We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a shot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ollantaytambo Lodge
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Reviewed 26 June 2008

We stayed in Ollaytantambo for one night at this hotel after visting M.P. We were worn out after the early morning out and about, and got to the hotel mid afternoon. The surrounding area of the hotel was a little rough, but as three women traveling together we felt safe once we were inside the grounds. The courtyard was cute and had several sitting areas and the frog game.

The room was large enough for our three beds, and the water was hot after a minute or two warm up. We found that leaving the bathroom light on attracted bugs from somewhere, but we weren't sure from where. Our answer was turn off the light and close the bathroom door. The bed linens were clean and the hotel itself was very quiet. The t.v. in our room didn't work, so we went to the bar/restaurant in the evening. It was nice to relax and we discovered that we could watch their dvds for free, several of which were in english with spanish subtitles. After turning on Pirates of the Caribbean, we had a ready made movie night as several guests stopped by to watch too.

The internet was okay, but unreliable of when it would work. The courtyard gave views of some of the ruins and surrounding mountains and at night, a sky filled with stars unobstructed by city lights. (Amazing!!)

Word of caution: since they don't take credit cards, you have to pay in cash (soles or dollars), and when paying with dollars make sure you have perfect bills.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jerlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Ollantaytambo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2008

Decent hotel well situated for the start of the Inca Trail in the village of Ollantaytambo. The village itself is small and attractive, and includes one of the most famous Inca archaeological sites. I imagine most travellers wouldn't spend more than a night here, because of the location, but it's certainly a good place to stay if you're heading for the Inca Trail head at km 82 first thing in the morning. The village is also on the train line from Cusco to Machu Picchu for those who aren't trekking to the famous lost city.

The rooms are reasonably sized and clean, nothing outstanding but perfectly nice for a one or two night stay. There are en suite bathrooms of adequate standard, although the showers were cold at night (warm in the morning - time your shower accordingly!). There's a small restaurant serving unremarkable but pleasant and reasonably priced food, and there was a good selection at the buffet breakfast (though queues got very long). The lodge has a grassy area in the centre which was is often busy so the rooms can be a little noisy.

Whilst this is not a grand hotel, it's location and the fact that travellers are unlikely to stop here for more than a night or two makes it a good bet if you are passing through Ollantaytambo.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FearfulFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2008

We recently stayed at the Ollantaytambo Lodge in the charming village of the same name. The rooms where generous in size and our view was of the surrounding mountains.
The front desk was very helpful when we needed help. Nowhere did we find many hotels that took a credit card, as was the case here.
We were treated to a large plate of scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and pretty good coffee for our included breakfast. The location was one block off the main square and we felt perfectly safe returning at night. I would recommend this to anyone, especially at the $45.00/night rate!
L.Lake -Vero Beach, Fl.

Thank llakeVeroBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

As you can surmise from the other reviews, this hotel is hit or miss, but it seems like the misses are very big. The first room we were given was infested with mosquitoes. I went to the front desk to ask for a new room and before I said anything the guy said "Do you have the bugs?". He tried to tell me it wasn't worth moving rooms because the bugs were in every room, but I insisted because it was really not possible to have more bugs than what were already had. The 2nd room was bug free. On the positive side, most of the staff was very friendly. The courtyard had unbelievable vistas and the frog game (you have to play it if you stay here). I would look hard for a different hotel, but you might be lucky like we were and have a decent experience.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MrMash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2006

My boyfriend booked two nights at this hotel thinking it was a nice, new place. We had an absolutely terrible experience here. When we arrived to check in, the girl at the reception desk told us there were problems with the room. She wouldn't elaborate and told us we would be taken to a 'similar' hotel. We insisted on seeing the 'similar' hotel before agreeing to stay there. The hotel they took us to was disgusting and smelled. We refused to stay there and had to press her to call El Sauce (where we, thankfully, ended up getting the last room). Unfortuntely, El Sauce only had one night available so the next day we checked in to Ollantaytambo Lodge. The grounds (courtyard area) are nice and the 3 resident dogs are cute. However, the room was full of bugs, dirty linens, and we woke up to no water (none, not just cold). We were about to embark on the 4 day hike to Machu Picchu so were looking forward to one last shower before then. We were allowed to take a shower in another room that had only freezing cold water. The whole experience was awful. The men who worked there (the cooking staff and bell staff) were super nice and tried to help (breakfast was decent). But the woman who apparently runs the place was rude and completely unhelpful. We found out from the bellman who took our bags to the other hotel that the 'problem' with the room was actually because she had given our room to someone else who had checked in earlier. There was no room problem other than the fact she had given ours away. I do not recommend staying here. It's cheap but in this case, you get what you pay for - stay at El Sauce. Rooms are clean and staff is friendly and it's in a much better location.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank senoritasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2006

Seventeen of us stayed in this Lodge as part of a group tour to Machu Picchu. We had no problems with hot water, although it had to run for a minute before the hot water started. I am quite sure that my bed had been slept in previously and the linens had not been changed. There were plenty of blankets but they were very heavy to sleep under.
Some of us spent a part of the evening in the small bar and the young man there was very attentive, lighting a fire for us and happily getting our drinks. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

Ollantaytambo Lodge is a new 25-room hotel located just a couple of blocks from the main square. The buildings surround a quiet grassy area with a “sapo” game with views of magnificent mountains all around. At the entrance is a small restaurant for breakfast and dinner. To one side is a modernistic bar. The rooms are compact and light, with comfortable beds, private baths and plenty of hot water. Regrettably the water was turned off at midnight while we were there. Service is very friendly but not all that efficient. Prices are reasonable and may be even better through a local Peruvian travel agency. We enjoyed one dinner there, which took for ever to arrive, but was quite good and reasonably priced for hotel fare. Eating out is more fun though. This is an excellent overnight stop after visiting Pisac or Chinchero market, continuing to Machu Picchu next day, or vice versa. The train leaves (and arrives) at a civilized hour!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mmbcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
26.8 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
375 reviews
27.0 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
257 reviews
27.0 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 mi away
Terra Nostra
Terra Nostra
#13 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
12 reviews
27.0 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
1,626 reviews
27.1 mi away
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
#9 of 21 in Ollantaytambo
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ollantaytambo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ollantaytambo Lodge

Address: Quinta Cruz Esquina s/n, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Price Range: £57 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ollantaytambo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ollantaytambo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ollantaytambo Lodge Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing