We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect mid-point lodging between Cuzco and Ollantay.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SAUCE Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SAUCE Hostal
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect mid-point lodging between Cuzco and Ollantay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

I totally loved this hotel for the proximity to the train station and the view of the fortress.
Ollantay is the name of the town and Tambo means gate. So "Gates of Ollantay".

Do not try the restaurant, non-existent really. But, because of the center of town location, ther is no shortage of restaurants. Some that are really cozy and cool looking.

Beds were very comfy, lots of blankets, bathroom was clean and an awesome site. No problems with check in and check out. We prepaid online.

This hotel is a tad expensive, but it gives you a safe and comfortable feeling. And a nice place to rest up before MP. By far the nicest hotel in Ollantaytambo.

Hot tip - on our way to Ollantay we took a private tour $60 US, but on the way back, after our MP train tour; we just flagged down a tour bus and got a lift back to Cuzco for approx. 2 US per person. I totally recommend going to Ollantay during the late afternoon, staying overnight and taking the "red eye" to MP. You get there before the crowds of Cuzco arrive on the later trains. Take the backpacker fare. Cheapest way.

Please feel free to write if you have any questions.

Daniel

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefdano49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    65
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
40
87
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

Because we had such a big lunch, we decided to stay at the hotel restaurant for dinner and have just a bowl of soup. The manager had earlier told us that this was possible and listed the different kinds of soup offered. I should have known we were in trouble when the kitchen staff/waitress showed a shocked expression when we ordered. Marco (our guide) was with us, translating, both when we initially asked about the soup and again now that we were ordering. Seeing the expression of the kitchen lady, I said that if this created difficulty, we could join Marco in going out to another restaurant. We were assured that we could have soup at the "Sauce Hotel and Restaurant". We ordered our soup and Marco went off to a restaurant while we waited and waited and waited...... Marco returned from having dinner about an hour later and was surprised to see that we were still waiting!!! He went to the kitchen and after asking about our soup, he was assured that it would be ready soon. We finally got it about 10 minutes later. The bill was 22 sol - very expensive compared to other full meals we had had in nice restaurants. The manager became surly when we did not leave a tip after waiting so long for the expensive, soup. Breakfast was to be served starting at 7 a.m. rather than 6 a.m. like all of the other hotels we stayed at so we went for a walk and returned at 7. It wasn't ready until 7:30 and the coffee was absolutely undrinkable - with horrible rubbery pieces of heated milk in it but long gone cold. Apparently, the restaurant has been more or less closed except for breakfast but they aren't telling anyone??? The view from our room was not at all nice but the room was clean and comfortable. The lobby area was cozy - a nice place to sit and read - with some beautiful woodwork and Puruvian knit hats. Fortunately, the horrible experience here was unique in our 3 weeks of travel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahEOttawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

We stayed for two nights in Ollanta prior to our Inca Trail hike this past September. This hotel is in a great location, maybe 2 minutes from the main square. I preferred this location than to others that there further away, maybe 10 minutes away closer to the train stations.

The room and bathroom were clean and nicely kept. We asked for a room with a view of the ruins. It was very beautiful!!! The staff was great and accommodating to us. We did have to use some of our broken high school spanish, but it was all part of the experience! The breakfast in the morning was good with eggs and pancakes to order. There is also an ATM in the lobby which ended up being very useful.



We had a

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ucla_kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

This is a great place that's very convenient - you're walking distance from most of the town, the ruins and the train station. There's an ATM right outside the lobby too. Staff was very nice and friendly and helpful. Loved the little dog that hangs out there. The room we got (a triple) didn't have much of a view but it wasn't noisy, even though we were in town and the blankets kept us nice and warm and there was plenty of hot water.
The ruins here are nice but I liked the Pisac ruins better. Do take time to explore the town. There's also a good restaurant that is right across the creek from the hotel.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nutsandberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

I want to thank Graciela for the great stay at the hotel ! I didn't want to stay in Cusco first because of the high altitude. Graciela arranged a driver that picked me up at the Cusco airport in the morning and drove me to Ollantaytambo stopping at several sites along the way Sacsayhuaman, Pisco, Qengo, Puka Pukara allowing me to walk around and take some pix. Got to the hotel with a room overlooking the ruins and spent the afternoon at the ruins. Nice town and good breakfast. Got a ride to the train in the AM and was off to Machu Picchu. Internet servcie was a plus! Thanks!! Ed Z

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EZTEXAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

I read the reviews from the previous guests, looking forward to my stay at the hotel. I made my reservations and arrangements with Graciella via numerous emails.

The guaranteed car service ( through Graciella) was to pick us up in Cusco. Since the car never showed up, I had our hotel in Cusco phone Hotel Sauce. The Hotel Sauce staff knew nothing about the car service. Quickly other arrangements were made.

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Sauce. It is very noisy and on the main street with constant trucks, buses, etc. which lasted way into the the night and first thing in the morning. There was no hot water for a shower. Excuses were made and the hot water was finally available after an hour and numerous requests. The hot water issue occured both days. The space heater did not work in the room. The lights in the room are dim and the light in the bathroom kept flashing all night. I asked to have my flight confirmed via phone since there was no internet available at the hotel. I was told that I needed to go to the internet cafe down the street and do it myself.

At check out, we were told that the room rates listed and quoted were in cash and to use a credit card, they charge an extra 7% service fee. The fee is more than what the credit card companies charge. I should have been informed of this credit card/cash issue prior to making reservations and certainly prior to check out. I was also told that the taxi to the Cusco airport was to cost more than the confirmed price quoted via Graciella's emails.

I did not appreciate getting one information from Graciella (who happened to be in Lima) and the hotel staff who did not have a clue about her communication and confirmations with us.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mitzib11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

I found this hotel on TripAdvisor for our stay in Ollantaytambo. It got great ratings and now I know why. Graciella and her staff were very considerate and helpful. All we had to do was ask, whether it was for dining, private tour or taxi. They made it work. We were fortunate enough to have our daughter with us who is fluent in Spanish. She did make it easier, but there were several English speaking guests too, who had no problem. The breakfast consisted of eggs, ham, crepes, cereal, fresh juice, coffee and tea each morning. The cook always waited to prepare the eggs until we were seated. We even played board games next to the fire in the lobby which was very warm and inviting. I loved the location and we had a beautiful view of the ruins.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murph1866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#3 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SAUCE Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SAUCE Hostal

Property: SAUCE Hostal
Address: Ventiderio 248, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ollantaytambo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SAUCE Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your SAUCE Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sauce Hostal Hotel Ollantaytambo
Sauce Hotel Ollantaytambo
SAUCE Hostal Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing