We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Pisac!”
Review of Mullu Cafe

Mullu Cafe
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Pisac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Peruvian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Since 1999 Mullu Cafe offers creative dishes mixing peruvian and asian cuisine. The place is rustic style, lounge music and a spectacular balcony view of the Pisac Market and Ruins. For travelers that want to feel like home.
Los Altos, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A gem in Pisac!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had an amazing lunch at this cafe in tiny Pisac, which overlooks the town square. There were traditional Peruvian dishes along with international fusion. The entrees were outstanding the desserts over the top. Definitely stop there if you are passing through Pisac!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyLosAltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    61
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Delicious fusion cuisine overlooking Pisac market”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

A lot of restaurants in Peru describes their food as "fusion cuisine," but this is the real deal! The menu is full of choices drawn from Thai, Vietnamese, Japanese, and other cuisines, but they each have a uniquely Peruvian aspect to them. We especially enjoyed the raviolis stuffed with alpaca meat with a sweet passionfruit and berry sauce--yum! Also liked the Viet-Indochine rolls. The chicken stuffed with mozzarella and basil was only OK, but it came with an outstanding side dish that I will dream about--sweet potato and almond puree. Delicious smoothies, too!

Each dish was made to order so it wasn't a quick lunch, but we loved the setting with the balcony over the Plaza de Armas, which allowed us to take some great photos of locals buying produce at the market.

Definitely recommend to anyone visiting Pisac for the market and/or the ruins.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbug44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A good option in Pisac, bit there are probable better values.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I have had coffee here several times waiting on out of town guests shopping the market. Decided to try breakfast today as I stopped here in route to the not so famous Pisac Potato Park which i will write later.

The breakast was ok, anybody, even I can fry up a good bbreakfast. The standout was the toast. It was exceptional and of course the balcony setting overlooking the market on a Sunday morning. No doubt I will be back here, but probably just for coffee after I fill up on on cheap empanadas in the market.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank IntiSurTravelPeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best lunch in all of Peru”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We shared sandwiches here on a Sunday which turned out to be our favorite lunch spot in all of Peru where we traveled for almost 3 weeks. Great spot overlooking main square. Give it a try!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Patty6-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy Andean food with a great view”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We went to Pisac to see the Inca ruins that are situated above the town and to visit the renowned Pisac mercado. We hiked around the ruins first, then discovered this small restaurant when we went in search of lunch to recharge. I had the alpaca and my companion had the lomo and both were truly delicious. We felt that the price was fair as well. The presentation was attractive and portions were generous. Additionally, we sat on the balcony above the Plaza and watched the market down below as we ate, which was enjoyable and entertaining. From the balcony we also had a good view of the ruins in the hills above the town. This was one of the highlights of our trip to Peru.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mullu Cafe also viewed

Pisac, Sacred Valley
Pisac, Sacred Valley
 
Pisac, Sacred Valley
Pisac, Sacred Valley
 
Pisac, Cusco Region
Pisac, Sacred Valley
 

Been to Mullu Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing