We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to feel welcome”
Review of La Casa del Abuelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Casa del Abuelo
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Ollantaytambo, Peru
1 review
“Nice to feel welcome”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have been staying here for a month now and I feel home. It is like a family for me.
The service is very good, all what you can expect from a hotel. What is best compared to some hotels is that they are very friendly and I have seen that they always welcome who may enter with a big smile.
If the door might be closed sometimes, it is because it is windy in Ollantaytambo and as the reception makes you feel like you are in your living room, the door is closed to keep the place warm. But don't hesitate to knock at the door until someone comes to open !!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    107
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
63
172
62
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have to say this was the best stay in Peru for me. The owner and his wife were very nice. My room was very clean with a private bathroom and hot shower. I even had a small balcony (small). Great deal

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were in Peru in September and looking for lodging unexpectedly as we had decided we loved Ollantaytambo even more than Machu Picchu. We decided that we wanted to explore the ruins the next morning. We were advised by another hotel that while they were full, this was a hotel that might have a room. We got a room that was comfortable and we met the owners. These people are truly gracious. My husband and I both enjoyed our stay, were comfortable with the amenities and appreciated the host's kindness. On waking in the morning, looking out a breezeway, we realized we were overlooking the ruins. It was a truly beautiful trip and the Hostal La Casa del Abuelo was one of the gems we have as a memory of it. (We are a gay couple and this was not an issue here.)

Room Tip: top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTRogers1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great budget place in Olly. Hot water (got ask at the reception for them to turn it on sometimes), very good wifi reception in the room, good beds, quiet and private, very friendly and helpful staff, the place seems brand new. There are more luxurious places, but for the price (60 soles for a double, no breakfast) this is the best. Should have spent more time here than in cusco. The location is really good also!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I have had the fortune to stay at Casa Del Abuelo, perhaps not as a regular traveler. I stayed almost 4 weeks having spent 9 weeks in Peru's Ollantaytambo. The day I met the owners Henry and Catty, I was welcomed immediately to their family. I have written an article within my blog so that you may get to know them better. This is a new hostel, like a mini hotel. You get low cost, clean rooms, private bathrooms, hot water, free wi-fi and the option for having breakfast and lots of coca tea, not to mention the friendly welcome and homely atmosphere. Ollantaytambo is a most unique and cultural town in all of Peru, a living Inca Museum worth a visit of more than a few days. Check out my article on: : http://wildstarlanding.com/2013/09/08/casa-del-abuelo-the-home-of-the-grandfather/

Room Tip: Top Floor has the best views and may be cooler in Hot Wet Season. Buy some coca leaves and use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild_Star_Landing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hostal La Casa del Abuelo was a great little hostel. The rooms were small, but clean and quite affordable. The owners, Catty and Henry were delightful and very helpful. Their baby girl (Mikaela) was absolutely adorable. It was very convenient to the fortress ruins, but was also nice and quiet. If you are looking for a party, this may not be your place. But if you want a quiet, clean, affordable, and friendly place to stay, this could be your place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.4 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#10 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
#8 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Abuelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Abuelo

Property: La Casa del Abuelo
Address: Calle Convencion 143, Ollantaytambo 08676, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa del Abuelo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Abuelo' is a quiet friendly family hostal located in the historical side of Ollantaytambo,at 2 blocks from "Plaza De Armas' (main square), one block from the main archeological center(main ruins of Ollantaytambo), and 7 minutes walk from the train station heading to Machu Picchu;our rooms include: private toilette, hot shawer, room wifi; laundry service and breackfast are extra on request ...Living room - reception as a common place ..., Quiet and very clean place.... Close to little shops and a farmacies ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Casa del Abuelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Abuelo Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing