We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Las Orquideas
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple and quiet”
Reviewed 19 July 2007

We were in Cusco at the height of the season, during the week after Inta Raymi, but still our Cusco hotel was able to call Hostal Las Orquideas for us and get us a room for five days later. People there don't speak very much English at all, and the bottom sheets pull out easily so you end up sleeping on a bare mattress if you are not careful, but for the cheap price it's clean and safe. And close to the train station as well--just 5 minutes' walk. We took the 7:05 am train to MP - the staff said they would not be able to cook breakfast for us that early, however when we got up they were indeed in the restuarant making breakfast. Odd, but who cares. It was an adventure. We got some coffee from them, that's all we needed.

  • Liked — simple, quiet, clean
  • Disliked — hard to communicate! I need to learn Spanish.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank datachick10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    37
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
14
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2007

As a solo older female I was very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of Eva & Romulo. The room was clean and bright and the courtyard a delight. I felt completely safe as the door to the road was kept locked and had to be opened by one of the staff.

It is situated just up from the station but as I was pulling a case and didn't fancy pulling it over the cobbles I had a 3 wheeled motorised taxi for 2 soles (about 30p) down to the station. Also near the main square, ruins and market.

A delightful find and the price made it even better - $15 a night.
I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Liked — convenience, safety, ambience
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2007

Quiet, clean place at budget price
only walking distance from the train station, yet very quiet
helpful staff, they even arranged an early morning breakfast for us.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — helpful staff, quiet and clean rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2007

Once you get past the fact that you actually have to call the hostal directly (and that the people don't speak English) this is a great little place to stay.

The room and the bathroom were both a good size. The breakfast was standard. The courtyard is quite lovely and the location of the hostal ensures that there will be complete silence in the evening. We stayed in a ground level room which provided a little bit of a view of the ruins. However, I presume that one of the upper rooms would provide an outstanding view!

The hotwater seemed to be very reliable!

Our only complaint would be that the beds were very hard, that being said, we both slept well.

This was great value for a cheap price.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — Hard Bed
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank apriltrip2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2006

Eva, Romulo and their family operate this hostal. It is conveniently located within easy walking distance of everything in the delightful town of Ollantaytambo.

There is a beautiful courtyard where we saw humming birds flitting amongst the plants. The courtyard is sunny and a great place to sit with your cup of coffee after you have had breakfast in the dining room - of course there is nothing to stop you having your whole breakfast outside.

If you are planning a trip to Macchu Picchu, this is the place to start. It is just a short walk down the hill to the station where you catch the train to Aquas Calinteas at the foot of Machu Picchu.

Nearby there are many restaurants and of course the markets selling wonderful handicrafts. The ruins of Ollantaytambo are also only minutes away. My son had stayed there previously and I agreed with his choice of accommodation for our trip a couple of weeks ago.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank meadowbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Andenes
Hostel Andenes
#11 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Munay Tika
Munay Tika
#13 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#10 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
SAUCE Hostal
SAUCE Hostal
#7 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Orquideas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Orquideas

Property: Hotel Las Orquideas
Address: Avda Ferrocarril s/n, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Las Orquideas 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer you comfortable and clean rooms with private bathrooms and 24 hour hot water, beautiful gardens and the best views of Ollantaytambo, together with all our attention and experience at your service, to make your visit to Ollantaytambo a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Las Orquideas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Las Orquideas Ollantaytambo
Hotel Las Orquideas Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing