We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Affordable Place!”
Review of Apu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apu Lodge
Ranked #2 of 29 Ollantaytambo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Charming and Affordable Place!”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Great lodge, beautiful location. Stayed three nights in September 2012. On the edge of town, down a cobblestone street, about 5 minute walk to the town center. No vehicles are permitted on these walkways, so there is a distance to carry luggage. Taxi driver and/or the lodge will offer to assist you. To us, this was not an issue, and was a large part of the charm of Ollantaytambo. Beautiful gardens, and outstanding view out of our second floor room at the ruins. Town small and interesting enough to want to walk everywhere, but in case you don't want to walk the distance from the plaza with luggage to train station, it is only s./2 for 2 people in a motor car (which are fun too!). The lodge has internet, however it is only available in the lounge area. No phone or TV, but we certainly didn't miss either of them. Room was large. very clean. All staff very friendly, guests friendly. Entire atmosphere very casual. Great breakfast - best fried eggs ever! Great value, warm and hospitable lodge. Ollantaytambo is still small enough to see typical Peruvian life. Very quaint, and safe. We felt very sad when it was time to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macfarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    100
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
111
161
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed there overnight prior to our 4 day Inka treck - it was just perfect and soo... quiet, we had the best sleep ever. We were warmly welcome by the owners and breakfast on the next day was very nice.

Ollantaytambo is a very small town, and we find there were lots of men hanging around on the square at night (being 2 females) - also as the lodge is situated right at the end of a narrow hallyway, when we got back from our restaurant late at night, as it was a bit dark (only partly lighted-up) we got a bit scared, but just braved it, walked very fast and got there safe. Not to mention as we were walking down to the square that afternoon, we got really surprised to witness a man, obviously very drunk, just pulling his pants down and going to the toilet right in front of us as we were going pass...! we just ignored it and kept walking - but dont let this bothering you as this could happen in any cities, and Ollantaytambo is very charming, worth visiting and even better staying if possible.

Other than that, we will definitely recommend the lodge.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BRI1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights between our visit to Machupichu and had a great nights sleep. It is really quiet and peaceful. The rooms were clean and met our basic needs. Nice place. The management was attentive and helpful with travel questions and recommendations. The town of Ollantaytambo was really nice and charming. We found a couple of good restaurants and the views are amazing...

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Apu Lodge. I booked directly through them. They responded to my emails very promptly, and set up a guide for me - which I ended up canceling (and went with Juan Jose instead). They were also willing to book our tickets to Huayna Picchu for a very fair price. They have good reviews - equal to another place in town.  I specifically reserved a room with a view of the ruins, which we got. The room actually fit 4 people. The room was not fancy but definitely met our needs. It included a decent breakfast -  the "best" of our trip. I was disappointed to not meet either owner - who I had exchanged emails with, but the workers were very friendly and helpful. Pay attention to their directions for how to use the shower so you don't end up with a cold one!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Folsom5outback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We loved Apu lodge, a long way up a cobbled path, but this is a activity holiday.No TV but only stayed one night, bed really comfy and whole lodge clean. We left early in the morning and would have liked a bit more for breakfast and some coffee too. But booked with SAStravel so not sure of the cost. A little gem in a lovely town.

Room Tip: great views from all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diswix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at Apu Lodge for 3 nights. This is a wonderful little lodge several blocks off the square in Ollantaytambo. It is quiet, clean and being surrounded by mountains has beautiful views. Ollantaytambo has small water canals running down the small streets and we could hear the sounds of running water all night. We often spotted the largest humming birds we have ever seen visiting the many flowering shrubs in the garden area of the lodge.
The owners are super nice and very accommodating. Breakfast is served daily.
The lodge is reached in a 5-10 minute walk from the plaza up a small cobblestone walkway with the water running down the side canal. I would suggest a 2nd floor room as a ground floor room can be noisy if upstairs guests are banging around. Note that the lodge cannot be reached except by foot, but if you have trouble walking you should not be visiting the mountainous area of Peru.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonkabayguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The house is located at the top of the old inca village, in a quiet garden and view on the inca ruins. Very enjoyable atmosphere when you wake up there in the morning.
The rooms are simple - we got a room upstairs first, where we could hear quite some noise because of the wooden stairs when people moved up and down. After our trip to Machu Picchu, we returned and got a room on the ground floor, with less view but more quiet despite people in the room above us.
Simple furniture and bathrooms, but we had a good sleep.
Overall, a good stay in a very typical peruvian location, we recommend to stay in Ollantaytambo on your way to Machu Picchu.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdvisorJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#5 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
362 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apu Lodge

Property: Apu Lodge
Address: Lari Calle s/n | Urubamba, Ollantaytambo 84, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apu Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apu Lodge is a boutique bed-and-breakfast located in the pedestrian Inca streets of the village of Ollantaytambo and its position on a terrace gives it a fantastic view from all rooms. It has spacious gardens, visited by humming birds, hammocks to relax in after your hike to Machu Picchu or other ruins, and is very peaceful. All rooms have views, private bathrooms with excellent shower and are furnished with simple elegance. Dinner is served in our restaurant. English spoken and excellent advice given on local sites, tours and taxis can be arranged. Please call from the plaza for assistance with luggage as there is no vehicle access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apu Hotel Ollantaytambo
Apu Lodge Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing