We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay in Ollantaytambo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pakaritampu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pakaritampu
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Ollantaytambo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here as a group of 24 during a 2 week journey around sacred valley and lake Titikaka. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The hotel itself is located between the town square and the railway station, surrounded by quiet garden space and is an oasis of calm filled in the day with hummingbirds which is great when you are busy exploring ancient and sacred sites all day. We had our evening meal in the hotel one night and the food and service were excellent. Breakfasts are a delicious self service buffet.

Ideal for exploring Ollantaytambo and sacred valley and for the train to Aguas Calientes/Machu Pichu.

Looking forward to returning with another group of people in a few months.

Very much recommended

See you all soon,

Many thanks and much love

Joe

Room Tip: Accommodation is ground or 1st floor in a number of pagoda type buildings. All the rooms are lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    215
    42
    4
    2
See reviews for
96
288
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed 1 night, but this was the best hotel we stayed at in the Cusco region. The rooms are in several separate smaller buildings, with amazing views from the windows. Very nice grounds and plants. Breakfast had lots of delicious choices.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyberDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our favorite place to stay on our trip to Peru. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are comfortable and their food was very good. It was a very comfortable place to come home to after a busy day exploring. It is in a great location; walking distance to the train station and to the main plaza in town. There are nice indoor and outdoor areas for relaxing as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed one night here during our tour of the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. The rooms are basic but comfortable in a quiet central location. It's just a short walk to the few stores and restaurants in Ollantaytambo. The highlight was breakfast - a good hearty meal with both western and local foods to please most appetites. The public areas of the hotel are well maintained and very pleasing to the eye. The hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveJ187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

i traveled to Peru for my 50th and we had a group of 7. i had planned the entire trip and was nervous about the hotels but this was a total surprise. Based on other TA reviews I went for it and it was just lovely! a gorgeous piece of land with the green Andes behind it. the rooms were very large, cool and rustic but very well kept and clean. the bathrooms were very nice and the whole place was so serene I could have spent a week there just relaxing on the grounds. it was only about $135 per night, a restaurant right on the premisses which served a great breakfast! enjoyed it and the town as well!!! we all loved it!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa, Kentucky
Level Contributor
195 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I thought this hotel was by far the best place we stayed during our 9 day trip to Peru. Very relaxing, clean and comfortable and very safe. Beautiful landscaping and a great location that is close to the train station if you are headed to Machu Picchu. The town and vendors were close by and enjoyed walking around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmnteddyLakeCity_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The people at the front desk were very helpful, despite the language barrier. It is very conveniently located from the Peru rail train station. Lots of restaurant options close by. It is located right by a the river and makes for a nice evening stroll. Ollantaytambo is very close by as well. We had a pleasant stay at Pakaritampu and would recommend it highly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vinita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.2 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakaritampu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakaritampu

Property: Pakaritampu
Address: Av. Ferrocarril S/N, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#3 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pakaritampu 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name "Pakaritampu" derives from the Quechua words "pakari" which means "dawn" and "tampu" wich means "home"..Pakaritampu Hotel is located in the Sacred Valley in the village of Ollantaytambo to 2minutes from the train station with direct connection to Machupicchu. The town of Ollantaytambo is the starting point of the Inca Trail, a beautiful place thatoffers various tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Pakaritampu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakaritampu Hotel Ollantaytambo
Pakaritampu Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing