We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Staff, Delicious Cappuccino”
Review of La Casa del Abuelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Casa del Abuelo
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The staff is the highlight of Hostal La Casa del Abuelo and they make a lovely cappuccino! This was a highlight of the trip as I had grown accustomed to drinking poor coffee throughout my travels across the country. For a hostel, Casa del Abuelo is very nice. Complimentary breakfast of eggs, bread, fruit, cappuccino, and juice. Nice room, decent shower.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank uwred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have been to Ollanta before to and from Macchu Piccu, and this time wanted to revisit the tiny town as a home base to visit other villages in the Sacred Valley. Henry and Catty have a lovely place,and they treat their guests like family. I had a cute single room on the top floor, and they are right near the town square. Nice breakfast, internet, friendly advice---and the price is better than reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bneedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I would really recommend this hotel. Bed was comfortable, shower was good, view at the mountains is amazing. Breakfast is delicious. Good location, near the bus and train station, tourist attractions and the main square. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Laundry service is possible for 6 s. Per kilo. Wifi in room. Cash only.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sneeuwbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This town offers a lot of accomodation for tourist...i've tried more than five options and some of them are too expensive, others are pretending all the time when you ask for information, other says got hot showers but doesn't....la Casa del Abuelo was a magic discovering...it's cozy, clean, tidy, nice breakfast, comfortable beds....and the best HOT shower you will find in the whole town! Recomended

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yuly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

really awesome lovely place in Ollanta! The family that manages it is very very hospitable. I love the brekky served and the bread was like manna. Love the cleanliness and Catty's responsiveness over email. Ollanta is a small town where you wake up with a great view of the Sacred Valley mountain!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleCabling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Everything in this hostel appears to be new and very well kept. :) Blankets are fluffy and warm, the owners are sweethearts and breakfast is definitely above average with fruit salad, egg al gusto and coffee from a restaurant grade machine.
The shower was hot, and even shampoo was provided.
I booked a horse trek to Pumamarca through the hostel and it was great; the guide was friendly and his horses perfectly adapted to the mountain terrain.

All in all, very recommendable!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank pretzelface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay. We spent five nights at Casa del Abuelo, using it as our base to explore Machu Picchu and the Sacred Valley. The owners and the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They were very helpful in arranging transportation, and in making suggestions for places to visit in the Valley, and for restaurants. The breakfast was very good. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bottom line is this: Casa del Abuelo is a great place to stay in a great town for exploring the Sacred Valley. If I should make it back to the Sacred Valley (and I hope to do so), I will most definitely stay at Casa del Abuelo again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pakaritampu Hotel
Pakaritampu Hotel
#3 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
#8 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Abuelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Abuelo

Address: Calle Convencion 143, Ollantaytambo 08676, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £21 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa del Abuelo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Abuelo' is a quiet friendly family hostal located in the historical side of Ollantaytambo,at 2 blocks from "Plaza De Armas' (main square), one block from the main archeological center(main ruins of Ollantaytambo), and 7 minutes walk from the train station heading to Machu Picchu;our rooms include: private toilette, hot shawer, room wifi; laundry service and breackfast are extra on request ...Living room - reception as a common place ..., Quiet and very clean place.... Close to little shops and a farmacies ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your La Casa del Abuelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Abuelo Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing