We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Las Orquideas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Sol Natura Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samana Inn Hotel(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Munay Tika(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ccapac Inka Ollanta(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Albergue Ollantaytambo(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dona Catta Inn(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hostel Andenes(Ollantaytambo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
14
40
22
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
40
22
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot showermachu picchuperfect locationbasic hotelrooms are cleaneggsbedswifiruinstrail
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2008

This seems to be primarily a one night stop hotel on the way to Machu Picchu (we stayed there three nights), run by staff who have no ownership in the place. It is used widely by a number of tour companies. The rooms are set around a nice courtyard and it is close to the centre of town and the train station. The rooms look nice with woollen blankets and rustic beds and ceilings. Bathrooms were small but functional with plenty of hot water. The problem with the place is the attention to detail. As previously stated the sheets do not fit the bed (BUT the last night they changed all the sheets for much larger ones – so progress!!), there was no chair in our room to go with the table, the breakfast was very poor, and the command of english of the staff was poor – minor things but the difference between a “middle of the road hotel” and one you would definitely recommend to others. I’m sure you can find better places in Ollaytantambo, but if you are booked here on a tour, it is a clean acceptable place for one night.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnandlucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2008

Stayed for a few days at this hostel, after being forced to check out of a dodgy hostel also in Ollantaytambo. The location of Las Orquideas is fantastic...just a couple of hundred metres from the train station to Machu Picchu. Lots of restaurants nearby and the area is clean and safe. The staff were lovely and we got one of the top floor rooms which had a great view to the ruins. The room was basic but had everything we needed and mostly importantly it was clean and the hot water worked. At $25-$30 a night for a double it's pretty good value. Lovely gardens made it even nicer. There were a few large tours groups (GAP for example) booked in for a couple of the nights which may cause a problem in getting a room, but worth a shot anyhow.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank juliepoulter19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2007

We were in Cusco at the height of the season, during the week after Inta Raymi, but still our Cusco hotel was able to call Hostal Las Orquideas for us and get us a room for five days later. People there don't speak very much English at all, and the bottom sheets pull out easily so you end up sleeping on a bare mattress if you are not careful, but for the cheap price it's clean and safe. And close to the train station as well--just 5 minutes' walk. We took the 7:05 am train to MP - the staff said they would not be able to cook breakfast for us that early, however when we got up they were indeed in the restuarant making breakfast. Odd, but who cares. It was an adventure. We got some coffee from them, that's all we needed.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank datachick10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2007

As a solo older female I was very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of Eva & Romulo. The room was clean and bright and the courtyard a delight. I felt completely safe as the door to the road was kept locked and had to be opened by one of the staff.

It is situated just up from the station but as I was pulling a case and didn't fancy pulling it over the cobbles I had a 3 wheeled motorised taxi for 2 soles (about 30p) down to the station. Also near the main square, ruins and market.

A delightful find and the price made it even better - $15 a night.
I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2007

Quiet, clean place at budget price
only walking distance from the train station, yet very quiet
helpful staff, they even arranged an early morning breakfast for us.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews