We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, wonderful host”
Review of SAUCE Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SAUCE Hostal
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, wonderful host”
Reviewed 2 July 2008

From beginning to end, a great experience. Booking online was no problem by email with Graciela. We decided to begin our 10 days in Peru (after an overnight at the Lima Airport Ramada) in Ollantaytambo, which is lower elevation than Cusco, to get acclimated. Graciela in person was a delight. She was like a concierge, arranging taxis (at the best prices) and resolving a problem with Peru Rail concerning our reservations on the trains to and from Machu Picchu, always with a smile.

We had a prime room, king bed, with a spectacular view of the Inca ruins and mountains beyond, plus it overlooked an active street corner in town. We stayed there four nights and never tired of looking out our window at the view and the colorful street scene. One day a local funeral procession passed by right under the window. Also a water channel runs by the hotel so during the quiet nights we enjoyed the sound of rushing water.

The hotel itself is spotless, bed was very comfortable, breakfast was good. Room was simple but charming. Other rooms and bathrooms that we saw were smaller. There's an ATM right in the outer lobby, one of only two in the town.

Be aware that the town is quite small (though lively and interesting and well-preserved Inca village) and the hotel as well as other facilities are simple, often rustic...if you expect an international style hotel and decor you will be disappointed in the hotel as well as the area. But if you want to experience the Sacred Valley in reasonable comfort without sacrificing authenticity of culture, the town and Hostal Sauce are highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location and helpful owner
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellover777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    68
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
41
91
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2008

Wow! This place has the best location and has got to have the most fabulous views from some of the rooms.

POSITIVES –
Located ½ block from plaza
10-15 min. walk to train station
Views of ruins
4 windows Room 15
Roomy bathroom
Comfortable beds
Great water pressure
Hot water
Great breakfast
NEGATIVES –
Windows don’t open

  • Liked — Location and Views
  • Disliked — Room windows did not open
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cyd'sTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

This place was great. The view from the rooms of the ruins is spectacular. The staff was very helpful and one when one member of our party got sick, the manager gave him tea and offered to send some with us as we left. She also helped us with our train reservation to Machu Picchu and with restaurant reservations.

The decor in the lobby is lovely and the breakfast was quite good. Bathroom was clean and no problems with hot water.

I would love to stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2008

I spent three nights at Hostal Sauce. My room (#15) had a beautiful view of the cloud-draped mountains and stepped terraces of the Ollantaytambo ruins. Early in the morning you'll hear a rooster crowing in the distance and cows being led up the cobblestone streets by their owners. The small channel of water running next to the hostal provides the constant, relaxing sound of a little brook. It's the perfect Sacred Valley experience.

The bathroom was clean and modern. The water pressure was excellent and hot water was available 24 hours a day, which is a great luxury in a small village like Ollantaytambo. Although the rooms can be chilly, a space heater is included in the price of the room. You just have to ask for it at the front desk. Although the nights were cold when I was there, the duvet and blankets on the comfortable bed kept me warm.

Breakfast was a mixed bag. There's a buffet table laid out with cereal, teas, yogurt, bread, cheese, and jam. One of the staff made me scrambled eggs on my first morning. On the second morning, what was labeled as orange juice was actually watered-down lemon juice and no eggs were available. The same was true on my third morning. It's more of a continental breakfast than the advertised "American" breakfast.

Perhaps it was because I was there in the off-season, but there was no little clay pot souvenir mentioned in other reviews.

Be sure to bring your immigration card with you - that little form you fill out on the flight to Peru. I was told I wouldn't need it again until my flight home, so I left it with friends in Lima to keep it safe. Turns out Hostal Sauce needs a photocopy of that card and it's a bit of a problem for them if you arrive without it. I had to fax a copy of the card to them when I returned to Lima.

The staff speaks very little English, which is not a problem unless a problem arises or you have a complicated question. They are pleasant and try very hard.

  • Liked — Located just off the town square
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2008

Just stayed at Hotel Sauce one night in Feb. and loved it. Our rooms were spotlessly clean, as was the newly tiled bathroom; we had all the hot water we could use, and there were nice touches as mentioned by other reviewers, like the chocolates, the "buenos noches" cards and miniature souvenir clay pots on the pillows. Our windows had stunning views of the ruins. It was warm and inviting. When the power went out (all over town), we were immediately brought candles and matches. Even with the power out, we found a restaurant practically next door (El Chausqui) with a wood fired oven (great vegetarian pizza--we went back the next day for lunch). The only thing that might be a downside for some--our daughters are both quite fluent in Spanish, but had a difficult time understanding the Spanish of the man at the front desk when we were there. However, he seemed to understand our needs and be eager to help, and when I asked if I could buy more water, he immediately RAN across the street and purchased some for us. We thought the breakfast buffet was great--simple, but with enough choices, including eggs and pancakes. The lobby/ breakfast area, also spotlessly clean, has a kiva and several small couches, and one whole large wall decorated with hundreds of typical Peruvian woolen hats, their colorful patterns providing both interest and warmth to the area. The ruins are an easy walk down the hill, the main square an easy walk up the street. We had contacted the hotel by e-mail prior to our trip, and always got prompt responses. At our request, they had arranged for a driver to pick us up at our hotel in Cusco, and drive us to other Sacred Valley sites on the way to Ollantaytambo. We had to rearrange the dates for all of this once we arrived in Cusco due to a major strike that would be shutting down cabs, trains, etc, and when we called, they were very accommodating in helping us reschedule both our rooms and the driver. We loved this charming little hotel, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, charm, views, convenience of location to ruins, town
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2007

Having read earlier reviews, we were a little nervous about our impending stay at Hotel Sauce. After a death defying trip in a tuk tuk up the main road from the train station, we hurtled into the courtyard of the hotel and staggered out of our "vehicle" rather thankfully. The lady at reception was polite but reserved, until we spotted her kitten, "Valentina". Then it was all smiles as we traded cats names and talked about our own pets.

The room was simply furnished, poorly lit and cold, until we asked for, and received, a space heater. The bathroom was very good (although cold !). Plenty of hot water.

When we woke in the morning and opened the curtains, we had a fabulous view of the ruins. Just gorgeous.

Breakfast was simple, but all very fresh and we were asked if we would like a freshly made pancake or omelette. Despite limited choices, it was one of the best breakfasts we had in a Peruvian hotel (finally, bread rolls that didn't make your jaws ache !)

I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Allcorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2007

The whole place was great. We had the best view out our window of the ruins. It is a nice little town and Hostal Sauce is in a great location. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. The only bad thing was a dog that kept barking in the night - but that isn't really the hotels fault.

It really is a great little hotel. Just make sure you get a room facing the ruins. Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#10 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SAUCE Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SAUCE Hostal

Property: SAUCE Hostal
Address: Ventiderio 248, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SAUCE Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your SAUCE Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hostal Hotel Ollantaytambo
Sauce Hotel Ollantaytambo
SAUCE Hostal Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing