We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Town”
Review of SAUCE Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SAUCE Hostal
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2007

The whole place was great. We had the best view out our window of the ruins. It is a nice little town and Hostal Sauce is in a great location. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. The only bad thing was a dog that kept barking in the night - but that isn't really the hotels fault.

It really is a great little hotel. Just make sure you get a room facing the ruins. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinnesotaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2007

Ollytambo has'nt moved on for what appears100 years, but thats good. Hotel Sauce is well placed just off the main plaza. It is a bit pricey but when we opened our room curtains and saw the terraces of the ruins it was worth every penny. the staff try hard but are a little shy. Overall its fine.
Whilst there go to cafe heart, have afternoon tea, scones with jam and cream with a pot of tea. It is a charity cafe and worth the visit,

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank headgreenkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2007

Hotel Sauce was the most expensive place we stayed in on our three week trip to Argentina and Peru. It was also the nicest in terms of bedroom facilities and breakfast. We paid $US89 for a room with a view of the fortress. The view is wonderful.

It was cold when we arrived and we found a portable heater had been placed outside our room for us. There was also a fire in the fireplace.

The staff were very quiet, but polite. The lady in charge was helpful in arranging for a private taxi tour of the valley. I was amazed that I was able to do this in my limited Spanish and even more amazed to hear her speak English to us when we were checking out!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryann-ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2007

We stayed at Sauce April 25, 2007. Entering the dusty town through an uninteresting Plaza, Ollantaytambo looked like a place where time stood still. So we were surprised that the lobby of Hostal Sauce was bright, cheerful and rustic modern. For us, that's as good as it got.

The young women at the reception desk were not very friendly or helpful.

Our room, #12, had a great view of the town and the ruins. The small room was rustic, but not terribly pretty. The pictures we took make it look much better than it was. Terra cotta walls, some logs on the high pitched ceilings, antique dresser and night tables that were way too high for the bed. The lighting was awful, only 25w bulbs. The bathroom was modern, with a tiled vanity and shower, newer faucet, low modern toilet The weather was cold, and the room and bathroom were FREEZING, and there was no heat, not even a space heater. I spent the night shivering, when I wasn't in the bathroom looking at all the gnats and moths that covered that room.

The breakfast was awful: unripe papaya and grapes with seeds, watered-down orange and apple juice, pourable yogurt for the fruit, ice-cold scrambled eggs (they had never bothered to light the Sterno to keep them warm), some sort of sesame-covered gooey granola, and coffee so muddy that no amount of milk could lighten it. My husband asked if they make omelets, and after an eternity spent trying to get the server (who spoke no English) to understand what he wanted, he got his omelet. But when we got up to leave they asked us to pay for the it. We should have been told in advance.

The temperature in the attractive lobby was about the same as our room: ice wouldn't melt. Yet not once was that lovely adobe fireplace turned on.

At $79, we felt the hotel was definitely overpriced in comparison with other, nicer places we stayed in in Peru and Bolivia, and I definitely would NOT recommend Sauce, despite what others have written.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Sukki007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2007

We had reservations at Albergue, but when we realized how far it was from the heart of Ollantaytambo (however small a town it is), coupled with the unappealing appearance of the hotel and rooms, we canceled our reservation and moved to Hotel Sauce.

The good:
The best thing about Hotel Sauce is it's location. It is minutes from the plaza and from the ruins. And the rooms are clean.

The bad:
The shower drainage was not good. The breakfast is not very good. It is overpriced. But in spite of the the above, it is certainly the best place to stay in Ollantaytambo.

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank EnjoyEachSeason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2007

sauce hostal is all you need for whatever in sacred valley. quit searching and go here. i stayed there 19 april and all was 'fine'...clean room with a view, hot water and great food. location is ideal in ollantaytambo...1 block to markets; 3 blocks to ruins. they sent car and driver plus english speaking guide to meet me at CUZ airport. five hours later after stops along the way we arrived sauce hostal. total price $30 US. next day more of same scheduled by paula and then afternoon train to MP. also, ATM in lobby. what else do you need? bronson

3  Thank active 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2007

Very pleasant small hotel. Nice rooms, with a large bathroom. Furnishings were really nice. They had a nice touch of having a little clay miniature pot, with their name on it, and a mint, on your pillow. Nice souvenir!

Really amazing view of the ruins. Go to the ruins first thing in the morning or late at night to avoid the crowds.

Breakfast was good.

Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
2  Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,666 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SAUCE Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SAUCE Hostal

Address: Ventiderio 248, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £66 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SAUCE Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your SAUCE Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hostal Hotel Ollantaytambo
Sauce Hotel Ollantaytambo
SAUCE Hostal Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing