" which means "dawn" and "tampu" wich means "home"..Pakaritampu Hotel is located in the Sacred Valley in the village of Ollantaytambo to 2minutes from the train station with direct connection to Machupicchu. The town of Ollantaytambo is the starting point of the Inca Trail, a beautiful place thatoffers various tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Pakaritampu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakaritampu Hotel Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing