We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Pisac Choice”
Review of Melissa Wasi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melissa Wasi
Ranked #4 of 19 Pisac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Our Pisac Choice”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Melissa Wasi is excellent as a base for visiting the Pisac area: the atmosphere is relaxed and homely; the owners are very friendly and helpful; and their on site restaurant (Trattoria Escondida) provides absolutely delicious meals.

As with other places I visited in Peru, I wished I had sought their local travel advice at the time of booking.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank x2_travel_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    21
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
39
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Gorgeous grounds that are manicured and designed for guest comfort. Rooms are clean ,comfortable and most importantly quiet... People were friendly, inviting and food was amazing. Thanks a lot for a wonderful time and making us feel welcomed... J&C veronicas friends....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jboogie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

I teach spiritual retreats and there is no better place than Melissa Was I in Pisaq. We loved the people, the rooms, the food at the Trattoria and the Blue Llama Cafe in town. All of our requests were accommodated and we had a great retreat.

Joyce and Chito, the owners are lovely and very helpful. Someone from our group needed medical help (don't drink Chicha in the street!) and Joyce spend a whole day taking care of him. Thank you Joyce.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guidowalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 for one night with a friend. We were welcomed very graciously and visited with the host in a comfortable living room with a fire in the hearth. We were also able to eat our little repast here that we had brought. The rooms are in separate cabanas in a nice garden. Basic, clean, no heat, secure. The beds are lumpy, but did not keep us from sleeping soundly, because it is so quiet. Trees, lots of greenery and flowers, and an Italian restaurant on site with an American chef. Restaurant is closed Mon and Tues. Delicious home-made granola with quinoa for breakfast, and cooked eggs. The son of the host performs rituals using hallucinogenic roots--his father tells us people come from all over the world for these sessions. The hotel is hard to find because it is set apart from the main village, but all the taxis know where it is, and they are cheap and plentiful. The host also runs the Blue Llama restaurant in the center of Pisaq; food is very good there and they also have fruit smoothies and an ATM.

Room Tip: You can opt for a room in the family's house, B&B style, or in the separate cabanas. Cabanas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed at Melissa Wasi with a group of friends the end of June 2012. We got there at night and it was very dark with loud music playing and a "purging ceremony" going on---very weird. The rooms were comfortable and the food was good. Beware that there were RATS running up and down the walls of the restaurant. The restaurant was built into the side of a mountain so it was interesting to see but still the rats were a big worry. Some of the guys in our group heard them banging around the kitchen in the evening. We mentioned it to the owner and he just smiled.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canillita, Owner at Melissa Wasi, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. Being in a rural area and having constructed the restaurant preserving its natural environment (one of the walls is actually the stone side of the mountain) has made us aware of the proximity of any animals, specially during harvest time. Don't worry, we have taken measures, and the problem is solved..
About the "purge" you mention, you are talking of a ceremony called Ayahuasca, and ancestral medicine plant from the jungle. These ceremonies are held occasionally in a temple next to Melissa Wasi and are attended by many people around the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Situated outside the hustle and bustle of the touristy area and close to the river this B&B first welcomes you with a sign, "Mi casa es tu casa" and they mean it. We arrived after dark and without a reservation and the owner greeted us with a friendly smile and said, "no problem." He then welcomed us into his personal residence for a fireside chat. The experience was a nice change from the austerity of some hotels and the down-to-earth nature of owner and well-kept grounds made for a very pleasant stay. Also- BEST showers in South America and the cleanest accommodations. Highly recommended for travelers that want more than just a room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed in one of the self-contained 1 bedroom villas.
Pros: clean beds, very comfortable blankets, decent shower, friendly owner, gorgeous location, decent if basic breakfast
Cons: tiny room - the smallest on our 4 week trip, the tiniest TV I have ever seen (but amazingly had cable channels), no heating, bathroom consumable (shampoo, soap) are supplied but have been used by previous occupants, fresh towels only supplied after query, only one restaurant in walking distance (same owner) and it is not always open - ask when you arrive!
There are probably better, albeit more expensive options closer to town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pisac
0.3 mi away
Royal Inka Hotel Pisac
21.7 mi away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#5 of 26 in Urubamba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
21.5 mi away
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
0.8 mi away
Pisac Inn
Pisac Inn
#1 of 19 in Pisac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Casa Del Conde
La Casa Del Conde
#2 of 19 in Pisac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melissa Wasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melissa Wasi

Property: Melissa Wasi
Address: Sector Matara s/n, Pisac, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Pisac
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Pisac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melissa Wasi 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very cozy familiar B&B, surrounded by peaceful mountains and beautiful gardens. In Melissa Wasi guests will find the attention and rest they need. Located in the heart of the Sacred Valley, Pisac is the ideal location to begin all the tours. Melissa Wasi has 7 double or matrimonial, full equiped bedoroms and 3 cozy bungalows for a whole family or group of friends with their own chimeney, kitchenet and living room. We also offer a delicious and abundant breakfast (with our pancakes speciality) and the free use of our scooters. Melissa Wasi is the ideal place to feel at home while you are travelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melissa Wasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melissa Wasi Peru/Pisac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing