We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above for small town Peru”
Review of Munay Tika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Munay Tika
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Oshawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A cut above for small town Peru”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Homey and basic but also clean and comfortable with very friendly and helpful staff. What you get is great for the price and they handled our group of 14 with no problems. The breakfast room is bright and clean and the food tasty and filling but not fancy. It is good basic fare.
Toilet facilities and showers were better than many and the place was quite charming with good amenities for this style of hotel. The location is good and it is not far to the main square where there is some shopping as well as near the train and a short walk to the ruins and the crafters market. You could not ask for much more at such a good price.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are very adequate and of standard quality. Further back in the hotel might be a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelOshawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    30
    31
    10
    8
See reviews for
23
37
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

"Munay Tika" means "beautiful flower" in the Quechua language. This hotel is aptly named because of the lovely open courtyard linking the front lobby with the rooms in the back. It is full of beautiful flowering trees. We stayed there two nights. This is not what I would call a fancy hotel, but it has everything one needs for comfort! Our room was in the front and faced Avenue Ferrocarril, but traffic noise was not a problem like I thought it might be. Instead, it was an advantage, as we could watch the local people going about their business and could see the rushing brook across the street. The breakfast, cost included, was very good. The cook made our eggs to order on the spot, and there was always plenty of fresh fruit. The staff were very helpful, hooking us up with someone to do our laundry and with a private car to take us to Cusco at a very good price. Munay Tika is just about a ten-minute walk from the train to Machu Picchu. I'd be happy to stay there again some day.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 715 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of an Intrepid Travel Inca Trail tour so we didn’t have a choice, but for general purposes this property has a rate of $50 per night for a double room including breakfast.

The location is decent- right down the hill from the Ollantaytambo ruins (5 minute walk) and the exterior looks decent and has a secured door. The room assignments were ready when we arrived and after copying our passports, we received our room keys. Our room was in the first block of lower level rooms facing the interior open outside gathering area. We received 2 single beds which had very thin sheets, wool blanket, and cheap, well-used wal-mart style duvets. Only one of the bulbs in the room worked, and the general temperature of the room was VERY cold, so we decided to sleep in one of the beds and stack the blankets on one to get more warmth. When we pulled off the blankets, we had 2 crickets jump off of the comforter (most likely due to them leaving the windows in the room open, but who knows). It stayed cold all night (no heat) but we were generally warm.

The bathroom was fine and basic, the shower was hot (although beware the EXTREMELY slick floor in the shower), and the sink and toilet worked fine. They provided towels and soap.

Breakfast was decent and included cereal, fruit, made-to-order pancakes, bread, and juice/ coffee/ tea.

They sold purified water at 1.5 Soles / $0.58 per liter if you wanted to load up bottles.

OVERALL
We didn’t pay but I don’t think it is worth $50 given how basic the accommodations were. However, aside from the crickets, it was a relatively clean and reliable budget property out in a smaller Peruvian city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahia de Caraquez, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This lively place is on the road to the train station. The rooms are basic and clean, gracious hosts, nice breakfast . Julia the owner is a well known healer, her 2 sons own restaurants close by with great food.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yevettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Our family of 7 (two grandparents in their 70's, two parents in their 40's and three kids ages 11, 9 and 5) stayed here for two nights bookending our visit to Machu Picchu. The hotel couldn't be better located for a tour of Ollyantambo. The property is 5 minutes walk to the Plaza De Armas, 5 minute walk to the town's spectacular Inka site, and 5 minutes walk (downhill!) to the train station. This is a vey basic hotel, you will receive a clean bed with plentiful warm blankets, a quiet atmosphere, clean towels, a delicious and plentiful breakfast, and not much else. There is only a bar of soap in the bathroom, so bring your own shampoo if you want it. The rooms have no phones, our mobiles worked in the property. There is WiFi available in the lobby, an area that can get quite chilly at night. The restaurant across the street (sister property) is great - see review of Orishas in town.
The staff were always friendly and helpful, they even arranged a van ride for us back to Cusco and allowed us to keep our luggage in our room past checkout time.
At the time of our stay the hotel was undergoing repainting - the work never disturbed us - a needed improvement to a tired appearing property.
The price we paid for our three rooms couldn't be beat, we were doors away from much more expensive properties. Given that we really only needed a safe and reliable place to sleep, this property was a perfect solution for our family, we would do it again in a moment.

Room Tip: The rooms with wooden floors seemed warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RTW-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manistee, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed here one night after hiking and birding at Abra Malagra. I was concerned that it would be noisy as it is close to the train station (about two blocks away). It was very quiet, no traffic at night. It was easy to walk to all of the village and the ruins from here and many good restaurants are nearby.

The room was spartan but clean and cozy. The staff were helpful and watched our bags at times when we went out before the train trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Stayed at the Munay Tika for a few nights as part of a tour group. Hotel room has ample hot water for showers and lots of warm blankets for the beds. Other than that, not a lot to say for the rooms--lobby has WiFi and cable TV. Hotel is in multiple two story buildings, if possible avoid rooms in the "A" building which is along the street and above the lobby. There is also a resident cat that is sometimes around the lobby and restaurant.

A hot breakfast was included and available early, including juice, coffee, cereal, pancakes or eggs, bread and fruit.

Note that Ollantaytambo is a main starting point for the train to Machu Picchu. The hotel isn't that quiet and other tourists may be up at 5am or earlier to catch the train. There is a fair amount of tour bus traffic running right past the hotel until later in the evening when things get quiet.

Room Tip: Avoid the "A" building facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SixContinents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ollantaytambo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Abuelo
La Casa del Abuelo
#4 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Andenes
Hostel Andenes
#9 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
Hotel Tierra Inka Sacred Valley
#8 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Intitambo Hotel
Intitambo Hotel
#3 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#11 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Iskay
Hostal Iskay
#2 of 20 in Ollantaytambo
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munay Tika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munay Tika

Property: Munay Tika
Address: Avenida Ferrocarril n 554, Ollantaytambo 08675, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Ollantaytambo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Ollantaytambo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munay Tika is located in the Sacred Valley of the Incas Ollantaytambo, the largest city in this valley as it is the gateway to Machu Picchu grabbing.Only within the village, which is why it has spectacular views, is certainly a place with the best location to enjoy the majestic Andes and the clouds that cover the sacred mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Munay Tika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munay Tika Hotel
Munay Tika Ollantaytambo, Peru - Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing