We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The warmest hosts you'll find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa del Abuelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa del Abuelo
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The warmest hosts you'll find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is a wonderful place to stay when visiting the lovely town of Ollantaytambo. The location is near everything, the hotel is immaculate, and the breakfast is wonderful. But what sets this hotel apart from others is the genuine warmth and accomodating nature of the owners. Catty and Henri cannot do enough to make your stay as perfect as it can be. They packed a breakfast for us before leaving for Machu Picchu at 5AM and helped us arrange a ride to Cusco. For a small fee, you can have your laundry done. Catty and Henri's pride for their town and desire to share all it has to offer is apparent. They recommended wonderful hikes in the area. Don't blow off this town- it's an Incan treasure. Spend a few days. La Casa del Abuelo is a gem, as well as an excellent bargain. Look no further.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and there was some ambient noise, which I liked, but others may want to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60763Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    105
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
62
170
61
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is an excellent place to stay in Ollantaytambo. We arrived late in the evening but got such a warm and friendly welcome. The room was clean, very comfortable and tastefully done. The little extras of a chocolate on the bed, the bottle of water, shampoo in the bathroom were great touches. The bed was great with a nice thick duvet making it really comfortable.

The breakfast was simple but done really well. Excellent coffee, fresh breads with jam, eggs as you like them and a fresh fruit salad. As I said, simple, but all done really well.

Henry and Katy (and Michaela) were so friendly and helpful, and they are running the Casa Del Abuelo really well. I would definitely recommend staying here and wish them the best of luck in the future. Many thanks,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The staff is the highlight of Hostal La Casa del Abuelo and they make a lovely cappuccino! This was a highlight of the trip as I had grown accustomed to drinking poor coffee throughout my travels across the country. For a hostel, Casa del Abuelo is very nice. Complimentary breakfast of eggs, bread, fruit, cappuccino, and juice. Nice room, decent shower.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uwred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have been to Ollanta before to and from Macchu Piccu, and this time wanted to revisit the tiny town as a home base to visit other villages in the Sacred Valley. Henry and Catty have a lovely place,and they treat their guests like family. I had a cute single room on the top floor, and they are right near the town square. Nice breakfast, internet, friendly advice---and the price is better than reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bneedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I would really recommend this hotel. Bed was comfortable, shower was good, view at the mountains is amazing. Breakfast is delicious. Good location, near the bus and train station, tourist attractions and the main square. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Laundry service is possible for 6 s. Per kilo. Wifi in room. Cash only.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneeuwbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This town offers a lot of accomodation for tourist...i've tried more than five options and some of them are too expensive, others are pretending all the time when you ask for information, other says got hot showers but doesn't....la Casa del Abuelo was a magic discovering...it's cozy, clean, tidy, nice breakfast, comfortable beds....and the best HOT shower you will find in the whole town! Recomended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felipe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

really awesome lovely place in Ollanta! The family that manages it is very very hospitable. I love the brekky served and the bread was like manna. Love the cleanliness and Catty's responsiveness over email. Ollanta is a small town where you wake up with a great view of the Sacred Valley mountain!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleCabling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.4 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#9 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
#8 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Abuelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Abuelo

Property: La Casa del Abuelo
Address: Calle Convencion 143, Ollantaytambo 08676, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa del Abuelo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Abuelo' is a quiet friendly family hostal located in the historical side of Ollantaytambo,at 2 blocks from "Plaza De Armas' (main square), one block from the main archeological center(main ruins of Ollantaytambo), and 7 minutes walk from the train station heading to Machu Picchu;our rooms include: private toilette, hot shawer, room wifi; laundry service and breackfast are extra on request ...Living room - reception as a common place ..., Quiet and very clean place.... Close to little shops and a farmacies ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Casa del Abuelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Abuelo Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing