We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hostel After Machu Picchu Trek!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo
Certificate of Excellence
Nyc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Hostel After Machu Picchu Trek!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My friends and I stayed at Mama Simona Ollantaytambo after our 4 Day Trek to Machu Picchu and we couldn't have picked a more perfect place to stay. There weren't many reviews when we booked but we definitely made the right choice. The hostel common area and rooms were very nice, comfortable and clean. There's a great outdoor area with hammocks and the river runs right behind the property. Not only is the hostel itself great but the staff was amazing and very accommodating. When we got in we were looking for a place to eat and the owner actually brought us with him and his friend to a local restaurant that was delicious.

Overall, this hostel was exactly what we were looking for. I would definitely suggest staying here when in Ollantaytambo!!!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank aimeekraim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamaSimonaHostel, Gerente at Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo, responded to this review, 23 February 2016
many thanks for your comment, we really appreciate your stay with us, we also enjoy to share the lunch with you. Hope to recommend to your friends and family.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    39
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
56
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here the night after we visited Machu Piccu. This place was fantastic! The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the grounds are beautiful- there's an area with hammocks, right next to the river that rushes by. The river also runs just outside your window. We had a private room, which has a private bathroom and flat screen TV (we didn't actually watch it, but still).

It's a few minutes walk from the town center, but well worth going a few blocks away. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They also offer dorm rooms, if you're looking to save some Soles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamaSimonaHostel, Gerente at Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo, responded to this review, 23 February 2016
Thank you very much for sharing such a Amazing Hostel and detailed review about your stay with us on the Tripadvisor website, and also I would like to thank you for choosing us as your favorite Hostel in Peru.

Thank you for visit our magic country and we hope to have you and your friends on your next trip, once again accept my appreciation for your wonderful comments and for recommending us.

best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is the second Mama Simona hostel in Peru (the first one is in Cusco), and has been open since March 2014. We chose to stay here because we loved the one in Cusco so much and this one did not disappoint. The setting is beautiful: the hostel is located within lush gardens, complete with hammocks, and is situated right beside a babbling brook, with mountains either side. It's approximately a 5-10 minute walk alongside the river to the Plaza de Armas, or you can walk through Ollantaytambo's maze of quaint cobbled streets. The rooms are bright, airy, clean and tastefully decorated (we stayed in 3 and they were all up to the same standard). There's a large kitchen, breakfast tables, and chill-out area inside, as well as the lovely, serene garden, which gets the sun during the morning, so it's a gorgeous spot to chill out after breakfast. Breakfast is included in the price of the room (there are 4-bed dorms or private rooms available, all with en-suite bathroom) and consists of chaplas (a kind of pitta-style bread) with butter and jam, together with coffee, and several varieties of tea. There are also omelettes (with optional cheese and ham) available for a small extra charge. The coffee and tea (including coca tea) are available free of charge throughout the day, on a help yourself basis. The staff we dealt with were all friendly and accommodating, and answered any questions we had. All in all, this hostel has a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere to it, and offers some peace and quiet and relaxation in a picturesque setting, yet it's still close to shops, cafes, restaurants and bars should you want them. We're travelling around Peru for 3 months and the price for the room fell within our 80 soles (approximately £17) per room per night budget (40 soles each) so I'd say it's suitable for backpackers and more short-term travellers alike. Lastly, the property is very secure. There's an outer gate where you have to ring the bell and wait to be let in by one of the hostel staff, and all dorm rooms have a large locker available per bed (bring your own padlock). The wifi is the only thing that's a bit of an issue (browsing websites and sending emails works but uploading photographs doesn't - certainly not to Flickr anyway) but this is not a fault of the hostel, as we had the same problem everywhere in Ollantaytambo. I'm sure as the tourist infrastructure improves, this will - eventually!

Room Tip: There are only a small number of private rooms, so book ahead if you require one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cactuschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamaSimonaHostel, Gerente at Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo, responded to this review, 23 February 2016
Dear Traveller.

many thanks for your comment

best regards.

Mamá Simona Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.5 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
El Albergue Ollantaytambo
#1 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Los Andenes
Hostal Los Andenes
#11 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samanapaq
Hotel Samanapaq
#6 of 19 in Ollantaytambo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo

Property: Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo
Address: Avenida Ocobamba S/N Camino a Willoq, Altura Puente Jancarachaca, Ollantaytambo, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Simona Hostel Ollantaytambo Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing