We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Restaurant, Worth a Visit”
Review of El Huacatay

El Huacatay
Ranked #4 of 81 Restaurants in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quaint Restaurant, Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our tour guide took us to the wonderful restaurant. You would never know it is there unless you are told about it. There are lovely grounds to eat outside, but we had a table inside. The food was delicious and unique. Our servers went above and beyond expected service to make sure we were happy with each course. I liked the intimacy of the restaurant and that the chef took such pride in his presentations. We asked him to come out at the end to let him know how much we enjoyed everything. A real treasure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    209
    62
    19
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Find it and be rewarded”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our hotel concierge recommended this restaurant, and offered directions to find it. After roaming around for 20 minutes we gave up and ate elsewhere. The next night we found our bearings but were almost disappointed as it was full. Fortunately they were able to make room for us and we're glad they did. We started with a deep fried mushroom ravioli appetizer which was not heavy and bursted with flavor. For entrees my wife had a stuffed chili (vegetarian) and I had the tenderloin. Both were excellent (but for the best tenderloin in Urubamba, try the equally quaint Peru Buen Gusto). The lemonade appeared homemade and had a nice frothy top.

The presentation of the food made everything taste even better. Items were artfully plated and picture worthy (sorry-we would have taken pictures but didn't have a camera with us!). The ambiance was warm and made dining there even more special. It's hard not to leave your worries behind after spending some time here. A lazy cat was curled up and chilling out at the base of a wood burning stove in the small dining room. Try to find that at a chain restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OceansideGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great stop in the area”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We lunched at El Huacatay after a long day of exploring Moray, Chinchero and Salineras. The restaurant is well designed and the garden has mature plants and feels very welcoming. We were seated inside and had a delicious and leisurely meal. The three meats we tried were alpaca, ch'arki (dried, salted meat) and a tenderloin of steak. We also had a refreshing surtido salad. All the dishes were well prepared and presented. The shady, breezy ambiance was a welcome break from the sun and overall we highly recommend lunch at El Huacatay when in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doc_rck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Quaint, lovely restaurant”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This restaurant is quite small in the main room (maybe 5 tables), but there are several other areas to eat such as the bar and gardens. The service was very friendly and well paced. The food was excellent - our favorite restaurant in Urubamba.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BadcopBubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijas
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I arrived unannounced and found the restaurant fully booked. But the staff went out of their way to set up a table for us on the patio together with a gas heater to ward off the evening chill. The food and service were excellent and we would definitely go back again if we were in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Huacatay also viewed

Urubamba, Sacred Valley
Urubamba, Sacred Valley
 

Been to El Huacatay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing