We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and comfy rooms”
Review of SAUCE Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SAUCE Hostal
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed for 1 night in Sauce hostal in 2010 September. The location is excellent with great views of the ruins and is very close to the entrance of the market. The manager was very courteous and gave us good service. We had slight difficulty in getting to the train station next day since the cab was late, but our manager ran around and got our cab just in time. The rooms are basic but have a nice character to them. I would go and stay there again. Ollantaytambo ruins were fantastic!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashyajnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel prior to meeting our group for the Inca Trail Trek. The rooms are small, accomodations are clean, basic and comfortable. The location can't be beat. The breakfast was good. The rooms have heaters. My only complaints are that it took a long time for the hot water to work- it eventually did but I had to run the water in the shower for a long time first and the coffee could have been brewed differently- they use instant coffee

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank St_LouisMoFFGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is a very small basic Hostel \ Hotel, it was very clean, and very comfortable, Unfortunately I only had a very brief overnight stay here after a trip to the local Inca Ruins.

the food and hospitality was very good and the Small team of staff were very helpful and friendly.

The town square is a thirty second walk away and the market a two minute walk so excellent location.

I would highly recomend this hotel if you want peace and quiet

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Somersault0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The location of this hotel is pretty hard to beat. I've stayed here several times. It's clean and comfortable, with nice down comforters to keep you warm at night. Located right downtown and within a few minutes walk of restaurants and ruins. This is my go-to hotel in Ollantaytambo.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kassi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This place was clean. The rooms were a little small (for 4 people) but there was hot water. The breakfast is included is comparable to most places we stayed. It is a 10 min walk from the train and a 3 minute walk from the Plaza de Armas. The person at the front desk speaks clear English. There is free (very slow, but free) wifi. All you can ask for in a place like this, though it was a tad pricier than other places.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Evan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

very neat and clean place, wooden floors everywhere, view of the ruins. Professional staff. Hot showers in the night and @morning.They provided us with a to go breakfast @6am. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bigoudeninaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this charming little hotel. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable, had plenty of hot water. Our window (and the restaurant) had a great view of the ruins, and also of the little square below where the vendor ladies sold breakfast and snacks to the school kids and workers in the morning. Fun to watch. Breakfast was excellent, exceptional breads and what tasted like homemade jams.
It's very convenient to the ruins, and also to the main square with several choices for dinner. Note the trade-off for that room in the front, you're on the main street through town. One would not expect that this little street is the main route for large trucks serving the gas fields many miles away, so it was pretty noisy well into the night. A room away from the front would be much quieter.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the street are noisy from truck traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank quackmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.5 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,720 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SAUCE Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SAUCE Hostal

Address: Ventiderio 248, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £65 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SAUCE Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your SAUCE Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hostal Hotel Ollantaytambo
Sauce Hotel Ollantaytambo
SAUCE Hostal Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing